Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

5 Star

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: What's not to like?
Location: The Imperiale Palace is ideally located near the center of Santa Margherita and Santa Margherita is perfection..makes Portofino look like a suburb.
Truly a 5 star experience. 5 star facility, 5 star staff, 5 star dining, 5 star location in 5 star Santa Margherita.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

spectacular setting, beautiful views of the sea

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: breakfast room in the terrace was out of this world
Cons: nothing, perhaps mobility for people who want to go to pool and beach. Local taxis could be cheaper or local buses improve service to Portofino.
Location: Close to everything, port, walk to Portofino, i love the bridge going over the road connecting to the pool.
setting is dreamlike, fin de siecle, views are magnificent and tropical palms in the garden with pool, a few steps going down to the beach through a real Italian garden with statues and old stones. I could spend my whole year there, i even contemplated working there as part of the staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire, UK

Old Style Grandeur

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Style, location and the generally relaxed atmosphere despite the grandeur
Cons: Wifi down around the pool restaurant and beach
Location: Lots of good restaurants in Santa Margherita Ligure, close to Portofino and the reserve (easily accessible by boat, and easy access to Genoa by train.
Good overall and would go back. Good food although menu not that extensive. Wasn't to impressed by choice on the wine list, particularly the reds. One thing they should sort is the coffee. This was very variable; sometimes great, sometimes very bitter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Absolutely lovely

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: The views, the room and of course the sumptuous breakfast. The garden and pool is lovely but unfortunately did not get to use it.
Cons: The spa tries to create a tranquil atmosphere as best it could however the road noise is too loud and makes it hard to relax completely.
Location: Lots of eating and lots of shopping! also had a nice lunch in nearby Portofino. Can also take a trip to Cinque Terre.
Really good location. We stayed for 3 nights and should have stayed there for a week. There are some beautiful day trips that you can do and plenty of shopping, eating and strolling through Santa Margharite.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Not as expected...

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Visited the hotel just last week and was sorely disappointed by the property. This is not a 5 stat Resort. There was no ambience to the room. It looked very bare and cold-looking. Everything looked old and not in a charming sort of way. The bathrooms looked like a 70's motel. Lobby and room was uncomfortably warm even with the AC. Spa is in a bad location- I heard every car passing on the busy street during my massage. No separate concierge so I felt a bit rushed when making plans for the day as there were guests waiting behind me to do transactions. Will not be returning.
5 out of 5
by barbara from Kensington

Superb and an Italian Dream Fullfilled

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
A Superb,elegant,relaxing escape into life on the Italian Riviera. It took us a few days to adjust to the tempo of life at the Hotel Imperiale.we slept , sunned and swam by the waters edge attende by the excellent day staff , The food was delicious at the pool side restaurant. The location is so special quietly removed from the bustle of Santa Margherita. Morning breakfasts,drinks in the evening and dinner at night on the flower filled marble terraces. You walked at a slower pace , you spoke quietly, we sat looked and listened to each other or enjoyed the music playing in the courtyard.From our room we could watch the miriad of multi tiered boats,ferries and yachts pass in and out of the harbour. Over 5 nights we were hypnotized into a new pace. We loved our daily walk to the town but taxis were easily arranged by the personal staff.Director Anna manages an exceptional hotel. From our beautiful,large quiet room, the elegance of the interiors,the delicious meals, the delightful staff and the location of the bay side swimming our stay at The Imperiale Palace was a highlight and we will return . many thanks for making Santa Margherita so special. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tr

excellent service, good location

Posted Aug 3, 2016
very chic, classy hotel. it is very close to center and the train station. the only disadvantage of the hotel is, minibar, poolside is expensive..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Beautiful period building with private beach

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The staff, the amenities in the communal area, the breakfast
Location: Easy walk to town centre and to ferry
The staff are excellent, especially the waiters. The communal areas are superb. Unfortunately our room was not in keeping with the rest of the hotel nor up to our expectations considering the rates. Would not book again. Very disappointed with our room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

The walk down to the pool was a daily joy

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Lovely building, pool, sunbed area, garden and breakfast on the balcony. Will definitely go back.