Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kalamazoo MI

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Very gracious and comfortable. It was a wonderful place to come home to!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Their shuttle will take you within 5 mile radius of the Inn. Beautiful mansions which are well kept.
Cons: Breakfast eating location is a small space. Crowded/insufficient at times.
Location: So well situated. Within walking distance of Detroit Institute of Art, Detroit Historical Museum and Charles Wright of African American History.
Decided to visit museums in Detroit. Had stayed at The Inn on Ferry Street previously. Booked 3 nights. Visited 3 nearby museums and restaurants. Such a wonderful experience. Love the positive energy in Detroit.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from S

Brilliant place to stay

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Like stepping back in time staying in a classic piece if the past. Very spacious rooms , well appointed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Beautiful Historic Buildings

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Great restorations of these beautiful old buildings.
Location: If you walk a block west of Woodward, there is a nice collection of mid-century modern buildings designed by Minoru Yamasaki on the Wayne State campus
Hotel is in a string of old mansions. There are lots of beautiful places to chill out with a book. The mattress was incredibly comfortable. The staff is super helpful.
5 out of 5
by Melissa from Minneapolis, MN

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful! Very convenient to the University!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Filled with Character.

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
The Inn was great. Very comfortable and the architecture and decor made it special. The Inn is great for people doing business at Wayne State as it's right on campus and close to museums. The staff were very friendly, even making me eggs the second day for breakfast as all the options were otherwise very high in carbs which I cannot eat for health reasons. Breakfast coffee was very weak which was a shame as it seemed like they were using good beans. Extensive breakfast offered until 10 am weekdays although it's largely carbs (waffles, toast, pastries, cereals, quiches, fruit, yogurts, granola bars). I just wish I had been in an upstairs room as a single female traveller. When you are in an unfamiliar place especially a big city like Detroit you just feel safer. As I was not in the main house, there was nobody downstairs manning the front desk so the first night I felt a little uncertain about safety although I was completely fine.
4 out of 5
by Lisa from Shepherd, MI

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
I was a little disappointed to have a small room in one of the back buildings. My view was poor and I felt a little cheated out of the "main house" experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing place and staff!

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely amazing. This was our first time staying at the Inn and I can't wait to plan my next trip to Detroit just so I can stay here again. The room was warm and inviting; It felt like home, not a hotel. The staff was top shelf. I was greeted with a "welcome" and a smile upon checking in and we were treated like we owned the place. Everyone we came into contact with genuinely cared if we were enjoying our stay. As if the Inn wasn't already worth every penny, the free shuttle, secure parking on the property, and breakfast buffet really made our stay wonderful. Well done!
5 out of 5
by Barbara from Naperville, IL

Best Kept Secret

Posted Feb 27, 2016 on Hotels
I was in town for business and family. My daughter joined me and she could not stop praising the hotel and our room. She took pictures and as an event planner thought what a great place it would be for a wedding or various showers.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, perfect for a couple's romantic night

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Nice hotel, perfect for a lover's getaway. Down the street from Wayne State campus but was very quite.