Ratings based on 1,073 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel at river front.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
It's a pity that poor service by housekeeping and negligence by the front desk personnel will drive the ratings of this gem of a hotel down to abysmally low nimbers. You need to pay attention to details.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids

Great location on the Riverwalk.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location, renovations
Cons: A few more amenities in the room, better TV set.
Location: Proximity to downtown venues, view, Riverwalk
Loved the renovations to the building, walked to restaurants, breweries, quiet setting close to everything. Good staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from houston, tx

Missing ammenities

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The room was missing a phone, a hair dryer, a clock radio and they only give you conditioner. There were missing pictures from the wall and it so nice to be next event facility when they have event until 2am and you can hear everything from the room. And there is only 5 channels on the tv.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

location & food better than rooms

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: location & food
Cons: service & cleanliness
I enjoyed the location and the food, however the service was slow when you even got service, I ordered room service that I paid for and it never came, electrical outlets hanging off the walls and trash not picked up or given new towels on a daily basis
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Please fix the locks

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Pleasant front desk clerk.
Cons: Fix the door locks and turn on some of the lights in the parking lot. The general rundown atmosphere could be overlooked if the place felt safe.
Arrived around 11pm at night and found the hotel in a very dark area behind industrial-looking buildings by the riverfront. Immediately had trouble finding the parking lot because of poor signage and lack of lighting. The place was very busy, with people hanging out smoking at the front door, and running around the hallways having loud conversations. The hotel was hosting a family reunion that night. The front desk attendant was very pleasant, but the first room she gave me had a broken latch on the door (it looked as if it had been ripped off the wall when the door was forced open). Had to go back downstairs to walk all the way back out to the dark parking lot to put a parking pass in my car, so I stopped at the front desk and asked to change rooms. Unfortunately, when I collected my luggage and went to the second room, I found that part of the deadbolt was missing from that door. When I told the front desk clerk that I didn't feel comfortable staying in a place with broken locks on the doors and was going to go elsewhere, she was very understanding and said she would speak with the manager the next morning about giving me a refund. When I finally got checked in at another hotel at 1am, I called Expedia. They contacted Riverwalk to negotiate the refund for me and was told I could only be refunded for one night. Choosing not to stay in a hotel because multiple broken door locks makes you feel unsafe really should justify a full refund of all nights booked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sandy, Utah

beautiful hotel right by the river

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: maybe serve a breakfast in the morning
Location: The Detroit river was right outside the door. Canada was just across the river. Downtown and the baseball stadium were just a few miles away.
Loved it. Nice quiet street. Beautiful hotel right by the river walk. They rent bicycles to ride on the bike path. parks nearby with music festivals once a week. Nice pool too. Great place to stay
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Turn on the LIGHTS!!!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Cons: They get rid of the hookers in the parking -just a suggestion. I did not feel safe. I have stayed at the River walk in Houston and it's beautiful.
Location: We did not! It's clear that Expedia never visited in person We would have taken a picture but it was too dark and it didn't turn out
There is no elevator to take anyone up to the lobby. When we got to the room, although it was okay, they use 10 watt candelabra lights in lamps instead of light bulbs -- it was too dark to put on make up.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from detroit

Slow/bad customer service

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Over an hour jus to get checked into the right room. Old furniture. No housekeeper presence. No towels given. Dirty pool and pool area
4 out of 5
by ChengKai

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Dushani

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels