Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Inclusive...

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Inclusive dining and watersports
Cons: The vegetarian food needs improvement.
Location: 35 mins from the airport
As a family, we enjoyed the inclusive dining and the inclusive watersports. There was one restaurant that you have to pay extra for called Piccollo Mondo, but it was worth it! The view, service and food are excellent. There is aqua aerobics daily, which was enjoyable as well. We took a 4 hour catamaran with snorkeling. It was a memorable time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Overrated

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: The beach was beautiful. Breakfast buffet was great.
Cons: Rooms need an upgrade. Beds and pillows uncomfortable. Paint peeling off the walls in the bathroom.
Location: Sting Ray City was fun. Had a great snorkeling trip by chartering a boat with Dennis. This was the highlight of our trip.
Customer Service is not a priority here. The front desk staff were rude and it seemed most staff did not make eye contact or even pass as cordial, let alone accomodating. Beware of Wifi charges. Though it is reported to be free, you are charged $42/week to use it in your room, though nowhere is this stated. When we brought this to the attention of the front desk, the women were extremely rude. They called a manager who tried to point out repeatedly how wrong we were but without success. The beds are not comfortable and the pillows are stiff and hard. Only two were provided for the room though four of us stayed there. Though we booked a room with 2 double beds and were assured we could be on the same hallway as the two other families we were staying with, there were no rooms available with 2 doubles. Accomodations were made with two cots in with our king size bed and we were upgraded to a beach front room. Beach is beautiful. Drinks were good and we never had to wait long for drink service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Beautiful hotel by the beach.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Went to this hotel with 2 other families. Rooms were not correct, suppose to have all double beds, kids had to sleep in pull outs. Front desk staff was not very accommodating and at times rude. Beware that they are charges that aren't clear on the website such as free wifi (not free) and service charges for a premium restaurant. However, the beachs and pools were beautiful. Food was one of the best.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY NY

Tale of Two Resorts

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: at the non-buffet restaurants. When we went by them in the evening, only a quarter of the tables were occupied. They limited seating to herd people
Cons: into the lower cost per person buffet restaurants. Dining is so poor at St. James that I cannot imagine anyone making a second visit.
Location: Ownership needs to audit food and beverage books. I would not be surprised if they learned that funds are being skimmed and customers shortchanged.
St. James Club has excellent physical facilities and furnishings, conscientious line staff, good housekeeping, nice landscaping, first rate fitness center. You pay a pretty high price to go to St. James, and in these areas the money gets through to a good quality customer experience. The onsite independently operated scuba center is good. Food service is another story. Senior food and beverage managers and senior chefs need to be replaced. At first I thought the problem was just a low level of competence. We ate at all restaurants except the beach hamburger bar, which is a filthy, smelly greasy spoon that could not pass a legitimate health inspection. Limited choices at many meals, beef that was too tough to cut with a knife, soup with so much salt it was inedible, baked potatoes that were cold and half-baked, jerk pork that was all fat and no meat, and fish labeled as "snapper" that was not snapper. Buffet lines are unsupervised, and we observed children dropping food on the floor and then putting it back in the serving dish. The beach night party dinner, for which the other restaurants were closed, was a fiasco. They set up plastic tables and chairs for half as many people who came. There was nowhere to sit. You had to wait in line for ten minutes to get a small glass of soda. It was a disorganized mess as porters scrambled to bring in more chairs, but no management level person was there to deal with it. Toward the end of our stay, we were unable to get reservations
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Meh

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Positives: *Beautiful grounds *Atlantic/Lagoon beaches *Gym/water activities *Some staff very nice Negatives: *inexperience in customer service *some staff disinterested, disengaged *besides breakfast, food is terrible *not sanitary.. birds in drinks, creamers, food *bars werent stocked with marketed drinks almost the whole time *hotel rooms/hallways outdated/old and not pleasant to the eye Overall, beautiful grounds and beaches. Would never ever ever ever pay that much money for an all inclusive that has poor food and very limited drink options. The best service I received the whole trip was during outside hotel excursions and dinner at coco bay resot. Every restauarant/dining area seemed to have limited staff that could not handle lunch/dinner bustle. Decent place for families with younger children... not great for couples or young adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from E

Great getaway

Posted Apr 9, 2017
The drinks and food are great!!! The non motorized water activities are the best. I wanted somewhere to go that is laid back beautiful and fun... I brought my husband, 8 month old and 4 year old, it was perfect for us. The hotel is a great property to stay. I had an issue with the Airconditioner and they accomadated us. I will definitely go back. You are only a 90 min ferry ride from Barbuda once downtown. However, if you get seasick you might want to forgo this activity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

