Ratings based on 346 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Fanstastic view, old facilities

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: View of the Forbidden City.
Cons: The hotel is old and smells bad
Location: The best of Beijing ( FB and TS)
I have been staying at this hotel on several occasions. The higher floors ( 8 and 9) offer a great view of the Forbidden City and this is the only place that you can see the sun setting over FC and T Square. The hotel is dated and needs a huge lifting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dhaka, Bangladesh

Great location.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Most of the staffs can't talk in English. Breakfast is so expensive. I went to receipts toon to change my dollar but they didn't have cash :-). Very funny. Location is very good and clean hotel.
5 out of 5
by eunhee from jeju


Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
숙박비 대비 만족도 높음
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Ontario

Beware of a few issues

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Room was spacious and near attractions. Grand atrium.
Cons: Room needed refurbishment.
Location: Central to Tian'anmen square, Imperial Palace and near Wangfujing street.
Hotel is close to Tian'anmen square and Imperial Palace. Hallways smelled of smoke and room smelled a little musty. Bathroom had some water and mold damage visible. Beware of the buffet breakfast - my wife got food poisoning from it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gainesville, FL

Close to many things!

Posted Jul 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Other than being initially placed in a smoking room (which was immediately corrected), our experience was great. This hotel is a short walk from the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, shopping, restaurants, and the subway line.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Sehr zental zu wichtigen Sehenswürdigkeiten geleg

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Das Hotel ist nur wenige Gehminuten von der verbotenen Stadt beziehungsweise dem größten Einkaufszentrum Pekings gelegen. Die Bahn ist ebenfalls in wenigen Minuten zu erreichen.
5 out of 5
by Nina

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice front desk people, good English speaking in hotel. Room service is accommodating for what we need as we were sick during the trip
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel next to the forbidden city

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere, decor and service were great. The only reason why I didn't rate it excellent overall is the overpriced menu and services.
Cons: Our room rate was reasonable but everything else seemed overpriced- we paid more for a pot of coffee than for a nice copious dinner with beer nearby.
Location: the hotel is located next to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen square - it is within walking distance of Wangfujing street, a great place at night.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the grand hotel, our room was spacious. clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: the Chinese design, furnishings, location, and amenities in the room.
Cons: transportation; concierge service (e.g., staff learn how to remember guest's first name or last name and address them respectfully).
Location: Nice location but it seemed to become a disadvantage now due to the government's traffic control.
this time my experience was much better than last time: the facilities seemed to look better; the staff members were nicer. The only issue I had seemed to be transportation due to the traffic control along Changan Street - I would suggest the management team of the hotel do something to enhance it.
2 out of 5
by Traveler from Seoul

terrible maintenance and service

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Extremely disappointed. The lobby was maintained nicely and there were beautiful pieces of artwork displayed throughout the main hotel areas, but that's where the good review stops. The hotel room hallways stank of stale cigarette smoke as did our room. The carpets, glass windows, elevator handrails, and even the walls were filthy with dirt or handprints (accordingly). The room hadn't been vacuumed and even though I'd called ahead to inform them of our late check-in time, the room was not prepared. The front desk staff didn't even greet us upon our arrival and made it seem like we were inconveniencing them by checking in to the hotel. The location was convenient enough for our trip itenerary, but unfortunately construction on the side of the building was noisy throughout the night and inhibited pedestrian traffic. The day time concierge was attentive and helpful and assisted us with booking a tour and with finding an ATM nearby (at the Bank of China). Overall, the stay was very unpleasant. The central air duct was large enough for a grown man to climb in and we could see the lights of an adjoining room through the duct. It didn't feel safe or secure to leave any of our belongings in the room. Hand and face grease prints all over the window in our room obstructed the fairly boring view of the side street. We were never informed about meal times or locations, so we never got a chance to try it. The wifi was so slow I never once got a page to load.