Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and well-decorated, and the food in the restaurant was delicious.
Cons: No complaints at all. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.
The staff -- especially the managers -- really go out of their way to make sure everything is perfect. Everything I asked about, they delivered or fixed without hesitation, and they were constantly checking to make sure I was satisfied.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not sure how this is a four star?

Posted Oct 1, 2015
For a four star I expected better parking arrangements. Could barely fit my small car into the garage. The carpets in the hotel are old and smell pungent. No water in the room. The worst breakfast selection I have ever seen, didn't bother eating there. There was no beverage bar in the room, first time I have seen this, for purchase or for free.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ABUJA

Nice hotel in heart of Joburg, scenic city view

Posted Mar 8, 2015
Thin walls allows noise frm street no fun activities until Friday, nice restaurant clean rooms R80 cab to gautrain park station.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sa

Hell hole in dirty city centre

Posted Oct 11, 2014
This hotel should be AVOIDED. It is in the worst part of Johannesburg and is of very poor standards. Although it has an official looking 4 star grading I find that hard to believe. Walls are so thin that you can hear people across the passage when talking in normal voices or with TV on low. Staff are rude and poor to respond to requests. Rooms are small shabby and noisy there is a club on the upper floor which is noisy throughout the night. Lack of soundproofing extends to exterior where you can hear street noise as if you are on the pavement. My room did not have towels in it, on request I recieved one threadbare hand towel. This is definitely not 4 star do not be fooled
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Taipei, Taiwan

Definitely not a 4-Star Hotel!

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Pros: The only staff that treated us like people is probably quitting the job soon.
Cons: Try a sincere apology next time.
Location: Nothing cause we wasted all day sorting out our booking.
Booked through Expedia unpublished rates and when we got to the hotel, they could not find our booking. We were told by the staff that we would have to pay again (after being charged on my card by Expedia). We asked if they could book the train ticket for us and they agreed. Went to the room and called reception to which we were told it's better to just go to Park Station. Anyways, the hotel later called a driver to take us to Park Station to get our train tickets. I constantly asked if we were to make it in time since we did not know when the ticket office closes and the staff reassured us time after time that we were good. Once we got to Park Station, the office was closed (closes at 4). We did not just pay the driver, we also wasted our time. Upon going back to the hotel, the receptionist said that when she called, the office was still open (half past three). As if the booking office was next to the hotel! Then, the manager brings up our reservation problem once again, after they had said it'd be okay for us to stay the night. Things are sorted and then the manager comes to "apologize". I never heard a sorry in his sentences, he started with a "…I know how you must feel, you are in a different environment, you don't know the language…" And he kept on blabbering. I really wanted to ask right then and there… "If I don't know the language, then were you speaking in Chinese or Spanish to me?" Apparently, my English sucks and I could not communicate. Poor me?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy to town

Posted Oct 22, 2013
Good, clean and friendly hotel close to town. Big Bus Sightseeing stops nearby, and walk to Ghandi Square
1 out of 5
by Bongani from london, UK

Budget hotel masquerading as a 4 star.

Posted Sep 25, 2013
Having been advertised as a 4 star, l expected a comfortable stay but was shocked to discover that l was booked into a budget hotel. Open plan toilet, shocking. No fridge and uncomfortable chair. Staff good but not well trained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MD from Nairobi

Value for money

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: Located in central business district. Therefore, if your business is in the district, you avoid the traffic congestion and save time and avoid stress
Cons: Room service menu
A no-frills safe accommodation and great value for the price. Highly recommended for the short traveler with business in downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ros from USA/Turkey

Great location for business, 60s retro vibe

Posted Apr 21, 2012
Pros: Location to downtown for meetings. I liked the 60s retro vibe.
Cons: Car services for airport pickups lacking.
Location: Close to the financial center.
This hotel is great for meetings in the business or financial district. The hotel staff is competent and the service is with a smile. I liked the 60s retro vibe of the hotel via the style of the architecture. I found the car service to be lacking on the airport pick up. After a 10 hour flight I honestly don't have much patience. They scheduled an airport pick up to pick up two parties who had flights an hour apart. huh? I was the earlier flight and I did wait for a South African 15 minutes, which was over a half hour. I ended up getting my own taxi. Which you can do and it is the same price. So if that situation happens to you just move on and don't look back. I'm actually going back to this hotel next week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London, United Kingdom

Excellent

Posted Sep 8, 2011
Clean room, friendly staff, nothing I can really fault. Secure parking also available for a small extra cost.