Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Nice place to stay, friend staff, a place to go to enjoy Tobago
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Nice and cheap hotel in the Buccoo area

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: I loved the room - very big, spacious and vividly decorated.
Cons: I would recommend installing some shelves or cupboards to put your things in. Brandon mentioned they were being built. Also regular cleaning.
Location: The location is close to the junction with Mt Irvine and it has a supermarket and a few local shops around the corner. Sunday School Dance is nearby.
If you are looking for a quiet retreat, out of the way, in the fishing village of Buccoo in Tobago, look no further. The rooms are big and air conditioned, the bed is comfy and the bathroom filled with toiletries and towels. The terrace is spacey and you can sit and chill in the breeze. The house is ran by Brandon - the owner - and you can decide if you wish to do additional trips during your stay to the rainforest or fishing. There is internet in the guesthouse but it's not free (about 100TT USD = $15) and you have to pay an additional charge if you have a laptop (which I did). There is also a refundable key deposit of $15 which you get back on checkout.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

No loitering after check out!

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: +close to 2 isolated beaches +no one around so quiet +transportation is accessible from airport and ferry +restos, supermarkets around (limited)
Cons: -The seating area outside could be better and more organized. -better management (response via email, the manner of talking to guests).
Location: Isolated place, 10 min from beach, 2 supermarkets, handful of restaurants, 2 bars, one nightlife on Sunday, 15min car ride from main tourist area
Stayed May 5-8, 2016. Overall, place is good in terms of cost performance. Great for couples who want to do their own thing, enjoy the quiet beaches, limited nightlife, self cater and cook (there is a kitchen). Buccoo is a quiet fishing village other than Sunday nights when they host special events by the harbour. Owner (Brandon) can be moody at times. Sometimes, not so professional and could be a hypocrite. Avoiding him is the best. I was advised that checkout was at 10am and of course, I respected that and was getting ready since 9am. I get a knock at 9:40am that the cleaner is coming at 10am (no cleaner ever showed up. I think he was cleaning himself at some point) and I need to get out. Well, it was nice of him to let me know, but the way he returned my deposit and the intention of checking if "I was awake and getting out on time?" was clearly obvious. I left the room exactly at 10am. I wanted to leave my bag there, since ferry ride at 5pm. Brandon tells me no and points to the no loitering sign. Meanwhile, another guy leaves the bag and goes out for the day. Tries to give me a lesson that guests upon checkout should not be loitering in his property. Hm, is that how you treat your guest that just stayed there? I managed to eat my breakfast and left the compound at 11am. There is hardly anyone staying at the place to begin with. +did offer free cooked fish the first night. nice of him. +can suggest things -charges for wifi (some people paid and some did not)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, UK

A niche venue for the traveller

Posted Apr 2, 2016
Despite problems with our booking Brandon was able to accommodate us in better rooms at a very reasonable price. We were made most welcome. The staff were very helpful and a rapport was soon established with them and the other guests. The garden is home to many birds and they are further encouraged by the fruits put out of a morning. My wife and I are in our early seventies but accustomed to staying in places off of the tourist track. Do not go to Fish Tobago if you are expecting a traditional, pool side holiday. But for a bargain stay as a base to view the rest of the island then Fish Tobago is ideal. We would certainly consider returning at a future date.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Location: A quick walk will take you to Buccoo beach, supermarkets, other stores, restaurants, and the Sunday School party on Sunday night.
Great place to stay! It has a very social atmosphere, and the owner (Brandon) is extremely nice, helpful and very hospitable. He even had a friend of his who is a great local chef cook us dinner one night. I will definitely come again.
5 out of 5
by Judy Redekopp from Canada

family atmosphere

Posted May 4, 2013 on Hotels
we found our stay at Fish Tobago very pleasant, Brandon makes you feel like family, sharing his catch of the day with his guests by preparing a fish BBQ with the help of his partner for all to share. I would recommend to all.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 17, 2013 by FishTobago, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your great review. At Fish Tobago Guesthouse we always do our best to provide a friendly and hospitable atmosphere for our guests, and we happily share the catch of the day with all the guests at the guesthouse.
4 out of 5
by s from tobago

close to a must-see sight

Posted Apr 29, 2013 on Hotels
it is located close to Mt. Irvine beach, about a 15 minute walk.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2013 by FishTobago, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Fish Tobago Guesthouse is located in the village Buccoo on the Caribbean coast close to Buccoo Reef, Nylon Pool, the Sandbank, Pigeon Point and Mt. Irvine beach. Buccoo Beach and Grange Bay you'll find only a 5 minutes walk away from the guesthouse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a couple friendly guest house

Posted Jan 2, 2013
This guesthouse is more suitable for single travellers and or backpackers. The hotel is about 30 mins from the airport. The rooms are being remodelled and are nice and clean but the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything next door. There is a nice beach about a 15 min walk and is usually secluded but have terrible sand fleas. The guesthouse owner likes to set all the tours and meals but is quite pushy if you want to do other tours with our companies. If you are looking for a cheap place that is relatively nice and you want everything planned for you including meals and transportation this is the place for you. If you are looking for an area with a bit more nightlife and the liberty to go and come as you please, you may want to look for another place not in bucco reef.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2012 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brett from Australia

A very charming, relaxing guesthouse

Posted Nov 4, 2012
Pros: The location, the staff, the true feeling of getting away!
Cons: One of the rooms can be quite stuffy because it only has a small window, but there is a fan and a/c so you should be ok.
Location: Set in the suburb of Buccoo, it's only a short taxi ride from the airport or into Scarborough. There are plenty of eating options in the vicinity.
A stay at Fish Tobago Guesthouse is a treat. It's very close to the airport (only 70TTD taxi fare, if you chose to get there that way). It's also very close to what could well be the best chicken shop in Tobago. Close enough to the beach to just get away and while away some time watching the beautiful Carribean Sea.