Ratings based on 1,288 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice hotel within walking distance of everything

Posted Oct 2, 2016
We stayed for 2 nights. Valet staff and service were prompt and professional, check-in was a breeze with very polite and knowledgeable staff. No problems with the elevators. Our rooms were nice and spacious. Overall pretty clean, although I'm not sure if they changed our sheets after the first night.. The double king rooms came with a fridge and microwave. The bed was comfy and the TV's worked fine. The fitness centre was 24hrs and decently equipped with newer treadmills and ellipticals, a couple of free weights, medicine balls, 2 benches, matts and a universal machine. Just be creative and you can get a decent workout in. Theres also a water cooler and washrooms so bring a water bottle to fill up or use the paper cups they provide. Great location to everything and they have a Starbucks and a restaurant on the main floor so if you need coffee first thing in the morning, it's pretty convenient. Would definitely recommend this hotel again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to downtown attractions

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Nice hotel. Clean rooms. Close to the People Mover to easily move around downtown.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Very Good Hotel

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: I liked how clean it was and how helpful the staff were, especially the shuttle van drivers, they were extremely friendly and very accomodating
Cons: Nothing really. It was great.
Location: Downtown Detroit is GORGEOUS. The refurbishing is on and it's a beautfil clean city. The people are so friendly and sure do love their football!!
I was really happy with my stay here. The hotel lobby was very nice, was very happy to see a Starbucks in the lobby. The staff were awesome. Very friendly in a genuine kind of way. Detroit is a clean beautiful city. The buildings, the history, the people. Two restaurants in particular, Parks & Rec - just go have breakfast there, you won't believe what your eating. The best. And Ottava Via, 1400 Michigan Avenue is ridiculously good Italian food Do the Tour De Troit next September, a 30 mile bike ride through the city, it's incredible. Visit Belle Isle, see the fountain, enjoy. The city, it's beautiful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Nice hotel in the city.

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Very nice hotel. Microwave in the room would have been great. Close to stadiums and lots of stuff to do.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Californa

Great experience

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms, staff.
Location: Check out the Eastern Market, the incredible murals on buildings, and all of the historical sights. This is a beautiful city!
Our daughter got married in Detroit and we had family arriving from across the country as well as internationally. Everyone was delighted with the hotel. The location is either within walking or a short distance to many of the things that one would like to see. The hotel restaurants were very nice and the service was friendly and efficient. Our rooms were all large, very well appointed and the beds were comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamilton, ON

Loved everything about this hotel.

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nut free cookies so some kids don't miss out.
Location: If you visit Detroit, go to Belle Isle. Lovely day wandering around and everything is free.
We were in Detroit for a few days just to experience downtown and found this hotel on Expedia. We stay in hotels all the time and this was one of the top. Clean, friendly staff, great room....fantastic hotel. The only thing I can add is that the give out cookies when you arrive and they have nuts which seems odd in this day of frequent allergies. Otherwise superb. If you are in the neighbourhood, go visit Belle Isle and eat at PJ's Lager House, a little hole in the wall worth the visit. If you like vegetarian or vegan fare, try the Detroit Vegan Soul, it was amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Good Hotel in downtown Detroit

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Walking distance to restaurants - very convenient and reasonably priced. Would stay there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay City

Worst room ever

Posted Aug 22, 2016
While the service was wonderful, the room left a lot to be desired. My family and I arrived Friday for our sightseeing trip to Detroit. When we walked into the room, we were surprised to find the door propped open by the swing lock. We though perhaps they were still cleaning, but that was not the case. When I opened the nightstand, I found a partial sleeve of Trojan condoms, which appeared quite greasy. This room appeared to have been being used by the staff for hookups. The couch in the seating area was full of stains. We put a sheet across it so we could feel safe sitting on it. Aside from the lack of cleanliness, the towel bar in the sink/mirror area kept falling off the wall. The walls and trim were marked up and scratched, and the sprinkler system consisted of a sprinkler head sticking down through a jagged hole in the drywall of the ceiling. There was neither an escutcheon plate, not any other attempt to cover the gaping hole. The hotel removing the valet charges from my bill did little to assuage my disappointment in the accommodations. I am not sure I will ever again pay for a room sight unseen via the Internet. If you are looking for a hotel that is centrally located, and you do not care about cleanliness, this may be the hotel for you. As far as we are concerned, in the future, we will stay at the Courtyard Marriott.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, mi

First time, wont be my last!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
I had a beautiful stay, my boyfriend and i really enjoyed it. It was so clean ans spacious. We had the corner king and it was great!! We'll be back
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Guter Service - Zimmer etwas abgewohnt

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Wir waren eine Nacht in einer Suite und haben uns grundsätzlich sehr wohl gefühlt. Das Zimmer war sauber (Bad, Betten,...) die Mikrowelle, der Spiegel und Couchtisch wiesen aber noch Spuren von den vorherigen Gästen auf. Das hat mich gestört, mag für den ein ider anderen aber nicht so schlimm sein. Der Service war hervorragend und hätten wir das gewünscht wäre im Zimmer sicher noch einmal geputzt worden. Wir haben sehr gut geschlafen, es war sehr ruhig und das Frühstück war sehr gut!