Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Air conditioning didn't work, phone dock stereo didn't work, Jacuzzi didn't work, no elevator, it was our anniversary and we didn't sleep because the room was so hot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from F

Charming hotel, great location in old city.

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Walked out the back door and two blocks to the lofts. The loft itself was nice but the absence of staff on premises, particularly in the evenings, was disconcerting. Also, no daily room service during your stay. They will bring clean towels,etc if you call them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Great concept, work in progress.

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Location, loft/apartment concept, authentic Old-Port feeling.
Cons: HVAC noise.
Location: Walk along the river, explore museums and churches.
We stayed in loft 806. Beautiful space and well decorated. We stayed with my parents who took the main floor bedroom and we had the upstairs loft. Beds were very comfortable, water pressure was great. Perfect location for walking around Old Port. Only 2 issues, one of which is temporary. First, areas of the building (which has the restaurant Modavie on the ground floor) were under construction so the central staircase was quite dusty and dirty. Obviously this is temporary, but it wasn't a great impression and you always felt a little dirty upon leaving the loft. The second issue was that there is an HVAC unit that sits near the loft on the roof so there is a constant and loud hum/throbbing from until 2am, when it shuts off. It then resumes at 6am in the morning. Its not terrible, but if noise bothers you, I would request to stay in a different loft. I believe the HVAC unit is for the resaurant downstairs since it was not effected by the thermostat in our room, so you can't control it. Otherwise, a great place to stay in Old Port for larger groups or 2 couples.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

One problem

Posted May 21, 2015
Pros: Clean, well appointed, staff very efficient and courteous
Cons: Perhaps if construction is in the works guests should be made aware so they would have a choice to stay or go elsewhere.
Location: Old Montreal is gorgeous. Clean, friendly and accessible to a multitude of things to do and see.
The first night in the loft we were awakened at 2 am by jackhammers and pounding on walls which continued until just after 5 am. Needless to say, no sleep! We made management aware and they told us that the construction and renovation of the restaurant below was to stop at 5 PM. They were quite surprised by what we described to them. The remaining 2 nights were quiet. At checkout we were not charged for the first night and management was very polite and apologetic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beautiful lofts with helpful staff

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The beautiful loft, friendly staff, and excellent location.
Location: Beautiful Vieux-Montreal, full of galleries, cafes, winding European-style streets and old stone buildings. Get crepes and wine at Chez Suzette
Great experience for my fiancée and I following our engagement. The loft included a large kitchenette, separate living room with bay windows, massive king size bed downstairs and a queen size upstairs, as well as a 2-person Jacuzzi with overhead shower in the bathroom. Room was well-maintained and clean. Location is perfect - easy walking distance from Vieux-Port and restaurants, especially the great Chez Suzette next door. Since it's a loft the room is only cleaned once a week, but we really didn't need more than that. The staff was attentive and easy to reach throughout our stay and more than willing to give recommendations and advice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Not good if you have mobility issues...

Posted May 10, 2015
My adult daughter and I stayed for 4 nights in a Loft suite. Be aware that the Lofts are in a different building after you check in at the actual Auberge Vieux-Port hotel. It's out the back door and 2 blocks down. Also, there is no elevator in the building. As our loft was on the 4th floor, that meant 59 stairs to climb. Not a problem for my daughter and I as we are fit and healthy, but definitely an issue for guests with mobility issues. The Loft was super spacious, comfortable beds. A bit warm as no air conditioning. There are ceiling fans and some sort of ventilation system though. As we were in the Loft building we had a kitchenette and did not have the 'breakfast included' package that hotel guests receive. Very expensive breakfast there. Alternate good breakfast for much more reasonable prices at Cafe Veritas, a few blocks away. Hotel staff was excellent and accomodated us with everything we needed, including doing online check in for our flight home from their front desk computer. The location in Vieux Montreal was perfect. It's a wonderful place to visit. Many museums, churches, restaurants and interesting shops all within walking distance. Recommend a horse cart tour. Our tour guide/horseman gave us lots of information regarding history of Vieux Montreal. We had a marvelous time and I would recommend this hotel, and the Lofts (as long as you have good legs).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Underbar Loft lägenhet

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: Att loftlägenheten var så cool och prisvärd .. Bra kylskåp-- 2 TV apparater..
Cons: Ventilationen är dålig, fläkten högljudd men ineffektiv.. Går inte att vädra. Man städar själv, vilket jag gillade..
Location: Man kan besöka museér och Notre Dame kyrkan.. promenera i mysiga gränder, nära till allt.. gångavständ till centrum,, nära till tunnelbanan,,
Man kan knappast bo bättre. Visserligen är trappan upp till sovalkoven brant och badrummet ligger på nedervåningen och ventilationen är högljudd och dålig... Men den lya vi bodde i var så mysig att det inte spelade någon större roll.Kök, vardagsrum och sovalkov.. Högt i tak.. lite lyhört.. men coolt..lite slitet.. men fint. Värt det!!! Verkligen.I Gamla Stan med massor av mysiga restauranger och butiker runt omkring.. Nära China Town med bra mat,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Paper thin walls PLUS construction

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The staff was super friendly - the nicest, however did not mention the stairs, noise etc. as I'm guessing they know it's a problem.
Cons: The walls really need to be insulated/sound proofed. I believe it's a single piece of dry wall separating rooms - might as well be a curtain.
Location: It is the absolute perfect location for dining out, boutique shopping and going to galleries. Very safe and quaint.
The room itself was nice. Clean, comfortable, cute. The walls are paper thin and you can hear neighbours even when they are just talking at a regular level - it's like they are in the same room with you and it's not even muffled. When the neighbours laugh, party or do other "activities" late at night, it's excruciating to have to listen to. Also, the building is under construction which adds to the noise level. The staff told us it would only happen during the day - which it did... at 6:55 AM on Saturday morning as well! If the hotel had only given us a heads up about the construction, mentioned to us and other guests that noise travels and to be courteous of other people staying there and perhaps included some foam ear plugs in the room as some hotels do, it would have made a WORLD of difference. Something else to keep in mind, we were on the 3rd floor and there were literally 50 + stairs to climb to get there which wasn't a problem for us, but they should tell people in advance. The staff didn't ask us about our stay at all while we were there or when we left - I'm guessing they know there are issues and can't do anything about them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

I would stay here again!

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Great layout, clean, nice shower, plenty of cabinets, full kitchen, nice TV, no issues at all with wifi. Nice complementary breakfast, way better than standard continental. Only comment was that I wanted the room to be warmer but couldn't get the heater to go higher.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sarah K from Ajax

Great place to stay in the heart of old montreal

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Love this hotel. Stayed in the lofts. The service is excellent!