Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Built in 1953

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Decor was very nice...hotel clean and maintained! Breakfast buffet very good and lunch was a great deal. Room rain shower with wall jets surprised me!
Cons: If they could latch the windows, that would be great. Bed not very comfortable!
Location: I walked to my meetings - no chance to explore much with the weather. Martin's restaurant/bar 5 or 6 blocks away is where I ate dinner!
Reminds me of New Orleans - there's a difference between historic and old. Overall, the property was maintained excellently. A window in my room would not latch (I tried to rehook it) but I was afraid it would break if I kept trying. It rained quite a bit with some thunderstorms and high wind gusts and the room was damp. Issues with internet - the tv in the bedroom would only capture about 8 stations while the one in the adjoining room got them all. Prior to booking, I didn't realize the hotel did not have a restaurant open for dinner - they were only open breakfast and lunch.
5 out of 5
by Monica

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Just wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Hotel with character right in downtown

Posted May 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Great room. Great service. Parking was easy. Free hot breakfast that was not your typical one you would find at chain hotels.
Location: Jackson is not a city that's alive at night. There were limited restaurants that were walkable and open.
This hotel was everything I was hoping for when I booked it. It has all the character one could want in a beautiful old building. It has a roof top deck and a lovely garden pond filled with koi. Just lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New spin on "old" luxury

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
The Old Capitol Inn is a small hotel in downtown Jackson, MS. The rooms are all different and very comfortable. The free breakfast was the best we have ever enjoyed at any hotel; the food was hot and fresh. The neighborhood includes the capitol building and state offices. However, there are several good restaurants nearby; hotel staff has good recommendations. Finally, the hotel is right across the street from the Mississippi State Archives building. We were allowed to leave our car in the hotel's parking lot which was a major bonus since there is very little parking in this area. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who has business in the area or who would enjoy a little pampering for a decent price.
4 out of 5
by Eileen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Leslie A from Alameda, CA

Okay for 1 night; best for business travelers

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Hotels
I do like quaint old hotels and this is that...though updated for a few creature comforts. Here's what was annoying: (1) breakfast is from 7 am - 8:30 am so it's really geared toward a business crowd and we missed it; (2) you can't get your own ice and have to request it which necessitates a tip; (3) the bathroom was super small; and (4) nothing is really walkable or at least nothing interesting. There is gated parking which necessitates a key code at night so you wonder just how safe the area is.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Gunner from Ocean Springs

Wait for the shower to get warm!

Posted Mar 26, 2016 on Hotels
We loved this old place. Very pleasant stay. Helpful staff, good breakfast, and safe parking.
4 out of 5
by Jay from Orlando

Jackson, MS

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
There one night, everything worked out well, comfortable room. A trip made more enjoyable by this hotel accommodation.
5 out of 5
by kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels