Lobby

Reviews of Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden

5 out of 5
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
172, rue Hassiba Benbouali, Algiers
4.1
Very Good
Rating 5 - Excellent. 117 out of 266 reviews
5 - Excellent 44%
Rating 4 - Good. 84 out of 266 reviews
4 - Good 32%
Rating 3 - Okay. 41 out of 266 reviews
3 - Okay 15%
Rating 2 - Poor. 15 out of 266 reviews
2 - Poor 6%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 9 out of 266 reviews
1 - Terrible 3%

4.2/5

Cleanliness

4.2/5

Staff & service

4.1/5

Amenities

4.0/5

Property conditions & facilities

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 7 nights in Jan 2020
Response from HBB on Mar 5, 2020
Nous vous remercions pour vos aimables commentaires envers notre équipe loisirs car ils travaillent tous très dur au quotidien afin d'entretenir nos clients, nous ne manquerons donc pas de leur transmettre vos éloges car ils seront ravis de savoir que vous avez apprecié leurs efforts.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden
Good hotel, facilities, services and staff, but needs an upgrade to latest 5 star standards.
Stayed 2 nights in Oct 2019

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Ok for couples, more suited for business
Overall it's a really nice hotel to stay. It's not a resort as such, it's very much suited for business. For the price you are paying per night I would have expected more.
Stayed 2 nights in Sep 2019
Response from Habiba on Sep 19, 2019
Dear Mr Ifran Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. your feedback is very important to us.because it allows us to improve. With best regard.

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Will not stay there again
Booked the most expensive room and got a smaller room as they gave my room to the guest who wanted to extend their stay (as they said) I also had $100 stolen from the room I assume from the cleaner Dirty bed sheets were not changed. And one day The room was not cleaned. Called at boot for it to be cleaned. Came back around around 6pm was not cleaned when called service they said the cleaners are gone home Room food service was very bad. Over all I paid over £1200 for 4 night and I’m very disappointed with my choice
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2019
Response from HBB on Aug 29, 2019
Dear Mr Waled, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Habib Ellah Khedali Guest Relation

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2019
Response from HBB on Aug 29, 2019
Dear Sir , Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Habib Ellah Khedali Guest Relation

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2019
Response from Habiba on Jul 22, 2019
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at our hotel. I take this opportunity to apologize for all inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and rest assured that the information is shared with all our team so that this situation does not recur. I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel. Best Regards.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family and small children
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Bathroom and toilet not clean. Poor mini bar offer Terrible and expensive food. You can’t eat it!! When I complained they said thank you for the feedback but still charged me for the food that I couldn’t even eat. All area were smoking areas. I have asthma and had a baby so nowhere was comfortable for me to sit or relax in that hotel. I do not recommend it’s not worth the price tag. It doesn’t deserve 5 star at all. Not even 3!
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Habiba on Jul 17, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
5 Star service and accommodation at a very reasonable price. I would definitely book again.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2019
Response from Habiba on Jul 17, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very friendly and welcoming staff
Stayed 6 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Habiba on Jul 17, 2019
Dear Guest, We would first like to thank you for choosing the Sofitel Alger Hamma Garden, and we thank you for your kind return, we are happy to have contributed to the success of your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Alger! Greetings, Best regards

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Not what you expect from. a 5* hotel.
I was on a business trip to Algiers, and very much expecting the 5* hotel to be great. The check in was very good and speedy. My room was not so good although the bed was comfortable , the rest was disappointing in terms of bathroom and furniture... Like a 3*. The room cleaning was fine but they never replenished the shampoos etc and when I phoned up to advise I wanted them renewed someone came but never actually replaced them. I had one other problem where I was advised someone would come but they didn't. To set a standard as a good hotel you need to improve and do more than you are now. I will never stay there again as there is a new Hyatt hotel just opened at the airport and that will be my next hotel when I return. The pool had very bad standard if music playing all the time...it was way too loud to block out with my own headphones, it was like a home made dance e-jay song that was on constant repeat. Maybe I'm getting old ? Breakfast and breakfast staff was good
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2019
Response from Habiba on Jul 17, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely,

