Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corvallis, OR

Wanakena Motel - Burns Lake, BC - September 2016

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Quiet, comfortable bed, convenient parking, one story building.
Cons: The motel is adequate for basic needs.
Location: Location of motel outside the south end of town was fine. Quiet. Did not pursue other activities as we were just passing through.
Found the motel south of the south end of town. Check in was good, room adequate - comfortable bed, adequate shower, quiet, convenient parking. Not fancy, but adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A basic place to sleep, if that's all you want.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The TV didn't work, and the bathroom fixtures had not been cleaned properly. On the other hand the bed was comfortable and the room quiet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
Although the motel is older, it was quiet, clean, comfortable, and had all the amenities we needed for a pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lawrence KS

Very small room

Posted Jul 8, 2016 on Orbitz
First there wasn't an ice machine & was given small amt.in pitcher. Room was so small & had a partial kitchenette which only had a hot plate for cooking. Clothes hanger was far up the wall next to bed as there wasn't enough room anywhere else. Bed comfort was so-so. Room had a strange smell. Everything was clean. Not much choice in the area. Was only for a night. Upon ck in at 4pm the staff person said "early, couldn't travel any further " . Wish we could have!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016
The rooms are spacious with seoaration, they are also well maintained and clean, well equipped with stoves, oven, and kitchen tools. The TV works well with access to many channels. There is free wifi access, but at times, it was difficult to make the connection.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Go elsewhere

Posted Jun 23, 2016
I had a room on the backside. It's smelled really bad. And there is little to no Wi-fi over there. Had to walk around the front to pick up a signal. Owner acted like he would really rather be in a million other places.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic but friendly

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff and good size room but outdated everything (furniture, decor) and room smelly a bit stuffy. Good mattress, TV and wireless worked fine. My room had a kitchenette which was very handy. Motel was busy with construction workers. The motel is a bit out of town so there really isn't anywhere to walk to. Right now this town doesn't have many lodging options but a hotel in town is getting renovated and a new motel is being built on the west side of town.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AK

Always a Repeat Overnight Spot For Us

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: I thought the cleanliness and flooring were above average, so much so, that I took off my shoes closer to bed time. I found the rooms sound insulated.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind for me. Bed not too hard or soft... perfect for me, anyway.
Location: Nice pharmacy/misc needs store located on R on that end of town for any supplies needed. I'm sure there's more about this; ask friendly owners.
We've stayed here before, and this completes a second time, and we will be here once again before the 2016 summer ends. The proprietor family are very polite and caring, including son; they are capable inn owners, and nothing appears to be needing work. Their employee I briefly encountered was very positive and friendly. It's a great location up on a bluff with the town just below to the west. There's good parking and decent enough turn-around room for most trailers, and I found nothing missing or out of order in the room, which was a kitchenette upgrade.
1 out of 5
by Minnie

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
Room was okay but needs a lot of upgrading. Smells very, very old and musty.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lost reservation

Posted May 13, 2016
When we arrived at the hotel they said they didn't receive the reservation information from Expedia and that they didn't have room for us. We ended up driving to the other end of town to stay in a different hotel.