Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location in Old Montreal!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
Great staff! Construction outside apartment was alittle annoying but we managed. Great for 3-4 people getaway! Breakfast was also awesome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: I loved the huge windows and the hardwood floors. I also loved that there wasn't any house keeping staff coming in each day. (only once every 7 days).
Cons: I would have preferred if there was blackout curtains that covered the entire window instead of relying on blinds for privacy.
Location: St. Paul Street (biggest attraction of Old Montreal) is only steps away. Notre Dame Cathedral is 5 minutes away. Subway is about 10 minutes away.
When we made our reservations for this hotel we were looking for the best price for a 2 bedroom suite in Old Montreal. This was it, but I was very skeptical due to no photos of the lobby and hotel rooms being in different building around St. Paul Street. However, I read the reviews and they were all positive, so we went with it. To our discovery the reviews are right. This hotel is worth staying at. The hotel rooms are very beautiful place to stay. It's more like a personal apartment than a hotel room. You have a full kitchen, including a full fridge, full stove, pots, pans and plates. The valets staff service was excellent. Hotel staff helped carry our luggage up to the room and then back down to the car. The front desk staff were extremely helpful and polite. All though this hotel is an excellent choice for everybody, it is best for couples or families. I would stay here again. Oh yes, there are no elevators.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Did not know the Lofts was in a different builidng

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: room was big
Cons: see above in the comments
First time going to Montreal, I did not know that the Lofts was a block away from the main lobby of the hotel itself. I knew there was no elevator, but the stairwell was very scary and dark. The room was big and nice, however, the bed creaked the whole time - need to change mattress right away. Also, they covered a big whole in the wall with a picture that wasn't even secured to the wall. I was not told that I would not be getting any maid service whatsoever since this I was only staying there for 3 nights. I made comments on the comment card and physically gave it to the reception and NO ONE has phoned me back to get more clarification or anything like that. Very, very poor customer service! I would have expected the Manager to phone me, but no.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a treat !

Posted Sep 23, 2014
If you are looking for charm and location and great staff , this is it. If you looking for the latest in bathroom fittings, look elsewhere. Ideal large loft to enjoy the surroundings and big enough to host a group of people. Slightly dated but well looked after. Highly recommend !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wpg , MB

Hotel Experience

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: We liked the staff, the loft style, close to places of interest, lots of restaurants and lots of stores. Repairs were done quickly.
Cons: Elevator and sound proofing !
Location: Close to places of interest , restaurants, shops, entertainment.
Liked the size of loft, lots of light, good to have a comfortable bed , and it was really nice to have a 4 piece bathroom, also good to have a fully equipped kitchen. The loft was air-conditioned which made our stay even more comfortable. The entire staff was courteous and helpful. It would have been nice to have an elevator because we were on the fourth floor. The couch looked nice but needed better support for the back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Surprise! (In a good way!)

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: The service was superior. The location was great. The accomodations were superb. Bonus: A free communal washer/dryer was right down the hall.
Cons: The location makes it noisy early in the a.m. til late at night. This can't really be helped unless you close all the windows and use the a/c or heat
Location: It is in the center of Old Montreal, so walking the Old Ports section, strolling down the pedestrian promonade, sitting at the many sidewalk cafe.
After making reservations at The Lofts at Vieux Ports, I wasn't quite sure what to expect. I kept trying to find a photo of the lobby which never materialized--because there is no lobby for The Lofts. It is a separate building around the corner from the hotel Auberge Vieux Ports. One caution: There is no elevator! But the staff could not have been more helpful, more available, more responsive in taking our luggage upstairs and then taking our car to the parking lot. (Parking $30/night). We could step right out of the building and be either at the Old Ports area or the pedestrian promanade of Old Montreal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good sized apartment with great street view.

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Location. Price.
Cons: Duvet was old and lumpy and should be replaced.
Location: Great location. Close to the Old Port, Science Center, cathedral and shopping downtown. Lots of great restaurants nearby.
Great, helpful staff. Good location in old Montreal. Had some construction going on in the street at the time of our stay but apartment noise was minimal, even with a restaurant one floor below. Dryer on our floor was broken the duration of our stay but had access to one on another floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Old Montreal at its best!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Wonderful hotel, great room, great service, great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waterloo Ontario

Elegant hotel in the heart of old Montreal

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: The staff were incredible . When we arrived we were given a different loft and immediately they fixed the problem. Both lofts however were spectacular
Cons: The air conditioner was the only unpleasant part of the trip . It was surprisingly cold in the bedroom.
Location: The Lofts de Vieux Port is perfectly situated inside Old Montreal and just steps away from all the excitement the city has to offer.
The loft was specious and fully equipped with all the amenities of an apartment. The kitchen had a full sized fridge and a dishwasher. It was as if you were living there. My wife and I were close to everything . Restaurants and shops were right outside our door. It was such a wonderful experience. I highly recommend staying at the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Beach

My Stay

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: The location, free parking.
Cons: Drinking classes in the room instead of classes in the cabinet.
Location: There is a lot of restaurants near by. I spent most of my time on a bus tour.
I like the location due to it was near where I was going to be picked up. My major disappointment was there WiFi was not working but I could tell they made a major effort trying to get it to work. Also the person handling the payment transaction wanted to charge me $130 in US currency when the charge should have been $120. You do need to climb stairs to get to your room. My room was a little warm and stuffy but I was able to open the windows which help. There was a nice kitchen but I did not use it. I would recommend this place for people who like to cook.