SUNRISE ON THE BEACH

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: ALL INCLUSIVE.MANY PLACES TO SIT AND RELAX AND ENJOY THE VIEWS. EVERYTHING WAS TAKEN CARE OF. BEAUTIFUL BLUE CLEAR WATER.
Cons: EVENTS & ACTIVITIES WERE POSTED ON A SOMEWHAT HIDDEN BULLETIN BOARD- I THINK THERE WOULD HAVE BEEN MORE ATTENDANCE IF LARGER SIGNS WERE POSTE.
Location: A PENINSULA -BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY IN A SECLUDED LOCATON. TAXI NEEDED TO GET TO ANY OFF SITE LOCATION. NEAR HISTORIC NELSONS DOCKYARD AND SHIRLEY'S HEIGH
OUR ROOM WAS ON THE GROUND FLOOR ON THE ATLANTIC SIDE, WHAT A TREAT TO BE ABLE TO WALK OUT EVERY MORNING ON TO THE BEACH TO WATCH THE SUNRISE. IT WAS VERY WINDY ON THIS SIDE OF THE PROPERTY BUT WE COULD ALWAYS WALK ACROSS TO MAMORA BAY FOR SOME WARMTH. WATER SPORTS WERE AVAILABLE THERE, BEACH BAR, RESTAURANT. WE ENJOYED THE ALL INCLUSIVE FOOD AND DRINKS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington, NY

Beautiful resort

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Beautiful resort on Manora Bay. Expansive beaches on both the bay and the ocean. Preferred the ocean for the steady cool breeze - the bay can be very still and hot. 82 degrees every day. Nice choice of restaurants both buffet and sit-down. Docksiders has great themed buffets every night with great views of the bay and marina. Very relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Beach front view

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Ease of access around campus
Cons: have a standard bar package so that you don't have to go hunting from bar to bar to see if they are able to make your drink.
Location: With the walking group we traveled down the road a bit. We did to Shirley heights on Sunday afternoon/evening for the sunset. Very crowded.
about a 40 minutes ride from the airport. check in and out were easy. Since there were six of us we secured transportation from West Indian International tours for a very reasonable price. Natasha was a great contact in Antigua as we had a flight delay and were able to change our arrival and confirm transportation. They were waiting for us at the later hour. Front desk staff and Guest services - Brandon were great to get info from. Restaurant food was good. Activity staff were available and encouraged participation. 7:15a walking group was fun. Fitness center had a variety of equipment. Tennis was HOT, do it early in the day. Ocean side much windier than bay side. Water beautiful. Alfred who drove the beach bar dune buggy was always pleasant. No need to mark out chair, etc early in the morning as it always seemed there were enough chairs and towels. I tried paddle boarding and that was fun. The book library was great, if you forgot a book, borrow one and return it for someone else to read or if you brought a book leave it there for someone else. Dockside had nightly entertainment till 10:00p, a variety of music by totally awesome musicians. Andra in the late night lounge/club is the one to see for a great drink and good conversation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Beautiful, relaxing hotel. Would return!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Pretty much everything. Sometimes things move slower than US hotels, but we really enjoyed our stay. We needed a lot of R&R and this hotel delivered!
Cons: I wish the pools were open later. They close at 6. NIght life could be a bit better--after 10 all you can do is the nightclub. Beds were ok at best.
Location: Visit Shirley Heights-go Sunday nights, Stringrays, Caribbean beaches on West Coast, and take an Island Tour with TourGuideGordon, ask for Jerome!
The St. James's club exceeded our expectations. I went with my wife and daughter (20). We were a little below the average there, but there were people of all ages. I think more British than American, but hard to tell. Staff was friendly. Pros: Great beaches (Atlantic side and Bay side). Current at the bay almost nothing, current at the Atlantic beach not much stronger. In our week there, swimming was always easy. The Atlantic side can get a little seaweedy (from the plants in the water about 10 feet in). We saw some fish by the rock wall near the Hibiscus hotel. Water activities were great. We did paddle boarding so many times and took a few sailing lessons. Roxanne took us on multiple sailing lessons and really tried her best (we are not that good!). The rest of the water sports staff really friendly too. The biggest pro was no beach was every too crowded. At times, we had the Atlantic beach almost to ourselves. They have 4 really nice tennis courts, that we never had to wait for. The tennis pro Bennett was great, super friendly too. Dining: Food was always good. This is not a huge hotel, but it's not small either. There are 4-5 restaurants, with a snack bar by the bay. Most nights we did the dinner buffet at Docksider and breakfast at the Rainbow Garden. We always found plenty of choices we liked. For lunch we really enjoyed the Fusion Grill below CoCo's. Sometimes, we noticed some food choices at were a bit on the salty side. Nothing new for all-inclusives.