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness
Stayed 1 night in Jun 2019
Response from Habiba on Jul 17, 2019
Dear Client, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay at our hotel. I take this opportunity to apologize for all inconvenience you experienced during your stay, and rest assured that the information is shared with all our team so that this situation does not recur. I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you in our hotel. Best Regards.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
One of the best hotels in Algiers
Decent but slightly aged hotel. Good facilities and located near to the Park.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019
Response from HBB on Jun 10, 2019
Cher Monsieur, Nous tenons tout d’abord à vous remercier d’avoir pris le temps de nous écrire suite à votre récent séjour au Sofitel Tout commentaire de votre part est apprécié, car il nous permet d’améliorer la qualité des services que nous proposons à notre clientèle. Nous avons pris note de vos remarques avec beaucoup d’intérêt et nous sommes désolés d’apprendre que la qualité et la variété des produits au petit déjeuner n’étaient pas à la hauteur de vos attentes. Soyez assuré que nous travaillons constamment sur l’amélioration de nos services et nous nous excusons pour la déception ressentie. Concernant l'accès internet, nous disposons en effet du réseau Wifi offert gracieusement dans tout l'hôtel, mais nous disposons également de l'accès avec un câble réseau en chambre. Cela aurait peut-être été plus approprié pour le débit de vos données Nous espérons avoir à nouveau l’occasion de vous recevoir dans notre établissement. Cordiales salutations.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2019
Response from Habiba, Guest Relations. on Apr 29, 2019
Cher Monsieur REKIK Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable. Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire, Monsieur, en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2019
Response from Habiba DJADI Guest Relations on Apr 19, 2019
Dear Guest, Thank you for the feedback of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities
This is a lovely hotel, with great service and comfortable rooms. I found the beds superior to other Sofitel properties. I love that the pool is heated and half indoor, half outdoor, as we could use it happily in mid-March. The immediate proximity of the beautiful Hamma Gardens (to which Sofitel customers have complimentary access) gives the opportunity for lovely walks through the greenery. Aside from that, there really isn't much in the direct vicinity of the hotel. With the industrial harbour in front, I really didn't want to walk anywhere from the hotel. In order to get downtown, one needs to get a taxi at a cost of 1'000 dinars (approx USD 8.5)
Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2019
Response from Habiba,Guest Relations. on Mar 19, 2019
Dear Maxime, Thank you so much for your very kind words that are a great incentive for our entire team. We all hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon! Yours sincerely,

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Close from the airport and the city. Beautiful hotel. Tasty breakfast buffet. Polite staff.
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2019
Response from Habiba Guest Relations. on Mar 19, 2019
Dear Customer, Thank you for taking the time to share this review following your stay at our facility. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, the quality of the breakfast we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon. Best Regards.

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The breakfast buffet is excellent, the service was excellent and the mangers were available at all time if you have any issue or request.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2019
Response from Habiba,Guest Relations. on Mar 7, 2019
Dear Mr TARIK We would first like to thank you for choosing the Sofitel Alger Hamma Garden, and we thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to have contributed to the success of your stay. Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Alger! Greetings,

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
After a slight delay and confusion with our check-in, one of the managers (Zola) contacted me and made sure to fix the issue and was very professional. Truly appreciate the professionalism of the staff. Very well located in Algiers. Right next to the botanical garden beautiful place to visit. Called Jardin D'essais
Stayed 3 nights in Feb 2019
Response from Guest Relations, Habiba on Feb 20, 2019
Dear sir Tarif, Welcome to the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, thank you for sharing your opinion on our team and we are delighted to have responded to your requests. Our colleague Zola and the whole team will be delighted to see that their professionalism and attentions are always appreciated. We hope to receive you for a next stay! Cordially.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2019
Response from Merci on Feb 10, 2019
Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi le Sofitel Hamma garden. Nous apprécions votre retour!!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very friendly service and hospitality. Very clean and such a beautiful hotel. Loved the location and how they provide free shuttle to the airport at every hour. Had an amazing stay, only thing that could be improved on is that you can tell that this is was a non smoking environment. Will definitely recommend though.
Stayed 1 night in Jan 2019
Response from Guest Relations Habiba on Feb 7, 2019
Dear Mrs/Mr, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely,

4/5 Good

Stayed 3 nights in Jan 2019
Response from Habiba, Guest Relations. on Feb 20, 2019
Dear Guest, I would like to thank for choosing The Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden, We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon! Sincerely,

2/5 Poor

Over-priced, disappointing experience.
The one night stay was for a bit of luxury after working in the Sahara for a few weeks. The hotel is well presented and check-in was fast and pleasant. I was informed I had been upgraded to a garden view room on the 6th floor so excitedly ventured to my room. Unfortunately the room was hideous. The decor was extremely dated, the garden view did not exist (unless you leaned right over the deep window sill) and the pictures had been hung and very odd angles. I therefore decided to upgrade my room. I visited the executive check-in on the 4th floor where I was met by a very stoney-faced aide who did not smile at any point throughout my stay. I paid the upgrade fee (€100) and was presented with an extremely nice room, well presented, clean, quiet, modern with a great bathroom. The executive floor also had a lounge which was clean, functional and quiet. The main issues I had were with the food and service. My tv remote batteries ran out so the very nice service man come to my room, removed the batteries, bit them in front of me and replaced them. They of course lasted another 10 mins before running out again. The food; Algerian meat skewers was a sort of English mixed grill. The vegetarian pizza had frozen vegetables on it! The breakfast was good but no glasses for water? Or water. All in all I expect a much better experience for the money. The service was highly impersonal, bordering on rudeness. I had another night booked in October which I have since cancelled.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2018
Response from LUC L on Sep 10, 2018
Dear Tom, Thank you for taking the time to post an answer following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and points; we will certainly share them with our team. I take this opportunity to apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations, and rest assured that the information is shared with all our team so that this situation does not recur. If there is something I can do to make your future stay more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to contact me. Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
My brother enjoyed staying there. Staff was really nice.
Stayed 1 night in Aug 2018
Response from LUC L on Aug 19, 2018
Dear Assil, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us following your recent stay at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. It is with pleasure that we receive your compliments; we will certainly share them with our team. Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
No Garden View. Slow check in
I arrived at the hotel around 1pm (this site states check in at 12) to be told no rooms were available yet. 3 and a half hours of hanging around the lobby later at around 1630, I finally checked in, so that was my plans to have an afternoon exploring out the window. I paid a little bit extra for a room with a 'garden view'. Do not bother with this as there is no garden view
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2018
Response from LUC L on Jul 8, 2018
Dear Philip, Thank you for taking the time to post an answer following your stay at the Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. It is with pleasure that we receive your remarks and points; we will certainly share them with our team. I take this opportunity to apologise that your stay did not meet your expectations, and rest assured that the information is shared with all our team so that this situation does not recur. Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.

