Ratings based on 205 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great old world charm

Posted Jan 24, 2018
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Best hotel in Gibraltar even though a little out from the centre. Quite a steep climb up to the hotel, made a little easier if you go via the Botanical Gardens. Decor, service, food and ambiance all what we expected. Lovely big well appointed room, fantastic views across to North Africa and The Straites. Only disappointment, no apes visited our balcony! Taxi from airport about £10
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

An overnight stay

Posted Dec 19, 2017
Pros: balcony, location, spacious, great views
Cons: the room was noisy there was bar with loud music being played until 1 or 2.00 a.m. Lack of guest book with hotel information.
Location: The botanic gardens across the road are lovely
A very pleasant stay save for the noisy bar down below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Weston-s-Mare

Fab family & friends break

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Been for the last 3 yrs and stayed at the Rock Hotel, fantastic views, great location and pleasant atmosphere..
Cons: Room doors were left open at times, because they were very hard to close and need adjusting.
Location: Dolphin Safari was first class and found great restaurants.
Found some great restaurant's and once again the experience was first class.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by CharlesDanino, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind review following your stay at The Rock Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northwood, England

Probably the best hotel in Gibraltar

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Ambiance, friendly staff. Good service. Clean, spacious rooms.
Cons: The food. Should be of higher standard and a lower price.
Location: Peaceful and only 10 minutes from Main Street.
Character hotel, colonial style but recently refurbished. Everything was as I expected. Beautiful( sea water) swimming pool The only negative was the quality of the food. We only ate there once and that was from the Bar Menu. It was very average. We did not try breakfast or dinner because of poor reviews on other websites and the high prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by CharlesDanino, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind review following your stay at The Rock Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope that you will entertain trying our restaurant on a future return visit. Please let me know in advance at the time of booking. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
by Dawn Sturgeon-Brown

A nice 5 day break

Posted Oct 25, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was very clean and the staff were always polite and helpful. The food was a little bit on the dear side and for the price of the room I was expecting breakfast to be included but it wasn't. We had a large balcony but it only had a table and 2 chairs, would have liked a couple of sun loungers on it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind review following your stay at The Rock Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be glad to provide sun loungers should you stay with us on another occasion. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
by david

Great View

Posted Oct 14, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is close to the bottom of the cable car to get to the top of the rock. There are great views from the hotel itself. It is quite a steep walk from the hotel to local restaurants. If you want to go anywhere else on the rock you need a tour or a taxi.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind review following your stay at The Rock Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DALLAS, TX

GREAT AIR CONDITIONING !!!!

Posted Sep 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: AIR CONDITIONING was fantastic! Newly-renovated rooms we very nice.
Cons: Pool closes at 8pm, which is far too early. Keep the pool open until 10pm.
Location: Cable Car station is located within a 5-minute walk of the hotel lobby, which is superb.
The Rock Hotel is a great hotel, with pleasant, helpful staff and newly renovated rooms. BEST FEATURE = really nice COLD air conditioning, which can be very hard to find throughout Europe. We had a room 321 on the front of the hotel with a view of the harbor. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner in the Garden Cafe (Wisteria Terrace) with amazing sunset views overlooking the harbor and also ate breakfast there as well. Very nice and highly recommended. DISAPPOINTMENT = The pool closed at 8pm, which is exceedingly early. We arrived and checked-in mid afternoon and immediately visited the Top of the Rock via the Cable Car (station very conveniently located only a 5-minute walk from the hotel lobby). After spending a couple of hours up top (breathtaking views), we returned to the hotel hoping to take a nice refreshing swim in the pool. Very disappointed that the pool closes so early in the evening. RECOMMENDATION = Keep the hotel pool open until 10pm to allow your guests to enjoy this fantastic amenity. All things considered, I would give this hotel a 4.5 out of 5 rating, making it a must-consider hotel when planning your trip to Gibraltar.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by CharlesDanino, Hotel Management
Many thanks for taking the time to write your very kind review following your stay at The Rock Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comment regarding the pool closing time. We have found that by 8 pm guests like to retire to their rooms to get ready for dinner. We also have some poolside evening functions and need to clear and set up for them. We look forward to warmly welcoming you back soon.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful in its day

Posted Sep 7, 2017
We were so excited about staying in this beautiful and historic hotel and I believe that in its day, it would have been fantastic. The bar and restaurant were really spectacular however our room was very tired and the whole place could have done with a lick of paint. The food wasn't great either. What a shame. It is an experience to stay there but the amount per night that they're charging is too much considering how tatty our room was.
5 out of 5
by mark

This hotel is at the top of my list.

Posted Sep 4, 2017 on Hotels
All the staff we meet including 2 girls at reception, the room maid and the restaurant staff where excellent. I have to make a special mention about Malik in the restaurant, he was always full of cheer, he had lots to say about Gibraltar, he is a credit to his job and to the hotel. I use to work for BA as a senior crew member, also did recruitment and training, I traveled the world, staying many different hotels, this hotel is hard to beat for its size.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Perfect location in Gibraltar with great views

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff, the location, the room, and the fantastic views.
Cons: The hotel needs some maintenance and upkeep.
Location: The location is perfect for access to all the sights, and restaurants.
After searching for a space in their small car park (that is supposed to be private), and then climbing many steps to reach the hotel, and then another set of stairs upon entering the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly and efficient staff. Our room wasn't ready, so we went into the lounge area and had a drink in front of the windows and enjoyed the amazing views. When we arrived in our room, we were thoroughly pleased by not only having a balcony, but also because we were on the top floor with even more amazing views. i would definitely recommend getting a room facing the harbor, otherwise the room will face the hill/rock. We had planned to see the sights on our own, but the staff organized a private driver to take us up to the top of Gibraltar for a very reasonable cost. Steve was courteous and very informative, and took us not only to see St. Michael's Cave, the Siege Tunnels, and the very top of the rock with the Gibraltar apes, but also took us to places we wouldn't have been able to get to on our own. We were so happy that the hotel staff recommended this private tour. Also, the hotel has a very rich, historic past, and there are many photographs on the lobby walls of the various celebrities and royalty who have been guests. We would definitely stay here again!