Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from raleigh

Relaxing Vacation

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The food was good and the staff was nice. Also, the AC was strong and the rooms were a good size.
Cons: The bed is firm and after a few nights become uncomfortable. Also, the beach has allot of seaweed so you can't swim.
Location: The location is close to St. Lawrence gap which has restaurants and music.
My wife and I spent a week at Turtle Beach for our anniversary. The food, service and entertainment was great. The people were friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Turtle Beach Barbados Review

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: Friendly helpful staff and fantastic cocktails. The amenities team were very helpful.
Location: Swimming with Turtles with "Cool Runnings" was excellent. Disappointed with Bridgetown - don't bother going shopping unless you want to buy jewellery.
We had an enjoyable week at Turtle Beach. The food was fine, the cocktails were fabulous and the staff were very helpful. The whole hotel is a bit tired though. The beach is not very wide and they are currently suffering from a seaweed problem (across the whole of the south coast of Barbados I believe). There were plenty of sun loungers available on the beach and around the pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Lovely and happy experience

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Pros: The choice of food and drink was excellent, it was high quality, tasty and all fresh. The room was tidy and had a lovely view.
Cons: The wifi is appalling. No air conditioned lounge of any kind, had to go to room to escape heat. A la carte restaurants not open 7 days per week.
Location: Not within walking distance of Bridgetown or the nice beaches, recommend rent car. Beach is on south coast so sea is murky & strong waves.
Good Hotel, Great food at the buffet and a la carte restaurants. Most of the pool and garden view rooms are facing the area where the nightly entertainment takes place and it is quite loud, however we highly recommend the ocean view room. The staff gave attention to detail, for example it was my birthday whilst I was staying here and they made a lovely handmade card signed by many staff and made a personalized cupcake for breakfast. The hotel doesn't look as sharp and dazzling as the professional pictures make out but it is beautiful none the less. All of the drinks and cocktails are served to bajan strength! You'll only need a few! There are quite a lot of kids around, and although there are designated kids pools, they go everywhere so it may not be an ideal choice for couples that want the peace and quiet as we were hoping for.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Wonderful peaceful hotel beach lots of sea Mos

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Hotel staff was great food was the best I ever eat on a vacation wish I could take the chief with me the beach water on the ground was brown because of all the sea water was very disappointed with that had to find another beach not to for but it turned out to be fun accrue beach lovely place looking forward to my next vacation at turtle beach thanks a million
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Amazing overall experience, very spotty wi-fi

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Staff, food, live entertainment (Virgo)
Cons: Wi-fi speeds and connectivity. The beach (those looking for the perfect beach should seek out resorts on the west coast, where the seas are very calm)
Location: Within walking distance to the bus stop (for $1 USD ride into Bridgetown), and 5 minute walk to Dover Beach and the St. Lawrence Gap.
This was my first time travelling to the Caribbean, and it was absolutely fantastic. Turtle Beach has extremely friendly staff who are prepared to answer any questions you may have about the resort and Barbados in general. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and the food is awesome. There is live entertainment every night after dinner, with the ladies band Virgo being my party's favourite. Beware however, that the beach is not what you would expect. The waves are huge everyday (swimming actually prohibited on most days with the flying of a red flag), meaning all swimming is largely restricted to the seaside pools. Since the waves kick up lots of sand, you don't even get to see the picturesque Caribbean beach with crystal clear waters. Wi-fi was the other major issue with Turtle Beach. There is functional coverage in only a small part of the dining hall (Chelonnia Restaurant) and by some of the pools. It is non-existent in most parts, and slowed to a crawl in my room (I'm talking 12kb/s slow, folks! Text only! No sending of pictures!). Overall, those frustrations can be withstood for the short period of my stay because the experience was, again, fantastic. The staff at Turtle Beach have seemingly limitless patience, and are always ready to make you feel like a VIP. They noticed it was my mother's birthday (from looking at her passport during check in), and sent a personalized cake and card to our room! I highly recommend Turtle Beach to prospective travellers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth mass

Awesome oceanfront property

Posted May 21, 2015
Great experience and a clean, comfortable, excellent oceanfront location. Staff's efforts are very much directed toward your comfort any time of day. Food was terrific, whether in the reservation only restaurant, or the nightly dinners, or the buffets.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Guelph, Ontario

Excellent Hotel .

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff , good food great beach , loved the waves
Location: Tour of the Island was great .
Our stay for 7 days at Turtle Beach Resort was fantastic. Great service, you have the option of staying at the pool or walk 50 feet and you are on the beach. Friendly staff at all levels and food was amazing.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great position, a little dated.

Posted May 8, 2015
Pros: Beach staff really friendly compared to the majority of serving staff, position and outlook of hotel.
Cons: Staff - not very attentive. Food was average. Hotel room needed updating.The cost of a transfer organised through the hotel is 65usd, a taxi 15usd.
Location: Close to the airport - Lawrence Gap nearby otherwise tour/hire car/taxi required to explore the island.
We went to celebrate our friends wedding which was run extremely well with the food being excellent. We loved the location and beach although you have to be a strong swimmer to go in the surf as it is generally very rough. We found the hotel room outdated with annoying faults, leaking shower, no hot water sometimes, no accessible power points - our friends who had the same room description had a much bigger room with walk in wardrobe etc. The most disappointing thing was the attitude of staff, very blunt and not at all attentive. One exception was the pool staff and Captain Sam, Ricki etc that manned the beach hut - all of them were great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2015
Fabulous staff, excellent food and drinks and a great atmosphere. We'll be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from

Excellent hotel and wonderful staff

Posted May 2, 2015
This is a first class hotel which exceeded our expectations. The hotel staff were outstanding and really went the extra mile to make sure our holiday was just perfect. The food was excellent and the nightly entertainment was very good, all set in a clean, peaceful and beautiful beach side location.