Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Nice hotel, beautifully located at the lagoon.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Very clean and surrounded by a beautiful gardens and nice views.
Cons: Better price for transfer Airport/Hotel/Airport. As we booked it in advance, we've paid double the price then we would have paid if dealt directly.
Location: Easy access and well organized.
We went there to enjoy a week of family holidays with our teenager daughter and we had an amazing time! The hotel is well located, just a walking distance from town. Everybody there is very friendly and everything worked as planned!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2016 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear VSM, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our gardens and great location. We love that our guests can safely walk into town and most central attractions such as the market! Kind Regards, Carla
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Perfect stay at Poppy's

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Facilities, STAFF, pools.
Cons: The wifi could be a bit more reliable and the paid service would be better if it reached the studio rooms more comfortably.
Location: Location was perfect - on the lagoon (swimming and kayaking) and near the locals whilst still not too far from the city centre. Supermarket nearby.
Poppy's was an excellent choice for a long (8 night) stay in Port Vila. It was perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle of the main street, yet still an easy 10 or so minute walk away. With complimentary kayaks and snorkelling gear for use in the lagoon it was on. The staff were also extremely attentive and lovely, and always greeted you with a smile and asked about your day. The resort also thought of all the little details to make a stay enjoyable - reef shoes, pool towels, umbrellas for use etc. Would definitely stay here again :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear Grace, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. It sounds as though you had a wonderful stay :-) Our staff will be thrilled to hear that they contributed to your stay being so enjoyable! They really do love meeting all our guests! We look forward to welcoming you back again :-) Kind regards, Carla
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from auckland

Ok stay

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Staff are great and the owner, Peter was helpful
Cons: Size of the pool and knowing about the menu and drinks available
Location: Great walking to Port Vila through the local villages, only takes ten minutes.
The lagoon view rooms are a bit of a walk up stairs, so no good if you are of average health or fitness. Also the walls are paper thin, you can hear everything from other guests. Also of all the 3 pools, they are all small, but ok for a dip. Continental breakfast was nice, and also dinner was ok. But you do need to ask for a menu, it is not given to you, so you can have a cooked breakfast if you wish and also for dinner, its not just the blackboard that is available.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Great place to stay.

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Great place to stay in Port Vila. Staff was fantastic, management was great but a little to interactive. Free continental breakfast was a bit of a letdown. All in all would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort review

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: Staff were friendly
Cons: squeeky ceiling fan, very sqeeky bed frame in room 28, loose taps,
Location: all attraction and the town had to be reached by taxi, not sandy beach at resort
Small variety of food at resort restaurant, coffee machine was not working, skim/light milk was not availaBLE
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice hotel, close to town and on lagoon

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Not a luxury hotel, but clean and simple. Lagoon not as pristine and beautiful blue as pictures of Vanuatu may indicate. Poppy's is small and quaint. Opportunity to meet other guests. Quiet and close to most things in Port Vila. Vanuatu surprisingly expensive for food and tours. Even to hire a car every beach entry has a charge. Prices go up when cruise ships are in port. Easy to catch taxis and buses
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

There are nicer places to stay

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The unit was spacious, and Leo the cat was nice. I also liked the gardens
Cons: Don't describe your steak as "char-grilled" when it's cooked in a frying pan at too low a heat. Train your staff in service. Clean the place properly.
Location: If you're into just relaxing by the pool and actually getting service, head to Iririki Island for the day.
Poppy's on the Lagoon has a nice location, and the two bedroom apartment we stayed in was huge, but that's where the goodness stops. The pools were tiny, the room was gritty and service was atrocious. Waiting 30 minutes for butter for our toast at breakfast, getting the wrong mains at dinner, and being served our entrees and mains at the same time? Not cool. Then there were the repeated attempts to get us to come to an orientation when all we wanted was to take a nap after an overnight flight, and the taxi driver friend of the manager who tried to rip us off - 1500vt for a ride? No way buddy...
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear Joanna, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and hope that you will still consider us in the future :-) I will definitely be following up on the bad service you received from our restaurant. That is not acceptable and we apologise for any inconveniences that it caused it. Poppys and its management do not take any part in taxi fares and or commission rates. We are more than happy to help negotiate a fare price, but we are in no way affiliated with any taxi services. It is good to note that taxis are generally much more expensive that the local bus service. Thank you once again, and we hope the overall you enjoyed your time in Vanuatu and Poppys. Kind Regards, Carla
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nelson NZ

