Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Friendly staff

Posted Feb 6, 2016
The staff here makes you feel so welcome. There is plenty to do at the resort as well as nearby, with a beach on the Atlantic and one on the bay. For those on the all inclusive package, the buffets at Docksider offer lots of relatively decent food, but we found the ala carte menu at the Rainbow was generally better quality. For a lighter choice, there is Coco's or the beach grill. And Picolo Mondo is definitely worth the surcharge, especially if you want lobster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Long Island

Last minute getaway

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The setting was amazing as were the people. Everyone seems genuinely interested and invested in you as a guest. All-inclusive is the way to go.
Cons: The food, if you're a picky eater, is a little tough. However, once you get your routine down it's fine. Availability of snacks would be a nice add.
Location: St. Jame's Club is pretty remote, about 40mins from the airport. Definitely go to South Point marina and take the shuttle to St. John's for 3hrs.
My boyfriend and I were forced to miss our planned vacation due to a major snowstorm in NY so we chose to go to St. James in Antigua as soon as the airports opened back up. The staff was beyond nice and we joked that we felt like we were in modern day Dirty Dancing. They seemed to take a real interest in us, remembered the particulars of prior conversations, and were just overall genuine people. Diana at Guest Services suggested and made reservations at South Point in English Harbour for our Anniversary dinner and made sure the staff at that particular restaurant knew it was a special day(the wait staff all wished us a Happy Anniversary and prepared a surprise dessert). Andra in the Jacaranda Bar was the sweetest happiest person, Andre at Coco's was welcoming and personable, and Tryphina in the Rainbow Garden was the first friendly warm person we met on day 1 who never forgot to ask us about our plans each day and made suggestions. The grounds were beautiful (you're in paradise!) and you really want for nothing. The food is OK, not spectacular, though breakfast buffet is great and we highly recommend dinner at the Rainbow Garden, lunch at Coco's (pizza and burgers were great), and dinner one night at Piccolo's (this restaurant is outside of the all-inclusive but is only a flat $40 a person). Be sure to book a massage at the Tranquility Spa and ask for the outdoor room overlooking the bay. We will 100% plan to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon, IL

Great hotel on the beach,

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Pros: Recently renovated, easy access to the restaurants and the beach, Friendly staff, concierge was excellent, Water sports on site,
Location: Location is great for a quiet vacation, There is a wide variety of excursions available for sight seeing, water excursions, snorkeling, and sailing
The resort complex is about 30 minutes from the airport, quiet, and comfortable, The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms were spacious and clean. Meal in the all inclusive plan were restaurant quality, this will be my first vacation where I actually gained weight. You have choice of two beaches, one on the bay side which is calm the other on the Atlantic side which is rougher, but rather nice. There is enough activities at this resort for all ages and entire family, You will not be disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The view from our beach front room was very Nice

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: The restaurants were very good. The all inclusive drinks and dining made it even better. We love the nightly entertainment.
Cons: The rooms and linen should be better inspected before placing guest into the rooms
Location: The location is about 30 minutes from the airport. There are a few things right on the premises. A must do, kayaking and sailing on a catamaran
A major take away from our experience from our stay was the roaches in our room. It was so bad, especially around the wet bar and in the bathroom. They changed our room for the duration of our stay and laundered our clothing. The room that we moved to was a little smaller and the view was no longer an on the beach view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbridge, CA

Villa for the family in Antigua

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, food, the ping pong table and the pool areas, tennis courts, spa, taxi service convenience, beaches, proximity to other locales.
Cons: Gym equipment, update the villas, cleanliness of the floors in rooms.
Location: Tucked away in a private bay, but close to other bays and English Harbour. Snorkeling and water activities close by. Swim with the sting rays.
We loved our visit in Antigua. The locals were friendly and generous. This resort is very nice in all aspects except the villa unit that we were assigned to was in a terribly run-down condition. The front door was weathered and actually had a hole in it that insects could get through. The floors were always dirty (we always wore shoes). The kitchen was outdated and had permanent stains on the countertops. The sliding glass doors and their screens would not slide in their tracks (two didn't work at all and the other two took great effort and were noisy). I actually snapped a nail trying to open the door one day. The furnishings were old and tired. And the villa we were assigned to was at the far edge of the property that required quite an uphill hike to most of the facilities. I would NOT recommend staying in a villa. The other regular hotels rooms looked as if they were maintained much better. The restaurants were clean and had very good food. We loved the staff! We got to know them quite well. The tennis courts were brand new and had beautiful lighting for playing at night. The pool areas and the ocean front beaches were nicely maintained. They were struggling with an invasive species of seaweed, but diligently raked the beaches and hauled it away daily. They have their own desalination plant and the water was great right out of the tap! The spa was very nice. The Guest Services staff were helpful. The gym had old and broken equipment. A good gym is essential!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Quebec

