Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Nigel

Great Location, good value, decor a little tired.

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was good value for money. It is in a great location in the centre of Beaugency, close to lovely restaurants, interesting historical places and the Loire river. The hotel made us feel welcome and was clean but the decor is tired and in need of improvement.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Wotif
Great value for money hotel. Friendly and helpful manager, comfortable, clean room with character. Close walk to lovely restaurants in a beautiful town. We only had one night here but wished we had longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming Hotel right near the castle

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
The proprietors of this this charming hotel are a very sweet French couple who take the comfort of their guests as their first priority. Their English is limited and our French equally limited, but we managed to communicate and even had some delightful conversations about local history and our travels on the Loire. The breakfast for an additional 9.50 Euros was well worth the cost; with plentiful bread, cheese, meat, pastries, fruit, yogurt, and cereal, as well as help-yourself coffee and tea, in a lovely setting. The castle museum and an ancient Romanesque tower (once assaulted by the forces of Joan of Arc) are literally right outside the door. Medieval town, fine restaurants, and amazing cathedrals all in walking distance. Beautiful river park and stunning photography opportunities. We loved our stay. The price is very affordable and we really hated to leave.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Value Budget Hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
This is definitely a budget hotel. Small room, nothing fancy, surprisingly decent-feeling mattress and acceptably clean. The gentleman who seems to run the place (he was there at check-in) was very friendly. His English was very spotty though. This town is not nearly as lovely as points further West in Loire, but we needed a place further East so we could drop off our rental in Paris the next morning with a shorter drive. That said, this hotel was right in the middle of the town, so very convenient if this is the town you want to see. They say there is parking. And technically, there is. The manager gladly showed us his garage that could fit a few cars, if we wanted. We didn't even bother because all the street parking within a few blocks of the hotel is unrestricted. Perhaps this could be more of a problem in peak tourist season. We were there in early April. All in all, a good bargain that meets basic accommodation needs. And the wifi worked!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Humble and sweet.

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Conveniently located, good value for price. Cosy and warm.
5 out of 5
by S from Maidstone

Super place to stay

Posted Jun 23, 2016 on Hotels
Super people so very helpful. Printed out and map and directions to the place we were going to, without being asked. At breakfast I asked where to buy some batteries,but I was told that the shop wouldn't be open until 9am ,we wanted to be away by 8 am.Before we had finished breakfast they had been out and bought some batteries and put them on the table for me.Nothing seemed to be too much trouble to make sure the guests had a good time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but older hotel.

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Very friendly owners but only spoke french. Luckily my travel companion could translate. Not a modern hotel but clean and a decent price.
4 out of 5
by Oluyomi from Accra, Ghana

Lovely place to stay, lovely couple to stay with.

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
The properitor and his miss were very helpful and generous with time, advice and smiles.
4 out of 5
by KRZYSZTOF from Nanoose Bay

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here for two nights while cycling along the Loire. One night more than planned because of heavy rain. This is an old style mom and pop hotel where everything is clean and functioning and you can tell there is a pride of ownership. The rooms are a bit small but not unlike other French hotels. Excellent internet connection and very helpful courteous owners. Secure storage for bikes was provided. Right in the center of old Beaugency.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new Zealand

Small auberge hotel with limited parking.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: Friendly reception/owner and location good to visit the village on foot. Lots of dining options nearby.
Cons: Difficult to make small rooms bigger in an old building on the street. Cannot see how this can be improved.
Location: Walking along the Loire, cycling, visiting the old village and many chateaux by car.
The owner was helpful and did the best he could but our late booking tiny attic room a bit small for comfort. Bed not large either. Ok for one night. Lovely old village to visit.