Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The hotel is lovely. Staff were wonderful. Check in was a bit slow. Make sure you have a printed reservation, not sure why it's needed they already have you set up in the system. Hotel is far from town
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Wonderful resort

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Pros: Everityn
Cons: They need a bar at the beach area
Location: The location was fine I had a lot of stuff to do lots a sports stuff to do
My experience is this resort was wonderful and the only bad part about it we had a herrican Irma the staff did the best to keep us safe 😎
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Beach Resort

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: We liked it's location on Mamora Bay with it's gentle waves .Breakfast staff was very helpful and friendly.
Cons: While our room was spacious, the TV worked sporadically. We notified the staff , but it was not corrected during our stay. Room needs update.
Location: See above
We stayed at the resort for 5 days, and took one trip to St. John's, about 35 minutes away
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location, great staff, good food....

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Four-Day break en route elsewhere....moved to St James' because of hurricane damage to original hotel. Very happy. All inclusive was good but remember to book dinner. Staff very friendly. Rooms look a little tired, but more-than-outweighed by beach, staff, food & drink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Great place to relax

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Wonderful staff and setting. It could use some “lipstick” but still a favorite of our family.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from virginia

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Cons: We were very hot our entire stay. Didn't find out until check out that we needed to call and ask for temperature to be reset for comfort.
Location: Water activities onsite. Need to hire a taxi to see much of the island.
Went for a wedding. Nice view with plenty of areas for wedding. Almost all the wedding party experienced the rooms being too warm. Very nice sized rooms with pretty views. We had oceanfront downstairs and could walk out on the beach from our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Nice hotel , staff could be more helpful

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Lovely island , large hotel in wonderful location . Some staff are helpful but so many were so miserable and would leave you waiting . The rooms very clean but the grounds and especially the pool and beach beds need a clean not too sure why they can't have a jet clean once a week if not daily. Amazing food , first class . Enjoyable holiday but isolated , just be prepared to take a cab if you want to get anywhere .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Great beach

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Cons: Pool i though was to deep for the kids so they all went to the shallow end one side.
Location: Shirley Heights and the doc yard. I have been to Antiqua before so the town is nice to walk around.
Beach was very good and safe for children food was good and overall I would definetly go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Epsom

Chilled out holiday to St James Hotel & Villas

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The chilled out vibe, the food and drinks and all the lovely people we met. Also loved Mojo and his Aqua aerobics!
Cons: Ocean view rooms need updating and they need to sort out entertainment in the evening for families. Service needs to be quicker in the Rainbow room.
Location: Lots of lovely beaches to go to, definitely worth hiring a car for a few days and seeing the island. Shirley Heights on a Sunday night is fantastic.
Lovely and relaxing hotel right on the beach (2 to choose from). However the hotel can do with some updating, the room we stayed in was quite old fashioned and didn't have enough storage space. Staff were at most very friendly (with the odd one or two that were a bit unfriendly). Service in the Rainbow restaurant was very slow and we ended up most times finishing our lunch before any drinks arrived! The food in all of the restaurants was lovely and the Docksider restaurant was our favourite although they could do with making that reservations only. One night we turned up at the same time as about 20 other people all wanting to get a table. The food at the grill on Mamora beach was lovely too (especially the fresh chicken burger). The water sports were great as was guest services who were very helpful. The staff all work very hard especially the guys on Cocoa beach constantly trying to keep the awful seaweed at bay! We loved the guys on the beach in the cart who came by and gave us drinks, made my relaxing afternoons even more relaxing! There is not much entertainment in the evenings for families and no bar for us to sit at as the only one open after 9pm is for adults only. They should think about having an outside bar for families with quiz nights and bingo etc. We really did have an enjoyable and relaxing holiday, the things we have mentioned will only make the hotel even better than it already is and we can't wait to go back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Nice resort on the Atlantic side

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: The rooms, the landscaping, the food. All A+.
Cons: The beach on the atlantic side.
The resort was lovely. We had a beach front room on the atlantic side. The rooms and facility's on the resort were wonderful. The landscaping is stunning. The food was VERY good. Much better than most other places we've been to in the caribbean. The only complaint is the beach. I understand mother nature is a powerful thing, but they really need to get more man power and machinery to keep the beach cleared of seaweed. We enjoyed a clean beach the first day, but the rest of the week it was unswimmable. Very disappointing, but we made the best of it. We ended up taking a taxi over to Darkwood beach on the caribbean side of the island. It is the most incredible beach we have ever seen. Very highly recommended. Also, Sting Ray city and Shirley Heights are a must. BRING EXTRA CASH. There are only a few cash machines on the island, and taxi fare isn't cheap. Horseback riding at SpringHill Riding club was a blast too. You get to bring the horses into the ocean wearing your swimsuit. All in all, we had an incredible vacation. Be sure to ask Miss Andra for one of her incredible chocolate martini's.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 13, 2017 by sherrie, Hotel Management
Thanks Linzee for your feedback - great suggestions for future guest