Good mix of activities and tranquility

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Variety in pools, restaurants, water sports. Great tennis courts. Dive centre right there.
Cons: Should offer basic wifi in rooms for free, enough for emails and general browsing. Shampoo and soap is motel quality. $15 to go snorkel.
Location: Somewhat isolated. Expensive to get to another part of the island (about $70US return) by taxi.
My 10 year old son and I just came back from 8 days at SJC. It was a very peaceful resort. No need for wristbands, towel cards, and with wifi on the beach. Lots of chairs on the beaches and equipment at the water sports area. Golf cart serves drinks thrice a day at your chair at the beach. Lead to a very relaxed atmosphere. Tennis courts were very nice and easy to book. Staff was friendly. Taxis too. Dive centre right there and boat leaves direct from dock. For the price though, might have been a little expensive for what it was.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Couldn't wait to get home.

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: The included kayaks were nice. The public wifi worked well.
Cons: Staff seems generally miserable and indifferent to requests. Being separated from our luggage for the strangely disorganized check in process is odd.
Location: You are VERY VERY secluded and a cab ride will cost you at minimum $20 each way for anything. Nothing adjacent to the resort.
Long week of very poorly working AC which the staff cared nothing about. Sleeping in 76-78 degree room with high humidity. Poor food quality (overcooked or greasy). You couldn't even get a refill on water 90%of the time and the other 10% staff seemed miserable and refused to even make eye contact. The housekeeping staff leaves the rooms wide open for extended periods of time and are oblivious to people coming in and out. The front desk made us forward our email confirmation to them and therefor our entire trip details despite being presented with ID and a credit card. The beach is generally well maintained but as you explore the grounds you find piles of trash among bushes and paint poured over plants off to the edges of the resort near the water. The room is comparable to any $70/night hotel in the states at best with dirty/sticky tile floors. By day three we really felt as if we'd done everything the resort had to offer...At least twice. I guess if you just want to lay on a beach all day this is a fine place. On this vacation I encountered consistently rude people, both staff and clientele. I'm not sure where all the five star reviews come from, maybe people refusing to accept they spent way too much money on a poor vacation experience?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2015
Amazing place. Friendliest staff I've ever experienced. Gorgeous place. The food was amazing. Quiet place as well. We loved it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire, UK

Paradise

Posted Dec 9, 2015
Pros: Spacious rooms, staff and on site beaches.
Cons: Can't think of anything. If there were problems they were quickly resolved.
Location: In a quiet part of Antigua - Nelson's Dockyard, Shirley Heights, interesting churches and lots of view points.
We loved St James Club - staff were really helpful and friendly. The facilities were amazing - we thought the beaches were excellent - there were always sun loungers available on whichever beach we chose. The meals were delicious - buffet and a la carte. Breakfast was plentiful and lunches offered a great choice. The rooms were spacious, clean and air conditioned with lovely balconies to relax. Afternoon tea was a nice touch. It was great to be able to rent a car on site and when we reluctantly had to leave there was a taxi available within minutes. There were good historic sights within easy reach and we also enjoyed a hike up Signal Hill through the rainforest, with an excellent guide.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole UK

beach relaxing after 1 week in BVI

Posted Dec 2, 2015
Pros: Beach side amenities were excellent, rooms were clean and spacious, food was generally very good.
Cons: We would have enjoyed more Caribbean recipes, unfortunately the dive club was closed.
Location: Perfect location for visiting english Harbour and Shirley heights. 3 days was enough for us, as we aren't beach holiday people.
6 friends enjoyed a short stay at the end of a sailing holiday. Great place to relax, have someone else cook for you and enjoy beach side. The water sport kit was in good condition, the beach crew very helpful. Our rooms were beach front, well located for all amenities. Best of all, when our flight was cancelled at the last minute, there was no drama. We were kept informed (Easy to find out as the crew were staying here as well,,) the all inclusive continued and we were soon allocated rooms.