Ratings based on 598 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor customer service

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Customer service. They need training on how to talk & deal with customer. No empathy seen after telling them their products were expired . POor custom
Location: Will never recommend.
7 ( 5 from California & 2 from NY ) checked in between 6-7pm on Oct. 5 Thurs. 2 of your staff was at the counter & was 1. Not friendly & helpful at all 2. Very poor communication skills 3. Was only told no breakfast ( as stated in confirmation ) when asked. Was given 10 dollars voucher per couple to buy food from their small store attached to check in counter 4. Decided to use breakfast voucher and found boiled eggs were expired since Sept. 18, 2017. Told the 2 people at the counter & was not even surprised. No apology was given at all. So disappointed knowing that we've been in the Mt. Washington hotel every year & very happy with the service. Took our chances to book the lodge being a branch of the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rye-new hampshire

lovely view

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: View from the window
Cons: Offering breakfast again
Location: Hiking at Crawford Notch
No problems. Stayed two years in a row Missed having breakfast there like last year,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Laguna Hills, CA

The Lodge at Brettonwood

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Our hotel stay is supposed to includes free breakfast but when we check in there is no breakfast but offered us a $10.00 voucher for each one. There is a little store inside the facility. The items to buy are expensive and turns out the cooked boiled egg the Hotel store is selling is 7 days expired. The sliding back door wont lock. The lady receptionist who checked us out is very nice and commend her professionalism.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Great Location, But Disappointing Features

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Pros: The view and location were great.
Cons: Don't make offers that you do not keep. A bus tour was in the resort at the same time as we were. They were given nice thermal bags with hot food.
Location: Wonderful location with an amazing assortment of activities!
We arrived at the Lodge which is located on a huge resort. We weren't expecting the venue; however, that did afford benefits such as a free shuttle. If we had not just been passing through, it would have been a great feature in an amazingly diverse resort area. The negatives were rather overwhelming for us. I had booked at the lodge because of it's location and it offered a complimentary breakfast. When we arrived we learned that the breakfast was no longer being offered. As a replacement we were given each a $10 coupon to spend for "junk" food in their little over priced store. Breakfast the next day was yogurt and a frozen breakfast sandwich which we heated up in the microwave. When you are on a long road trip, it simply caused a bumpy end to a long day. The Staff did their best to sooth the situation; however, it definitely caused some unhappiness. We did have dinner in their casual restaurant down the road which was quite good. The Hotel on the resort looked beautiful and would be a great weekend get away for family living in the NE.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dover NH

Just ok hotel not good for $265/night

Posted Oct 6, 2017
Bad experience in general... to expensive for what we got ($265/ night) Dusty room , soft bed , from desk people were limit dum ( to young with no experience at all ) Not courteous. Not knowledgeable. You need to know a little bit what going on in the area where you are, specially when it’s a very touristy area...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake district UK

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Cons: All the above
Location: Very little apart from The cog railway and Conway scenic railway both to be recommeneded
The biggest disappointment of 3 weeks holiday in USA. Dark dismal and extremely basic. Very over priced. Although given vouches in lieu of breakfast booked there was very little to choose in the shop for a healthy breakfast. We did buy cereals milk and bagel but had to ask every morning for bowl,plate and cutlery. Then were charged 59 dollars a day for free coffee( between us 4 daily) and one shuttle trip to a hotel guided tour by a pleasant enough girl but very new to the job twho to most questions could only suggest we ask elsewhere. The housekeepers were pleasant and worked hard. The reception staff were variable. In British slang it would be termed " Arip off " I have the impression the management are planning to cease trading at The Lodge and concentrate on the main hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Landenberg PA

Not what I expected

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Overall not bad but it was not what I expected they drop the breakfast didn't like that gave us vouchers still didn't do enough and just wasn't happy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The negative about the lodge was the sound proofing was bad between floors. I would recommend you should get a room on the second floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gatineau, QC

Affordable and close to Mount Washington

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Location is great.
Cons: Breakfeast was good but more items could be offered (e.g. oatmeal, eggs,....)
Location: The cograil to climb Mount Washington is a bit expensive but it worth it.
We stayed at this hotel on our last stop of our 5-day trip in New England. We were looking for an affordable, comfortable and quiet room : it is what we got.
3 out of 5
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels