Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Robert Thomasfrom Virginia

Visit Mt. Rushmore

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Convenient to Rushmore; at end of the season, restaurant choices not very good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dineshfrom NJ

Nice enough for an overnight stay

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were nice enough and clean, but cramped. Bathroom is tiny. Bathroom sink is in the room. A/C in room worked adequately. My room opened out to the pool area (even on the 2nd floor), so the "hallway" was very warm and smelled of chlorine, but inside the room it was cool and fine. Be forewarned, they charge $10 if you don't return your electronic room key, which is strange. The parking situation was very chaotic and cramped, but there was enough room for all cars while I was there at the tail end of the season. Very convenient to Rushmore. Staff was friendly enough.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Elbafrom California

closest to Mt Rushmore

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good motel. The parking lot is small but they allow buses to occupy a large number of spaces, forcing customers to park elsewhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by S Sadlerfrom Reno

Great location!

Posted Sep 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Really enjoyed our stay. Great location within walking distance to everything in town. Nice large rooms with a small dinette, refrigerator and microwave. Have to go to the Red Garter and watch an old time gun fight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by great place great locationfrom sturgis

pre sturgis family trip

Posted Sep 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
pool hotub walk everything in town GREAT CENTRAL LOCATION for all other sight seeing and this would be a great place to stay during bike week ALSO IF YOU want the best food in town with indoor smores take a left out of parkinglot 1/4 mile on left is a stake house with bar always packed the stake tips and indoor smores desert was so cool
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Dickfrom Oklahoma

Parking Nightmare

Posted Aug 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The most difficult thing was finding a place to park. After eventually finding a place, the room was only marginally acceptable. The carpet appeared to be in desperate need of cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Karinfrom North Dakota

Great location but crazy parking lot

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms and service great, but the parking lot is a packed mess. The spots and lot are too small for the hotel. Price is okay and location is convenient. Just know about the parking lot before booking so you are in the know before you arrive. It gets tricky!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Great location, but...

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: It's close proximity to Mt. Rushmore and the people in the town of Keystone.
Cons: Brighten up the rooms!
Location: The town itself is very pleasant. The prices in the town are relatively inexpensive. It is not really a "tourist trap". Mt. Rushmore is 5 minutes.
Parking was terrible. The room was clean, but dark and dreary. The staff was hard to understand but very accomodating. When we decided to leave after spending only one night, they made sure to have my money refunded for the second night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Toryfrom Florida

Perfect location if your are into tourist

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is extremely dated - very 80's. The parking lot is very cramped and I'm not sure if there is enough parking for every room - they actually told me to come back in if there were no places and they would give me some suggestions. A lot of the rooms look out on the boardwalk - my room looked out on a rock wall; I'm on the 3rd floor and all I see is rock. Good thing I don't spend time in my room. The beds were old and there was a mustiness to the place. On the plus side, it is right on the boardwalk that has great tourist shopping and dining. It's 8 miles from Mt. Rushmore and 15 to Crazy Horse. It's only about 25 minutes to Rapid City that has several great dining options (check out Murphy's Pub and ask for Blake) and great presidential sculptures on every corner. It's an ok place but I probably would stay elsewhere, everything is within a 30 minute drive.