Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Good food, sensible prices. Maybe suits an older age group. Bus right outside the door; cabs were expensive.
Location: Right by the Botanical Gardens. If you are here for a wedding in the Gardens (6 on the Saturday we were there) it is just across the road.
Excellent service throughout. This hotel has retained its colonial ambience and is a delight to stay in. Wonderful views across the bay. Good hospitality tray with a cafetière. Very good quality bathroom soaps and gels etc. level access shower. Earlier in the week we had stayed at its competitor on Tripadviser - same price, but this hotel is in a different league - wins on all counts. The downside - 24 hours noise from the dock area, with rather noisy air-con if the windows were closed. Probably most hotels will suffer from noise. Bed could be rather hard for some people.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, USA.

Quaint old hotel overlooking harbour.

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff.
Cons: Shower tray was about 3 feet long but the shower cubicle was about 5 feet long so no matter how we tried the water overflowed onto the floor.
Location: A short drive away from the main town centre, not much nearby.
Pleasant experience overall. The hotel seemed to have been recently renovated.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from modena

Biona sistemazione

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Bell'hotel, confortevole e pulitissimo. Unica pecca la distanza dal centro (main street) e soprattutto la lunga salita per raggiungere la sistemazione.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Classic hotel beautifully furnished.

Posted Aug 1, 2015
Beautifully refurbished hotel with extremely friendly staff.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Havant

Cannot fault this hotel

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: A very high standard all round
Cons: A card detailing hotel meal times and menus would be welcome
Location: Plenty to do in Gibraltar for a week - trips out into the bay to view dolphins, trips up the rock to see the rock apes, St Michael's caves.
The hotel exceeded our expectations. The levels of professionalism by all members of staff was superb. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. Views overlooking the bay at exceptional and our room was always cleaned to a very high standard.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln

Complete Disappointment:

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The Service and quality of meals in the Dining Room were good.
Cons: Almost everything. This Hotel needs to reflect as it fails to resurrect the former glorious top Hotel in Gibraltar from out of the ashes.
Location: Exceptionally good town centre full of history and interesting things to see and explore.
At the time of making our reservation, many months ago, we were aware of the proposed refurbishments. So as the months went by we constantly watched the Guest Reviews/Emailed the Hotel re progress. As the completion dates became further delayed we did become most concerned. However the Hotel assured us that "all would be well" for our Special Occasion. I have to be honest the Restaurant service was very good. However the Service on the adjoining area for drinks/light snacks was extremely poor. Folk were walking away to go elsewhere for a drink and one chap who had been unable to get an answer to "Room Service" still had to wait an inordinate period of time to be supplied with a bottle of champers to take back to his room. The quality of workmanship to the refurb was extremely poor and the cold laminate flooring very much reflected the cold and unwelcoming welcome to this 4 Star Hotel! Will never return!
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ireland

Well located hotel for access to The Rock

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: The staff were most informative and helpful. The sea view room with it's balcony was well worth the extra.
Cons: Wifi access needs improvement. We had to go down to the reception area or out into the hall to get coverage.
Location: The location was excellent to see the attractions on The Rock. There was also aus stop outside the hotel.
Short walk to the Cable Car and the various attractions on The Rock.
2 out of 5
by Mark from Mansfield, England

Great view

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The view
Cons: Decor and amenities.
Location: Close to main street. Close to cable car and botanical gardens.
Close to the main street and up a steep road the Rock Hotel provides rooms with great views of the Med, Spain and North Africa. Due to the many ships and boats moving in the bay there is a lot to interest the eye from the balcony. The hotel is in need of a lot of refurbishment. The decor is old, the paint peeling and plaster cracks are everywhere. Carpets in corridors are worn. The rooms are basic with cheap furniture and basic amenitites. If you're not in good physical condition the getting into the hotel can be a challenge. It's a steep walk and even with a car in the hotel parking there is still some exertion required. The only way to partial mitigate this is to use a taxi to the front door. The staff were friendly and helpful although "please do not disturb" was ignored.
2 out of 5
by Sally from Bath

A very faded old lady

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: The location and the wonderful views.
Cons: Everything - it is being refurbished but it needs all new staff and management and certainly customer service training.
Location: This used to be THE hotel to go to in Gib - forget it!!! You can walk into town and to the Marina for dinner, cable car is 5 minutes.
A very sad experience. I used to love this hotel and was looking forward to returning after several years. The staff were completely disinterested apart from the lady at the pool bar who was lovely. The y key was virtually thrown at us and no one bothered with us for a whole wee. The room was old fashioned and faded and reached via dirty corridors, paint peeling off walls and doors and a very old bathroom with pathetic shower. The bar was being refurbished so not open but the Terrace room which could have been used as a bar was constantly laid up for meals so no one dared use it - atmosphere was therefore zilch. The rooms were more expensive than the Eliot and certainly not worth the money. Only on the last day were we told that breakfast had been included in our room rate!