Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simply to far from transport

Posted May 25, 2016
To get there is horrid - many taxis simply won't go there. To find it initially on your own would be almost impossible . Whilst cheaper than the the more central hotels you can spend the balance on taxis and train fairs unless you are prepared to walk about 3 km each way each day to the train
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

No air vent in the bathroom/shower

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Pros: The staff, very friendly.
Cons: Air vent in the bathroom.
Location: Just walk around and feel what it is like living in a hutong!
I am sensitive to smell. I had a hard time with the odor from the drain (which happens A LOT in China when the drain pipe lacks the "S" shape to prevent gas escaping from the waste pipe). And, the direction was not good for a taxi driver to reach the hotel. I also failed to get a taxi to come to the hotel when I wanted to leave. Luckily, my luggage had 8 wheels!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude unhelpful staff, no English as advertised

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Hotel in a great area but other than that terrible. Rooms dirty, drains blocked in shower. Staff were no help, spoke selective English. Could speak English to sell you crappy tours but not to help you with directions or anything else. Seemed to be many family members staying in "hotel". It was more like a bed and breakfast, except no breakfast (not even coffee or a kettle to use) worse beds in China and staff made you feel like an unwanted house guest. People drinking in courtyard until late making sleeping hard if you have early starts. There is Downtown Backpackers up the road, we went there for help with tours and directions. They were very helpful even though we were not guests. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. You can do so much better for the price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Convenient to subway

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Although the hotel was "purpose built," it gives a good idea of what life in the hutongs must be like.
Cons: Note: no food is available on site.
Location: Good restaurants.
This was my second stay here this month, for 1 night on the way home. As previously, everything was great. As mentioned by others, the bed was hard, but that's the norm for China.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

An fascinating place to stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Almost authentic period style.
Cons: A good map to the location; it's not easy to find until you know how.
Location: 10 minute walk to Guloudajie subway station on L2 (easier than Andingmen).& a 20 RMB pedicab back to the CityCourt. Local style restaurants nearby
A real experience. The CityCourt hotel is in the middle of a Hutong and is in the style of the courtyard homes, with individual rooms opening onto a central yard, equipped with swings and tables. Some of the staff speak English and are happy to arrange tours, etc.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good Hutong Experience

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Location: NLGX and the drum tower is near by. station is also close by. good location
Hotel staff were very nice. I needed to checkout at 5am in the morning and get a cab to the hotel, which was absolutely no problem at all. The first time getting to the hotel will be difficult. the location on expedia is not correct! recommend taking a cab. Other than that, great location and the room is great. a real Chinese experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff don't have a clue

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Great location, beautiful courtyard setting close to sightseeing. Couple of good restaurants in the area. Beds were terribly uncomfortable and we paid for a "double room" which clearly states "double bed" on Expedia. Incredibly misleading advertisement. After confronting the staff we were just shrugged off with "we gave you a room upgrade"...we were actually given a room with two single beds and I was travelling with my partner so obviously unhappy with this. We had a lot of luggage so we asked the staff to call us a taxi to the train station, said it was no problem. Then the day after a different girl said they couldn't do that but they would help us with their electric rickshaw to the main road so we could get a taxi. They said to leave and get food and come back by 6:30 pm (our train wasn't until 9 but Beijing traffic and the station are crazy). Turns out they just wanted us to disappear so they could have their dinner because when we arrived back assuming we were getting help to the main road, they completely ignored us and just told us to "go to the main road". Then begun the struggle to drag 3 heavy suitcases and camping bags to the road which is not a short distance, leading us to almost miss our train. Lack of communication between staff, false advertisement and very unhelpful staff. Would NEVER stay here again and do not recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isidro from San Francisco

Real asian experience

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Excellent experience with staff extremely helpful don't hesitate to ask they would do anything to make you fell like in home remember Chinese experience comes with hard beds (western beds are mostly soft).
3 out of 5
by Allie from Yueqing, China

Traditional Hotel on Hutong

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Cons: Cleanliness, Shower right beside the toilet, beds are rock hard, came back with red bumps all over my face from bedding.
Location: It is not as central as advertised, but is in a very interesting part of Beijing with the Bell Tower very near.
The hotel is on a traditional Hutong (Western world would classify as an alley way) and is very difficult to find. For your first time in Beijing I would not recommend. Local taxis do not know where the hotel is located and can make it very difficult the first couple times when you were trying to navigate your way back. It is an amazing cultural experience, if that is what you are looking for. Great wifi connection as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2014