Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
32% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dimondale

1st stop on U.P. Christmas Trip

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: all around quality
Location: Close to the expressway, shopping and gas.
This was supposed to be a convention center, yet there was no information on things to do in the area, restaurants, bars, pizza delivery and when I went to the front desk I was given one brochure and an "I don't know". The breakfast in the morning was ok if you like your eggs and potatoes cold and green. This was my first stay in Grayling in the off season. If this is a peek at the other hotels in the area, I will stay in Gaylord next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Avoid this place

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Convenient location off I-75, water pressure in shower was good.
Cons: Just about everything.
Location: Weren't around long enough to notice.
The 2 employees I had contact with were nice and helpful. That being said, this place is bad news. Dirty carpet, bare bulbs in fixtures, there was a long hair in the bed, son woke up with red bug-bites on his arm, parking lot not plowed. Also, my headboard kept banging against wall do to "activity" in adjacent room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Terrible !

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: Dirty and felt unsafe. Homeless people in the lobby area pocketing all the food in the "breakfast area" nobody at the desk but a sign to call a phone
Location: No idea it was dark
Booked our room and got there about midnight and no rooms available !! Expedia overbooked!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Photos look nicer than it is

Posted Oct 4, 2016
This hotel oversold itself on Expedia! It boasted a pool as one of the amenities. It does not have a functioning pool! It boasted free HBO on a pamphlet in the room.... there was no free HBO! The smell was a disgusting mixture of mustiness and dirt! The towels in the bathroom smelled the same way! The bathroom light/fan squeaked loudly! The walls were so thin you could hear everything! It was not a restful or relaxing hotel! If I knew I could get my money back I would have never stayed here!!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Clair, MI

Uggggh! 95 and no pool! What didn't you tell me!

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The rates were great. The cleaning staff were very friendly. The AC in one room rocked! The AC in the other room was not as good but sufficient.
Cons: Do NOT have hotel staff congregating outside the lobby door smoking with their buddies. Adds a sleaze to the place immediately.
Location: Location was excellent. Only a mile away from everything Gaylord has to offer.
Checked into the hotel, 2 rooms for 2 nights, only to find a sign posted behind the receptionist ' Pool out of order'. Why is this note not on the website so the consumer can make an informed choice? Granted, the room was very affordable but the pool was the deciding factor in choosing this hotel. After traveling 300 miles with six people in a van, in 95 degree heat, only to met with this news is frustrating. (Note: I don't think the pool will be available for many months to come either)
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Don't stay there

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pool was shut down, hotel was ran into the ground.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over booked

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I called to verify our reservations and was told that they were over booked and did not have a room for us, you notice that I did not say they called us. I called one hour before we were planning on getting on the road and heading to Gaylord, I spent the that hour on the phone looking for another room. We ended up at a mom and pop motel down the road it cost us more than the room we had reserved at Americas Best but we will be staying there again as we go Gaylord twice a year. We did stay at Americas Best two weeks ago for one night and I will say that the room was clean and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel good if you just need a place to sleep

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Check in went fine. The front desk is retiled, but pretty cluttered and looks makeshift as there was no computer and notes all over the place. Continental breakfast was great. Nothing fresh, but still had a pretty wide variety and was still available at 10am which was nice. Our room was stuffy, but cleared up after running the air conditioning for a while. The furniture in our room was worn and old. The volume on the remote didn't work. This hotel would be best if you just need a cheap place to sleep for the night.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, Ontario

Business related...booked at last minute

Posted Jul 23, 2016
One word..terrible. It was dirty and the whole property needs some attention.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight stop first day of trip

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Pros: Rate was fair
Cons: Pool in operation...better breakfast
Location: Not applicable
No pool Pool advertised on website, but "Under renovation" Hard to explain that to 6 and 9 year old boys!