Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Unexpected Diamond in the Rock

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Staff, the room, the outside court yard area.
Cons: No changes need to be made.
Location: It is in a great location. The beach area is a 12 min walk, and 7 min walk from Place Reial, and an easy walk to La Rambla.
It's always hard to know how something will be, especially if you never heard about it, but the Hotel Catalonia Hotel was an unexpected diamond in the rock. The staff was courteous and friendly. The room by far was better than I could imagine. Spacious and roomy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2017 by Jordi V., Hotel Management
Dear Taishon, Thank you very much for your kind words. They encourage us to continue working every day in our work. It is a pleasure to know that we have helped you to spend a pleasant few days in Barcelona. Thanks again and hope to see you soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Excellent location and top value

Posted May 21, 2017
Pros: Big enough to provide good facilities but not too big to rip people off. Location, rooms and service.
Cons: Air conditioning noisy when on full, not an issue when sleeping you put it on low. Tea making facilities for late nights as room service then is hard.
Location: Las Ramblas 100 metres, market another 10 minutes, Picasso museum 5 min walk, port and beach 10 minute walk and hop on and off bus 100 meters
Arrived early and they did their best to accommodate a room for us. We asked for a twin and got it set up as requested which is better than we have seen from other hotels on this trip in fact the room was quiet for this part of town. Loved the idea of the complimentary tapas and drink was perfect before our night out. Location for tourists near Las Ramblas the port and transport including hop on and hop off bus is ideal. Not a rip off like some of big brand names but still classy and intimate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Myers FL

Perfect location

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Location, Beauty, Room
This was the perfect hotel for our 2-day stay in Barcelona. Close to everything, and lucky for us down the street from the best vegan food places (Gopal bakery and Vegetalia). We had a balcony view that was so beautiful. We had the best night sleeps in the beds as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Puerto Rico

Awesome stay

Posted May 7, 2017
Great staff, facilities, multi-lingual, super clean, great Breakfast, free afternoon snaks. Spacious room.
5 out of 5
by Terence

Great hotel and location

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Near the port area and Las Ramblas, this hotel is also situated across the street from a little park. The room was lovely and well kept. The staff was friendly, especially Canadian born Kyle. He was the only one to give my a bucket of ice from the bar and also arranged a "take away" breakfast for us when we had to leave early for a day trip prior to breakfast being available. Location was great. Only complaint is that the breakfast, 13 Euro per day per person if you have it each day, was cold and expensive.
4 out of 5
by Belinda

Helpful staff

Posted Apr 9, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed here as quite close to the Port where we went for the cruise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Quiet hotel close to Las Ramblas and the beach

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff, clean spacious rooms and quiet location
The Catalonia Port is in the perfect location for visiting Barcelona. It is located in a quiet street but yet really close to everything
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Very nice hotel, close to Paseo de Colon

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Location! Modern touch in a historic building. Good coffee
The hotel is located close to La Rambla, the port and Gothic Quarter. It is an old building that has been modernized inside. Nice finishes in the room. On a first glance, everything seemed very nice. The only downside to the hotel was that the walls and front door are paper thin and you can hear people very loud from the hallway and in other rooms. The bathroom was upgraded and modernized, but the shower, even though it seems fairly new, it wasn't washed properly and it started to develop mold in the corner where the water was probably sitting for longer periods of time. I'm not sure who laid the tiles in the bathroom, but was seriously lacking craftsmanship. The tiles were laid uneven and were not leveled properly. One corner where the porcelain tiles were coming together, seemed completely unfinished. There was a complete lack to details and finishes on the tile work.
5 out of 5
by Corey

Ottocento Alberga - a hidden gem!

Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
This is a smaller hotel and although the rooms are small it's more than compensated for by its great location with very friendly and helpful staff. We had a wonderful experience there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Fantastic stay, great location, wonderful staff.

Posted Mar 8, 2017
The doors facing the street are really soundproofed, so that is a nice bonus. We barely heard any noise from outside. The staff was fantastic! So nice and friendly. They helped us with trains and other info. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend.