Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

For the money, by far the best deal!

Posted Sep 22, 2017
My husband and I stayed at the Bluenose Inn while in Bar Harbor recently and were very pleased with our stay. The only reason I gave it a 4 overall (since I couldn't give it a 4.5) is because the decor just needed a little updating. Other than that, it got a 5! Our 3rd floor room in the main hotel was beautiful and after going to the 4th floor to compare the view, our view was wonderful for the value. While the complimentary breakfast was fairly standard, it was still delicious and Daisy, the young woman who helped out, was sweet and gave us excellent advice on what to see and where to eat in Bar Harbor and Acadia. We would most definitely recommend the Bluenose to friends!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overall is good, but water-view is blocked.

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The front desk was very friendly. We asked if there was a water-view because that was the reason we booked this hotel. We were told there was a view. Indeed, we had a road-view, not a water-view. The water-view was blocked by the tall trees across the Route 3, unlike what we saw in the website. Also, the breakfast area was small, people sit outside or brought food back to the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ormond Beach, FL

Wonderful

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Staff, dining, and view.
Cons: Beds could and should be updated because everything else is wonderful.
Location: Sailing, hiking, and kayaking.
Warm and wonderful. Staff was exceptional. View was to die for. Dining at the Looking Glass was very very nice. Indoor and outdoor pools with hot tub was an unexpected delightful surprise.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel except rock hard mattresses.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Lounge, Spa/Pool/Steam. most of staff except Manager
Cons: Need to change mattresses - way too hard and I like a firm mattress.
The hotel facilities (Lounge, Spa were great) the one thing that needs addressing are rock hard mattresses. Reported to Manager she was not too concern - think she thought we were trying to get a post-stay discount - not the case.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Horriible Mattresses

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Bad aches from old mattresses Wallpaper pealing in bathroom Tired Room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Beautiful hotel with a beautiful view!

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Location: A short drive from the heart of downtown Bar Harbor.
Photographed sunrise from our balcony. Hugh room with lovely appointments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Immaculate hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
The Bluenose is an immaculately clean hotel and within walking distance to downtown Bar Harbor. (There is a sidewalk the entire way) We were on the top floor and had fabulous views from our balcony. In the evening, Bill Trowel (piano man) plays in the great room. We relaxed with a glass of wine (bar is also in the great room) listened to him play and it was a great way to wind down after a day of hiking in the park. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a place to stay in Bar Harbor. I can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Beautiful hotel overlooking the water

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The location was great. Not in the bustling downtown, but just outside, so it was quiet. The room was clean and spacious, and the decor appealing.
Location: It was a few minutes from downtown where shops of all kinds are sure to please. Great restaurants & delicious seafood.
The hotel was clean and nicely decorated. Our room was spacious with a wall of glass overlooking the water. We had a balcony where we could sit outside and watch the boats. There is a beautiful great room where guests can have a drink and listen to a pianist in the evenings. It was beautiful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Think it is a bit over priced.

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Nice, over priced. Door does not close easily. Breakfast was ok. Think it could have been better. Room was clean and enjoyed over all. Back rooms have a shared walkway, so everyone walks in front of your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Wen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your comment. Bluenose Inn is nice and quite place to stay, our price varies to the type of room and depending on what days. We are so glad to hear that you enjoy your stay and appreciate the cleanliness of our room. For future reservation, Please call the hotel for prices option. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Long Island, New York

Incredible view for a very reasonable price!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
The Bluenose Inn is amazing. While it is walking distance to the downtown area, I took my car downtown and found parking relatively easily, but I also did visit in September after Labor Day. The hotel was SO clean and the room was incredible. We were on the second floor in their main building and the room had an amazing view of Frenchman Bay. The bathroom was huge with 2 sinks and a bathtub. Everything about my stay was great, 10/10 would recommend!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Wen, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your time taking this review. I am so glad to hear your comments. Our goal is to make you happy by offering quality amenities and facilities and great customer service. Please let us know for your next visit!