Ratings based on 1,178 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Ontario Canada

Nice small Hotel In Halifax

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Cons: firmer materesses
Location: Public Gardens, Museums, Citadel, Common Park area all within walking distance.
Great location across from the Public Gardens with restaurants and services close by. Not far from the waterfront and other attractions. Good staff who aim to please. Basic room can be on the small side but comfortable and clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Dated and tired

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Great central location
Room was ok but too small. Bed wasn't attached to head board so hard to sit up in bed and watch tv, write. Under no circumstances should you eat in dining room. I order fish and chips for 16. It was awful, tasteless, what I wud expect from a fast food restaurant. The toilet kept running and I had to call the front desk 5 times. Staff was very prompt and courteous but the room was really lacking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and classy

Posted Oct 10, 2016
I would have liked to see or read more about the hotel as i believe that there is rich history there. But there was nothing in the room and nothing in the elevators or around the lobby
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2016 by Kathryn , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! I agree that we could have more information regarding our history, this will be passed along to our management team for review. We hope to see you again soon! Warm Regards, Kathryn
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodview, ON

Visiting the east Coast

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Stopped in Halifax for two nights on our tour of the Maritime Provinces. Nice hotel friendly doormen, and front desk staff. The pub area was okay but expensive for what you got (breaded chicken drumies, not the best I have had). The elevator for parking was ridiculous had to take elevator to lobby get off and keep pushing button down for the separate elevator for parking should have its own buttons to run. Room was okay a little awkward the bathroom was very small, but beds comfortable. Great location to all the attractions we wanted to see while in Halifax.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice Hotel, good location

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location. Room size. Room cleanliness.
Cons: Hire a concierge who knows what he/she is doing. Improve pest control in the restaurant.
Location: Near the waterfront, Maritime Museum, good restaurants.
The Lord Nelson is conveniently located within walking distance of the restaurants and activities at the waterfront. Our room was very nice - spacious and clean. The stay was very good. There were two negatives, however: 1. Since this was our first time in Halifax, we wanted to get some info on what to do. We found the concierge to ask for advice. He had only been in Halifax for 3 weeks and did not know the city and could not recommend anything. Very disappointing. 2. When we arrive, we had a late lunch in the restaurant. We had company - a mouse.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Easy walking to museums, restaurants and harbor.
Cons: Decor is a bit tired, but accommodations are clean and comfortable.
Historic building across from the Public Gardens. Spacious and comfortable room could use a second comfortable chair.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern. ontario

Old vintage hotel downton

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Clean, spacious, comfortable with friendly staff
Cons: The parking is very expensive. The rate could be improved upon.
Location: See above
The Lord Nelson is a vintage style hotel with modern amenities. From the clean, comfortable, spacious bedroom to the excellent food at the restaurant / pub, it was a good experience. The parking is expensive. However, you can park your vehicle securely and walk anywhere you may need to go downtown. Restaurants, sight seeing, shopping, business is all close at hand to this hotel. I would recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London UK

The. Lord Nelson Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: The staff, the service that was supplied, I found exceptional. Especially Phyllis from housekeeping also concierge Brian and Jamie
Cons: Some of the tours could be longer, don't get much time to look around properly
Location: Beautiful scenery. Went to Mahone and Lunenburg, Historical site. Penny's Cove. Whale watching....most of these tours can be pre booked on expedia
We entered the lobby and it looked how we had imagined from pictures, but more. We booked in and while we were waiting for our room to be finished, we looked at tours with Concierge Brian, who told us the best ones. So we booked. Room was ready, so we freshener up and came down to The Arms for some food. Went on tours from Murphy's Harbour Hopper, half on land, half on sea tour. Lunenburg and Mahone, 2 fishery towns with great history and colourful buildings. Peggys Cove a lighthouse that is named after a lady called Peggy, can't remember exactly. Whale watching tour where we were lucky enough to see dolphins and hand feeding herring gull by hand. Took a walk from Pier 21 all the way to The Casino, checking all the sites along the way. Was going to do the hop on/ off bus, but due to no cruise ships being in, it was cancelled. So instead went to The Citadel Fort, a British working fort, where uniform is a Kilt, from The Celtic ancestry. Very well worth the visit, we stayed 3 - 4 hours looking around. Museums we saw were Maritime Museum of the Atlantic. Museum of Immigration and Fisheries Museum in Lunenburg.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2016
New front desk staff couldn't answer questions. $28 a night for underground parking that was not in the hotel, not close to elevators, very inconvenient.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fint och centralt

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Skön atmosfär. Bra läge.
Mysigt. Bra läge för promenader i stan. Hjälpsam personal.