Ratings based on 794 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

UNDER CONSTRUCTION 9-2017

Posted Sep 19, 2017
We were very disappointed that the lobby smelled of paint and had construction covering the bar, restaurant was closed for construction, business center had poor Internet and our room floor slanted down as if it were slowly caving in. Called Expedia and they contacted the hotel gave us $20 off a night and Expedia gave us credit towards future reservations. Be forewarned the hotel is not as advertised, not as listed. Call ahead, consider looking elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The vintage feel
Cons: The mold, smell, working keys, creaky floors.
We came to San Antonio for a bachelorette party and I figured the vintage/feminine style of the Fairmount would work. The hotel had mold spots near the vent and on the ceiling, being that I have asthma I did not feel comfortable in the room. We requested an upgrade or a change of rooms and were advised that their were no upgrades available, yet there was only 2 other couples in the whole hotel. We were able to choose a room that had less mold and did not smell as bad. The Fairmount really is a great vintage find but needs MASSIVE upgrades for the safety of the people that decide to stay there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corpus Christi

Fairmount Hotel Disappoints

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The location and the history.
Cons: Finish the renovation on the lobby and the balconies. Update the rooms and fix the curtains (in our room) as needed.
Location: The Riverwalk and all its charm are a short walk (a block) away.
The hotel lobby is going through renovation construction; seems to be proceeding very slow. We could not use the third floor balcony (facing the street), it was blocked off with caution tape. Our bathroom did not have any bath towels; had to go to the front desk to get them instead of them delivering the towels to us. The curtains in the room needed attention, but the staff said they could not touch them because the hotel was a Historic building (probably also why the hotel renovation is proceeding so slowly). Our bedroom floor was not level. I'm sure it was a grand hotel in its day, but it was very disappointing for our anniversary celebration. Nice location close to the Riverwalk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange Texas

Could be nice with a good cleaning

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: Proximity to convention center.
Cons: Cleanliness and maintenance.
Location: Convention center, river walk, Alamo.
Staff was very friendly. There was renovation happening in the lobby - understandable. Things went bad when I got the room. The bathroom was filthy and in poor maintenance. -The air vent had rusted and been painted over more than once. -There was a hole in the ceiling. -Wallpaper in bad shape in places. -The worst, however, was the dust. Not just from a missed day, week or month; but from more like a year or more. It was on the curtains, in gaps between panels of the mirror, on the top ledge of the baseboard tiles and the air return vent. The baseboards include the area behind and to the sides of the toilet. I can't think of a way to clean and disinfect an area without removing dust. That room had not been thoroughly cleaned for what looked like a year. That is not an oversight by a housekeeper. That is long-term acceptance by the daily inspecting supervisors and by the management performing periodic inspections. I made reservations for 2 rooms. I called the person staying in the other room before they arrived and apologized in advance. In my defense, the hotel is rated 4 stars. I have no idea how that rating was achieved. If it wasn't a 3rd party booking, I would've gotten my money back and found other accommodations.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

GO ELSEWHERE

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Does everything count?
Location: Close to the convention center (walking distance)
The hotel staff was nice, close to the convention center. That ere the only good points. This hotel has a lot of potential BUT the owners are idiots. The entire place is under construction and it's not going well. They seem to have numerous projects all underway and none being worked on. Maybe they ran out of money? Drywall dust, construction materials all over the place, etc and nobody working. Air conditioning not working in the over crowded fitness center, The computers in the business center covered in drywall dust and not in service, no ice machine, no soda machine, the lobby tore apart. If you want to try this place call first and make sure ALL the construction is done.
4 out of 5
by Katherine

Beautiful Historic Hotel.

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
It's a beautiful hotel. Our room was gorgeous. Lot's of space for adults and 2 kids. Beautiful dark wood floors. The hotel is currently undergoing construction. In spite of that, our stay was very quiet. Also, it would be perfect if it had a pool and a restaurant. The staff was very kind. Really nice and helpful.
1 out of 5
by Umesh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really neat historic hotel,awesome staff!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Really neat historic hotel,awesome staff! They are renovating the restaurants, it will soon be a very happening spot
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from w

Cleanliness

Posted Jul 14, 2017
This hotel was disgusting. The room had black flying bugs in the toilet, hair all over the floor esp bathroom floor. The bathroom door looked like someone threw a clear sticky dried liquid on it and hair stuck to it, the door had an over spray of hairspray, the doors had thick dust on them as well as the baseboards. When you sat down on the couch in the room you stood up and felt wet. Don't let the pictures of this hotel fool you. I did not stay and found another hotel.
5 out of 5
by Annette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels