Ratings based on 802 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Nice, close to the Riverwalk. Nice staff. Valet only. There's a bar. Convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fulton, Mo

Surprise

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Learned the hotel is famous for being the largest building moved on tires at the time of move in 1985. Hotel built 1905 and rehabbed at that time. Decorated with period pieces and a easy walk to River Walk and the Alamo. Nice stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi, TX

Do Not GO!

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Did not meet my expectations for the price that we were charged. There was no remote for the TV, coffee bag was torn and could not use, I had to leave the Hotel to find a newspaper, wallpaper was pealing off the wall in the bathroom. I was awakened at 830am to crazy construction noise in the lobby. I recommend that you close the hotel while you remodel. This was our first time staying there and sorry to say we will not be back. We love the charm and beauty of older hotels and always stay downtown when we come into San Antonio.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Nice hotel in the center of San Antonio

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Central location close to restaurants, Convention Center and River Walk. Liked the historic character of the hotel.
Cons: Interior of the room could use some maintenance. Light switches repaired. Swail in the floor by the bathroom door raised and repaired.
Location: Great location. Historic Arts Village across the street from the hotel. Restaurants close by as is the famous San Antonio River Walk.
Pleasant experience. Easy walking distance to restaurants, River Walk, Convention Center, and Tower of Americas. Friendly hotel staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

UNDER CONSTRUCTION 9-2017

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We were very disappointed that the lobby smelled of paint and had construction covering the bar, restaurant was closed for construction, business center had poor Internet and our room floor slanted down as if it were slowly caving in. Called Expedia and they contacted the hotel gave us $20 off a night and Expedia gave us credit towards future reservations. Be forewarned the hotel is not as advertised, not as listed. Call ahead, consider looking elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The vintage feel
Cons: The mold, smell, working keys, creaky floors.
We came to San Antonio for a bachelorette party and I figured the vintage/feminine style of the Fairmount would work. The hotel had mold spots near the vent and on the ceiling, being that I have asthma I did not feel comfortable in the room. We requested an upgrade or a change of rooms and were advised that their were no upgrades available, yet there was only 2 other couples in the whole hotel. We were able to choose a room that had less mold and did not smell as bad. The Fairmount really is a great vintage find but needs MASSIVE upgrades for the safety of the people that decide to stay there.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
they were very nice and helpful! The room was nice and it was very cute~! The bed was so comfortable I didn't want to get out of it haha. It was wonderful! It had a cute little balcony, and the lobby areas were super pretty! I loved it! they were so beautiful!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi

Fairmount Hotel Disappoints

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location and the history.
Cons: Finish the renovation on the lobby and the balconies. Update the rooms and fix the curtains (in our room) as needed.
Location: The Riverwalk and all its charm are a short walk (a block) away.
The hotel lobby is going through renovation construction; seems to be proceeding very slow. We could not use the third floor balcony (facing the street), it was blocked off with caution tape. Our bathroom did not have any bath towels; had to go to the front desk to get them instead of them delivering the towels to us. The curtains in the room needed attention, but the staff said they could not touch them because the hotel was a Historic building (probably also why the hotel renovation is proceeding so slowly). Our bedroom floor was not level. I'm sure it was a grand hotel in its day, but it was very disappointing for our anniversary celebration. Nice location close to the Riverwalk.
5 out of 5
by Chaun

Cozy and conveniently located, great staff!

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel staff was very courteous. I will definitely use this hotel again in the near future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange Texas

Could be nice with a good cleaning

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Proximity to convention center.
Cons: Cleanliness and maintenance.
Location: Convention center, river walk, Alamo.
Staff was very friendly. There was renovation happening in the lobby - understandable. Things went bad when I got the room. The bathroom was filthy and in poor maintenance. -The air vent had rusted and been painted over more than once. -There was a hole in the ceiling. -Wallpaper in bad shape in places. -The worst, however, was the dust. Not just from a missed day, week or month; but from more like a year or more. It was on the curtains, in gaps between panels of the mirror, on the top ledge of the baseboard tiles and the air return vent. The baseboards include the area behind and to the sides of the toilet. I can't think of a way to clean and disinfect an area without removing dust. That room had not been thoroughly cleaned for what looked like a year. That is not an oversight by a housekeeper. That is long-term acceptance by the daily inspecting supervisors and by the management performing periodic inspections. I made reservations for 2 rooms. I called the person staying in the other room before they arrived and apologized in advance. In my defense, the hotel is rated 4 stars. I have no idea how that rating was achieved. If it wasn't a 3rd party booking, I would've gotten my money back and found other accommodations.