Ratings based on 653 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Roswell NM

LOTS of character and charm

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating staff. Nice rooms with VERY firm beds. The complimentary breakfast was excellent-much better than serve yourself stale pastries and faux scrambled eggs. We will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio Rancho

A lotta bang for the buck!

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: It has charm and character-on site dining and incredible staff.
Location: Taos has lots to offer-culture, art, and lots of great outdoor activity.
Living only 3 hours from Taos. I do go there from time to time as a get away-and have tried many different lodgings. I loved it here-it may be old, but is has great bones and the staff was amazing-very courteous, friendly and caring. I liked that it was on the edge of town. I liked that it had two restaurants on the property. We ate dinner there and was impressed (my travel companion has traveled the world and was very pleased with the food). I had the grilled salmon and she had the rib eye. Dinner was delicious and our server, Sara was spot on with the service. I think one of the best assets this site has is its staff-all are well trained, pay attention to detail and excel in customer service. I also loved that breakfast was included and that it was made to order.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Peublo, Colorado

Vintage but Run Down

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Old Styling from the 30's.
Cons: Remodel.
Location: Usual.
Upon arrival, we were "upgraded to a Suite". Turns out the upgrade was a dump and not even in the original Hotel. Large but not up to our standards. Seems like the ownership hasn't put any money into the Hotel in years. Wasn't that clean either.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New Mexico

Mixed Bag

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Older building and grounds are beautiful and have a comfortable, aesthetically pleasing feel. Nice full breakfast in pleasing dining room.
Cons: Should clean room more thoroughly between guests. Replace bathroom fan motor. Replace electrical receptacles. Present ones are mostly worn out.
Location: Good location on south side of town, especially for day trips to the east and south.
Spent two nights in this hotel. Liked the ambiance and staff. Was not physically very comfortable. The room carpeting had not been vacuumed when I checked in. This was remedied right away. The surfaces had been wiped with slightly greasy rags, so that there was a filmy residue on the table and nightstand glass surfaces. I cleaned them myself. The bathroom fan was extremely noisy and could only be turned on and off with the bathroom light switch. Plenty of lamps for the room, but electrical receptacles were so worn that some of the plugs would barely stay plugged in.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Alaska

Trip to Taos New Mexico.

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: I really liked our waiter, He was very nice, considerate, just new what he was doing. I guess I like that in some one.
Cons: After you read about my experiences, maybe someone should make that decision.
Location: My Husband and Daughter took me for four hour drives after treatment, because I like the beauty of the Mountain's, Wildlife over in Angle Fire.
The Sagebrush Inn & Suites in Taos New Mexico, The place looks very pleasing and is... The place ran out of food and could not service us dinner. The young gentleman that waited on us was very nice. and did even give my daughter a free desert the second night we went back. we stayed in room 131. the house keepers would be yelling at each other as early as 8:00 am and would knock on the door at by 9 to want to do your room. I was there for medical reasons, my treatments started at 11 am so I always was out by 10:15 am. I was there 7 days and when I have to make my own beds and be sick too and pay for that. she collected towels and gave clean ones every day but I made the bed 3 times and one day she did not even come in. She did not clean the tub. as we had to remove the stopper so water could drain. and saw all the hair that was sitting in the drain. we left the stopper out the hole time we were there and not once did she remove that hair. (and it was not ours!!!). When I went to the front desk he just said your not the first to say that. HELLO!!!!. what is wrong with this picture again. I will be back every 6 months for another year and I will make other choices.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Looked nice on the outside

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: The spaciousness of the room, the friendly staff in the evening.
Cons: A little better cleaning job.
Location: Taos is close by and there is a lot to do there.
The room was spacious and I enjoyed that. However, my girl friend noticed a toothpick next to her bed and the next morning I found an orange pincher bug under my pillow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: breakfast.
Cons: Electrical outlets were loose, shower whistled, and lighting was poor in room for reading
Breakfast was included and was our choice. stay.It was our best breakfast on a 5 day trip.. Overall, a very cute place to stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chino Hills, CA

What a nightmare!

Posted Oct 21, 2014
My husband couldn’t stop laughing when I told him that this place could really use some help from Gordon Ramsey or Anthony Melchiorri. Reading the mixed reviews on TripAdvisor I was hoping, wishing, praying for the best. If this hotel is the 5th best hotel in Taos, oh Lord, Taos is in a heap of trouble … We arrived at the SageBrush around 7:30 pm after a long drive visiting Carlsbad Caverns. We were pleasantly greeted by a woman at the front desk, she let us know where our room was located and told us that dinner was in service at the steakhouse restaurant in the dining room. We were lucky to get a room on the second floor, which from other reviews I’ve read was a good thing. I purposely packed everything that we would need into one suitcase as to only lug one up the warped wood stairs which was a good idea arriving in the dark. When I booked the room, I reserved one with two queen beds. Looking around I only noticed one. I made my way in the dark, across the courtyard, back to the front desk to let the woman know that I reserved a room with two queen beds. She apologized and told me she forgot to tell me that the other bed was a fold out bed in the other room, unfortunately there were no other rooms and that was the only room she had left. Tired and defeated I made my way back to the room, we tried pulling the bed out of the cabinet to see what treasure lie … but couldn’t even manage that because there was a round table to the right obstructing its path. We were t
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware

Posted Oct 19, 2014
The hotel rooms were not clean, they do not provide you fresh towels each day, the fireplace didn't work even after hotel assisted...no air-conditioning and heater smelled when turned on....beware....do not stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good combination of old and new

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Location: Short drive to Taos Plaza with interesting shops.
Sagebrush has been our "go to" inn in Taos over the past 15 years. Complimentary breakfast is very good. Dining room has extensive menu and dishes we've ordered have been well prepared. Staff is friendly and ready to help. Rooms we've stayed in have not had a microwave or small fridge... that upgrade would be welcome.