Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Moronge from Nairobi

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
Protea Central in Bloemfontein was an excellent experience. From check-in to check-out everything was well taken care of. The hotel offered a complimentary shuttle service to Tourist Centre from where I was to get my bus to Pretoria. I will definitely put up in this hotel when visiting Bloemfontein again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Pieter, Hotel Management
Dear Moronge Thank you very much for your feedback after your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. Please be assured that I will congratulate my team for their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Protea Hotel Bloemfontein Central. Kind Regards Pieter van Rooyen General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

verkeerde ligging

Posted Mar 27, 2016 on Hotels
de stad heeft een statig verleden maar is sterk verkommerd in het centrum. dat is verworden tot een volkswijk. het hotel is daarom als een vlag op een modderschuit. voordeel is wel heel veel winkels en supermarkten in de nabijheid. luxe vind je meer aan de rand van de stad.
2 out of 5
by mr d from ds999 Margate uk

not a nice area to stay in

Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
arrived after long drive - space to park outside which was good however web address shows mall and this wouldn't work in my gps so a street number would have helped as much of burger is one way. receptionist eventually arrived and check in was quick and efficient. party going on in second floor and lift was set to stop there every time so long wait to get to my room which was a good size but "a bit tired" after washing and changing I left the room and smelled smoke in the corridor (no smoking floor) a room further down the corridor had an open door with two men smoking inside (no smoking room) I insisted they close the door which they eventually did. had a beer in the bar and went into the restaurant for a very nice meal. however towards the end I smelled smoke coming from the kitchen area and called the maître d asking her to take steps to stop it. by that time the cigarette smoke was detectable in the entire restaurant. It did stop. slept well and, despite the active party, there was no noise overnight or in the morning. nice breakfast. I wouldn't recommend or stay there again. the place needs a shake up and firm management. one potential security problem. the lift goes from the underground public car park to the rooms so anyone can get there without being checked by security. most modern hotels with this type of access have a keycard system installed so that, without a room key, access to bedroom floors is denied.
3 out of 5
by Christeen from Jamaica

Can't feed a Vegetarian

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
I visited the in house restaurant and they had very little that a vegetarian could eat. So I did not order dinner and staff advised me that there were no restaurants in the neighborhood I would go to except Kentucky Fried Chicken :}. I remembered her that I was a vegetarian. So I ordered dessert and went to my room. I requested a non smoking room and I was placed in a smoking room that played havoc with my allergies. I called the front desk and my room was changed to a significantly smaller room than I was in before. This was ok I just need to rest for the night to catch a plane. I confirmed my airport pick up when I got to the hotel but when I went downstairs to go to the airport I was advised an error was made and pick up was not scheduled, a cab was called for me and I got to airport on time good thing the airport is only 5km away. This was the primary reason I selected this hotel its proximity to the airport.
3 out of 5
by Nestor from Johannesburg

Posted Jan 24, 2016 on Hotels
There was no dedicated parking for hotel guests; The water flow from the tap in the bathroom was weak The rooms could be modernised
4 out of 5
by Fanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Philiswa from Mpumalanga

what a weekend !!!!

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
I had a wonderful time, thanks to the ladies at reception who were always smiling and read to asssist with a beautiful heart. will definetly go there again. :)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good full-service hotel in the city center

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: Convenient bar at the 2nd floor despite my late arrival.
Cons: Though I did not walk out at all, the area looked somewhat empty at night and may not be safe.
Location: Close to the historic building in the city.
Clean room, efficient staffs. I just wrote my flight time and number when I made my reservation via Expedia, but the driver of free airport shuttle was there despite 90 minutes' flight delay though he showed up slowly and I started to call a taxi which was somehow cancelled before finalizing my taxi request.
4 out of 5
by Dumisani from South Africa

My stay was enjoyable

Posted Aug 22, 2015 on Hotels
My stay was okay I didnot experience any discomfort.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels