Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom iowa

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Location: Good location
It was a clean inexpensive motel, and even had a pool and hot tub.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Problems Unlimited

Posted Apr 6, 2015
hair on bathroom towel & not enough towels, construction inside & right outside window, broken fridge, Maintenance Man Walked In with new Without Knocking While Laying In The Bed Under The Covers, too many non-English speaking employees, no free breakfast, no microwave in room, after complaining to Manager key wouldn't work, re-keyed, and always "sorry"..vs. resolving their issues! Never Again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Price was right, but most things were broke

Posted Apr 6, 2015
The price was good for what we wanted, a place to sleep. The ice maker was broke, the fridge was not cold. They also don't put coffee out until 6am. I'm big on coffee and up early so that stunk.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Donnellson, IA

Never Again

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Cons: Improvement needed everywhere
Never again even if this is the only hotel left with rooms in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Poweshiek County, IA

It was a nice well kept hotel for the price!

Posted Mar 30, 2015
We stayed here for a concert and we all slept comfortably. Easy location and rooms were nice. Staff were very helpful and allowed us to check in early!
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Mason City, IA

If we could have found another hotel we would have

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The fact that we even got a room in Waterloo, but after staying here I now know that no one wants to stay here and thats why they had rooms available
Cons: Everything! A complete over haul with at least some basic amenities would be nice.
Location: Near Crossroads Mall, restaurants, and casino.
The town was completely booked and this was our only option to be able to have 3 roomsin Waterloo. Our closest other option was Charles City. Check In they could only find 2 of my 3 reservations. I went to get the paperwork out of the car and by the time I returned they found the other room. There are only 2 housekeepers for the entire hotel - as they clean rooms they pull the clean linens out of a bin and then fold to put in the rooms - makes me wonder if they are even clean. There are no extra amenities here - no shampoo, no conditioner, no lotion, and no kleenex. In our king room we got 2 small rough towels, 2 washcloths, and 1 hand towel - 1 small bar of soap that was pretty well gone after 2 people showered. A picture hung sideways over the headboard to cover a large hole. In one of our double queen rooms there was a huge red stain on the carpet between the chair and bed. Considering they are taking carpet out and replacing with hardwood floors I would think this room would have been a priority to replace. Also no breakfast at all - there is a vending machine in the lobby with some misc items. There was coffee which was at best warm and some dry creamer and sugar - that was it. The drive leading in was partially blocked by managements vehicle both upon our arrival and departure making it a bit cramped to pull in and out. Upon parking there was an area of the buidling that was completely missing the brick for about 10 feet looked like maybe a car had hit it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Prairie du Chien, WI

Convenient location. Close to dining and events.

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Had a great time. I especially appreciated the not having to drive a long distance to get where I needed to go.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wisconsin

Disappointing compared to prior Motel 6 stays.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: The room itself was clean.
Cons: A simple walk around the hotel by staff should have eliminated the outdoor problems. As far as maintenance issues, an internal audit.
Location: Conveniently located next to a major shopping area.
The following issues occurred: The sidewalk in front of the hotel wasn't shoveled and ice covered, the pool was closed, we had to check-in 45 minutes late because the room wasn't ready, there wasn't enough hot water to fill the hot tub in our room, there was construction being done on adjacent rooms and beer cans were left by the workers on window sills, there was broken glass in the parking lot, the exit door on the east end of the building had a sign posted that said "don't use", the heater knob had a black line drawn in marker which we later learned was the "on" setting instead of the word "ON". The excuses used by the hotel staff included: sorry we had only two people to clean/prepare all the rooms, we have only one working water heater for the entire hotel, bear with us while were under construction. I don't expect perfection, but it would have been nice to at least feel contrition from the staff. I felt as if they were sick and tired of fielding questions/complaints regarding the hotel issues. My guess is I wasn't the only party not happy. I took numerous photos that are available upon request from Motel 6 should they want to see what we experienced.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Shelby, IA

Convenient location. Easy to find.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Pros: Nothing other than location.
Cons: Kleenex and shampoo in rooms. Shovel snow and ice off of sidewalks. Continental breakfast would be nice.
Location: Good location. Plenty of places to eat nearby.
No Kleenex or shampoo in room. Sidewalk was not clear of snow and ice. Room was non-smoking, but smelled of smoke.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montezuma, Iowa

Bad news review

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: We were in town for a tournament. Did nothing else.
We did not have a good stay. We were not happy. We should have gone to a different hotel!