Pleasant hotel on the waters edge

Posted Aug 25, 2014
The best thing about this place was the staff, very friendly and always helpful. For the price I thought the general standard was a bit under par and the restaurant served the worst meal I had in Vanuatu. On the positive it was only short walk away from downtown and the three pools were clean and although I didn't use the kayaks they were readily available and looked good fun. Room space excellent, and I enjoyed the free DVDs
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear Judy, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys! I apologise for the late response. We endeavour to take on all feedback so that we can continue to improve :-) I will be sure to pass on your praise for our staff. They pride themselves on being helpful and friendly! You would be pleased to know that our chefs have since undergone some fabulous training and have just won silver and bronze at the international chef competition hosted in Port Vila! I hope that we can welcome you back again in the future!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Wonderful Two Weeks Relaxing by the Second Lagoon

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: Poppys on the Lagoon is a very friendly and comfortable place to stay, with a relaxing and very "Vanuatu style" atmosphere.
Cons: The access road to Poppys could be better maintained, but it is, despite appearances, actually a public road, so Poppys can't do much about that.
Location: Poppys is a comfortable ten minute walk, or a few minutes by their wonderfully idiosyncratic bus system, from everything available in Port Vila.
We really enjoyed our stay at Poppys on the Lagoon. The rooms and the grounds were comfortable and well maintained, the restaurant served a good variety of well cooked food, from 7:30am though to 7:30pm, but best of all, the staff were amazing friendly and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble for them. The tour desk was very helpful in organising local tours and also a trip to Tanna to see Mount Yasur. When our bag was stolen while out on a day tour around Efate, everyone at Poppys was just amazingly helpful to make sure it didn't ruin our holiday. I would gladly stay at Poppys again next time I visit Vanuatu.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Carla, Hotel Management
Dear Garry, Thank you for taking the time to review Poppys! I apologise for the delay in a response. We are so happy to hear that once again our staff have been super in helping to make your holiday a success! They really do love meeting and helping all of our guests and take great pride in their work! We will be sure to welcome you back with a big south pacific smile! Be sure to let us know that you are a returning guest! Kind Regards, Carla
5 out of 5
by Richard and Pam from Picton NZ

On the Lagoon Fun

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: It's location and the compactness of the facilities, the free use of kayaks, reef shoes etc, the lovely staff
Cons: Change the menu through the week
We thoroughly enjoyed our 7 day visit, the friendliness of the staff was amazing and nothing was too difficult. We had an apartment up high and our room was presented beautifully with flowers and chilled wine waiting. We had been warned about the noisy dogs and roosters, so came well prepared with good ear plugs (and we needed them!) The location is great, being right on the Lagoon and a short walk to town and the supermarket. The uphill climb from the resort was steep and uneven, but the inexpensive buses are very willing to collect you. Tours were organised promptly and efficiently, but island time meant a bit of waiting sometimes (all part of the fun experience). All in all, a great resort, good meals and lots of smiles. We love Vanuatu
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2015 by Carla, Hotel Management
Hi Richard and Pam, We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Vanuatu and especially Poppys. Island time is definitely part of experience (as are the natural alarm clocks)!! The hardest part is then going back to "real time" in NZ :-) We take great pride in ensuring that our rooms are kept to a high standard and appreciate the positive feedback! I will be sure to pass it onto our staff. We hope that we see you again soon in the future and you can enjoy some more time in the country that is full of smiles. Regards, Carla