Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Charlotte, NC

Oceanfront is the only plus to this hotel!

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The only thing that was good about this hotel is that it is on the beach.
Cons: Everything needs to be improved. The rooms need to be updated! The pools and hot tubs should be in working condition!!!
The hotel was horrible. The outdoor pool at the Sand Dunes hotel was green! The 2 hot tubs had too much chlorine in them and were foaming with the chemicals. The sister property, Oceans Dunes was located next door. This is the hotel that we stayed in. The room had carpet so dirty we did not walk around without having shoes on. There was a roach that crawled out under the bed; it was disgusting! The music was so loud in the pool area that it was not any fun. The atmosphere was party central with fraternities and sororities partying and it was not spring break! This is not a place to stay if you want a clean and relaxing vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Update needed

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Hotel is in a good location but it is in need of a serious update.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor communication between Housekeeping staff

Posted Apr 12, 2015
Pros: Mango Restaurant- wonderful food and Madelyn,our waitress for both dinner and lunch the following day was top notch!
Cons: HOUSEKEEPING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!COMMUNICATION!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Location: Beach/ Shopping
Nice hotel but had to call twice for a bathmat, room trashcan, do not disturb sign and to have safe open so we could use it. Our two beds were never made and the management though nice, could not seem to get housekeeping to do it's job. We were told housekeeping does not wash out coffee pot each day and only 2 small bars of soap are supplied for a room for 4 adults. But the view from our balcony was great, the room large, clean and the TV nice. The indoor pool and Jacuzzi was crowded,looked less clean and had a lot of young children in it. The facilities at the gym were closed and they did not know when it would be open again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Raleigh, NC

First impression was great.

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: The lobby and resturant
Cons: Bedding, mattress, cable
Location: close to all attractions
When we arrived at hotel the staff greeted us with a smile. We checked in. I sent my teens to the room while I went to gathered the bags, upon my return , they were at the registration desk because the guy that checked us in gave us the key to the wrong room. After that things went fairly smooth, the teens were disappointed in the 3 feet indoor pool. My neck and shoulders were in pain from the terrible mattress. The mattress was worn down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 16, 2015
very nice resort, staff was helpful and welcomed us to the resort with open arms, I would definitely recommend this resort but although most of their amenities are summer friendly it was still a fun experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindafrom Toronto, Ontario

Fall Holiday at the Sand Dunes

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
First time in Myrtle Beach during the fall. Weather quite nice. Liked our hotel. Our Oceanfront room was very clean and well kept, though carpet was wearing in spots and curtain was frayed at sliding door. Kitchenette was handy, but very tiny and lighting was poor as one light was burnt out. Asked to have it replaced but no one did it. Two concerns we had: 1. Not enough luggage caddies available for guests. We saw staff using some for moving supplies. These should be for guest use only. Annoying when you are arriving or leaving and have to carry all your gear. 2. When we checked in, the reservation clerk did not tell us about any of the hotel amenities or services offered, re: discount coupons, attractions etc. We realized on our last day that we should have went to the Guest Service counter for these and also a Welcome Gift which we did not receive. It would have been nice if we had known about it when we first arrived. All in all, we enjoyed our stay and would do it again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

OK

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
No toilet tissue in the room, no cups, no ice bucket. contacted the desk and they said they would sent it up but never did. Room was not real clean, sand on floor in bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Charlesfrom Greenville sc

Best place ever

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We really enjoyed the resort. Staff was very nice and eager to help us with anything we were wanting to do. We will definately be staying with the resort again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adam

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Horrible from the check in until I checked out a few hours later. Horrible condition, beds, doors, just out dated. I ended up paying mostly hotel was full this past weekend, I just drove all the way back home! Totally disappointed