Ratings based on 858 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2019
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2019
Celebrated our 30th Anniversary at the Fairmount Hotel. First things first. George was great, attitude, service, knowledge of hotel. He was there when we checked in. He was there for advice when we went out for the evening. He was there the morning we checked out. Hire more people like George. Room and building needed a little more sprucing for the price. Just add two more notches of love and care to make it the Jewel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 10, 2019
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 4, 2019
The Fairmont is a iconic old hotel which although charming is in bad need of repair and updating. Many fixtures in the rooms were broken, curtains torn and a/c poor. The location is fantastic . The new rooftop bar is wonderful and the Silo Prime and Nonnas restaurants are fabulous. I hope the owners will invest in a badly needed update as The Fairmont has the potential to be a San Antonio gem
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2019
Property beds to be updated and refreshed- it is not at the same level of the many other Fairmint properties that I visted and stayed in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2019
This has to be the toughest hotel I've ever reviewed. Usually it's either good or bad cut and dried. This one is really a mixed decision. The building needs repair and the rooms have the appeal of a cement painted storage garage. However, the room is built so solid that if your neighbors were lighting off explosives you wouldn't know it. Zero street noise or noise of any kind. Zero 21st century appeal however and because of this the property doesn't really pass my tests for a rebooking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VT

Posted Jan 21, 2019
It was nicely located near the Convention Center and several other nice places to visit. The inside at first was not very bad and was very nice aesthetic. What I did not like was several outlets were hanging out of the wall making me scared to use them one of which the coffee pot is plugged in so I avoided it entirely. There were several marked up areas on the walls with holes which could of been patched up. I've been a homeowner for a year and half the problems I could of fixed in less then an hour after one trip to the hardware store. Lastly The Valet service was $40 a day which sounds high already, but I figured my car would be safe. So after 3 days I asked for them to pull my car up front and it was covered in bird crap all over. for $40 a night I would never expect that much bird crap all over my car. Now I need to make an extra stop before returning it or the rental company will charge me cleaning fees. If I ever returned which I do not plan to, I would never use their Valet services. I'd go as far to consider it a waste of money and go to the church next door.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 17, 2019 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Grande Dame

Posted Jan 6, 2019 on Hotels
It was wonderful stay. Being a guest of this Grand Lady gives you a sense of class & elegance. It feels as, if in another time, one may have expected to see Sinatra sitting at the bar while passing through the lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2019 on Hotels
We were first on the third floor and that was nice - but one of the drapes was missing so they moved us to the 2nd floor which was like a different hotel - dark old with monkey decorations on the curtains and bed. The beds were ok. If they update the look to be like the third floor and get full sets of curtains it would be good. No restaurant or even sundries shop we had to walk down the block to another hotel. Parking was 39.00 a night valet and non-valet was not available other than "you can try to park on the street or go ask the Marriott down the block - not sure what they charge" frustrating for a hotel we paid a lot for. About 15 minutes from the AlMo dome about 5 from the river walk.