4/5 Good

Decent hotel for BUSINESS travel. Excellent Costal View.
Stayed 5 nights in May 2018
Response from LUC L on Jun 10, 2018
Dear Ram, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write us following your recent stay at Sofitel Algiers Hamma Garden. It is with pleasure that we receive your compliments; we will certainly share them with our team. Your satisfaction is the best reward for all of us who work every day to provide you with a better service. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and I look forward to your upcoming stay at the Sofitel Algiers.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Excellent from start to finish
Stayed 12 nights in Sep 2017

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Aug 2017

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
It was a comfortable hotel. Well located near the monument and garden overlooking sea
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2017
Response from SofitelAlgiersHammaGarden on Jul 11, 2017
Dear guest, thanks a lot for this kind review, Bests,

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Not for family and quality is deteriorating
staff at the reception was unable to get my bookings on their systems. The hotel conditions are getting old and the hotel condition does not stand the room rate.

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Terrible hotel. Lobby staff impolite and arrogant.
As mentioned above, the Hotel Lobby staff was impolite and arrogant, asking us to pay for a room already booked and paid, asking us to pay for extra we didn't have had. There is no coordination in this hotel. A letter will be sent to the Management of this hotel.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
Freezing cold air conditioning in the winter?
More or less everything is a "sofitel hotel" like the others around the globe. However, it was super un-comfortable to have the amount of cold air injected into he lobby, the rooms, and the dining areas. Also the smoke from cigarettes makes the entire hotel just simply "stink".

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
GREAT PLACE
GOOD ROOMS WITH FREE SOFT DRINKS AND JUICES, NICE DAILY MUSIC IN THE LOBBY VERY HELPFUL STAFFS

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
good hotel overall
good hotel overall, mainly good locationj, good food and confortable room

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Wonderful stay at Sofitel Algiers
This is the second time we stayed at this hotel and we enjoyed it very much, Friendly staff, clean and confortable hotel. Food was extremely delicious.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Not full-service
The restaurants and bar were closed on my visit, such that the only food options were limited to a sad buffet, the greatness of whose generosity was ably matched by the poverty of its quality. Little solace could be found in the room service offer. Any assumption that these limitations would prompt grace, compassion and humility from the staff was misguided: although the shop floor staff were civil, employees in even the smallest position of authority were aloof, unengaged, and unhelpful. I hope I can stay elsewhere in Algiers in future.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
First choice in Algiers
Avoid Hilton at all cost. Sofitel offers friendly staff, professional people. Secure location. Clean bathroom and room

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
5 star centrally located hotel
The hotel is grand with beautiful lobby and halls. The breakfast is superb. The staff are very friendly, helpful, and attentive. The hotel rooms and facilities are a bit old and need renovation. The location is central and next to a very beautiful 50,000 m2 park of diverse vegetation and a small zoo.

3/5 Okay

Liked: Room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
Overall good but service very slow sometimes
Good gym and amazing grill station by the pool. Nice location close the garden and easy access (metro station 5mn walk)
Response from Guest Relations on Jul 28, 2016
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your review. We hope to host you again at the heart of Algiers the White & provide you another experience. best regards.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
A great, relaxing break.
The hotel was excellent, with good service and cleanliness. The staff are courteous and want to help with anything which makes the stay better.
Response from Guest Relation Executive on Jul 24, 2016
Dear Andrew, We would like to thank for your review, hope to host you again at the heart of Algiers the white!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Business stay 4 nights. Convenient
Excellent security. Very efficient check in. Quality hotel. Would definitely recommend hotel for business and personal visit. Good fitness and pool facilities.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice hotel in the heart of Algiers
Great family vacation. Excellent food. Wonderful views and close to many interesting places (Hamma gardens, national monument, seaside, downtown at 5min by metro from the hotel, 20min drive to the airport by the hotel's private shuttle). Great swimming pool for children with wonderful views. Will definitely go back there.

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness

3/5 Okay

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
My first time in sofitel
Dated interior fittings, Fridge broken, Small room , Very noisy by day due to being next to a service room.

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Ok
Nil

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Very comfortable with friendly bi-lingual staff
As noted above staff were very friendly and extremely helpful, the standard of food was very good although the breakfast could have been warmer.