Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Stephanie

Posted Sep 6, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was in a building that was shared with a hostel and what appeared to be local residence so it was a bit odd. The hotel occupied rooms on the first and second floor in a way that appeared as if they just took the rooms they could get and rented them out as they could. Our room was plenty big enough with a balcony overlooking the street. The shower did not drain well and would overflow into the rest of the restroom. We notified the hotel and were told they would address the issue the next day (it was almost 10pm when we notified them) but it never seamed they did anything to address the situation. Other than the slow draining shower everything was ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2017 by Gerardo, Hotel Management
Hi Stephanie, Please note you booked a HOSTAL occupying two floors of a residential building, not a hotel.
1 out of 5
by Alice

Do not stay here..even for the price, not worth it

Posted Sep 2, 2017 on Hotels
I would not stay here again. Actually, I wanted to leave when we saw our room. We flew into Barcelona at night. There was a note at the door for us to go to their other location Brustar Centric. When we got their the receptionist was leaving for the night. She said they had emailed us earlier that day to not only change our hotel (without consent), but that they have limited administration time (10am-10pm). If we had not run into her, we would not have been able to get inside the building, nor into our room for the night. The room is small, but I really questioned the cleanliness. We were only given one towel for two people, so we had to share a towel since we couldn't call anyone for another. The hotel in itself is super old. I normally don't mind older buildings as long as there is maintenance. Our second day there was a power outage. I guess this happens often since there is a sign that says to not use anything (sink, shower, toilet). Reception didn't open until 10am and we needed to get ready for a tour, so we ended up using moist towelettes we brought for a "quick shower." When we came back we realized that the towels we placed onto the floor to be changed out was hung back into the rack (to be used again). For the 4 days we stayed there, our towels were never changed out. I could only imagine how the sheets are never washed. The only thing good about this place is it's location. I would say it's centrally located. Everywhere we went was within walking distance.
4 out of 5
by Lee

Depends what you are after

Posted Aug 17, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is a bit dated but certainly fit for purpose. The place Just needs a little maintenance but great location and safe. However they did take €100 as a 'damage deposit' which when I asked for it, wasn't returned.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Interestingly different . . .

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
More like an oversized apartment than a hotel it was friendly, clean and comfortable. Well worn and many original original features someone had done a good job in painting and bringing the facilities up to date. I'd happily stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Gerardo, Hotel Management
THANK YOU FOR THE COMMENTS AND HOPING TO SEE YOU AGAIN GERARDO BRU
2 out of 5
by Tony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Basic apartment block near Arc de Triomf

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Location was good, staff member who welcomed me was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: Rooms without usable wifi should not be advertised as having wifi access. A bedside lamp in the room would have been good.
Location: Right next to the Arc de Triomf, 10 mins walk to Sagrada Familia and the Palace of Catalan Music.
The location is good, central enough that you can walk to many attractions. It is on the 2nd floor of a typical Barcelona style apartment block with some nice features but overall has a fairly run down atmosphere & feel. There was someone in the little reception booth when I arrived who was friendly and helpful but it definitely felt more like a hostel/apartment rental than a hotel with reception mostly unmanned while I was there. They had explained that they would often be at their sister hotel across the road, and there was a phone to ring for help if needed. My room was at the back of the building looking straight to the back of the next apartment building. This meant it was quiet with no traffic noise, despite being located centrally between busy roads - so that was good. However it also meant the room was dark and a little claustrophobic. I was there alone and the room / bathroom were fine, but think it would have felt cramped for 2 people given the odd layout of the room. The wifi did not extend to my room, so if I wanted to use it I had to sit in the very small foyer. That was disappointing as it had been a key criteria of my booking.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One thing after another....

Posted Feb 2, 2017 on Hotels
I have stayed in hotels every night since June 2016, all kinds of hotels. This is the first one that I would not recommend. The pictures must have been taken immediately after the renovation because it does not look like that now. Let's start with the bathroom. My floor was coming up and mold was growing on the step. The vanity shelves were covered in dust and the amount of dirt between the shower and wall was horrible. The massage showers do not actually work, although the rain shower is lovely. Lovely, when you get hot water. The last two days of my stay did not have hot water, nor did it have any information from management about why or when we could expect it. Kettle shower for me. And the hair dryer only blows cold air so there really isn't any point in using it. The wifi is terribly slow- don't count on much more than email. The bed is comfortable- if you can actually get any sleep through the paper thin walls. The hotel is frequented by long distance bus drivers who come and go at all hours, having conversations. Even hushed conversations sound like they are in your room. The location is great, though, right by the Metro and near average restaurants and the inside rooms block all noise except that of the trains moving five stories below you. The staff is nice and helpful but they can't make up for the quality of the rooms. A small investment into paint, a good cleaning, mold removal and boosted wifi would turn this place around for the better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and cost!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great place for the cost. Hotel.com portrayed as a hotel, but it is actually a hostel with a private room and bathroom- nice deal for a hostel. We were surprised about the miscommunication by hotels.com, but everything worked out and we had a great time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location for Historical interest.

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
For us it was a good choice. Close to historical areas and most everything was in walking distance, some further than others. Room was tight but because of location overlooked by us. Of all of our choices to check out the cities, Barcelona was the best. Many people very friendly and helpful. So much to see and do. If you are taking a cruise from Barcelona, spend a week or so, in Barcelona and a few days after the cruise to check the city out. It will be of great value for you. Miss it already.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
THANKS HOPE TO SEE YOU AGAIN GERARDO
2 out of 5
by Tracy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2016 on Hotels