Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Below expectations

Posted Dec 29, 2016
We booked a family room at Hysundang Guesthouse on Xmas eve as everywhere within our price range was fully booked out. The accomodation was unfortunately not what we expected. We thought it would be like a Japanese Ryokan and that we will get a unique traditional korean experience for the expensive price we paid but no, it was more like a backpackers. Mattresses were thin and the pillows were hard. More like a small beanbag than a pillow. The toilet/shower was shared with other guests which was rather unpleasant and inconvenient as the other guests hogged the bathroom. Breakfast was very basic korean fare.Our room was just next to the kitchen. The walls were literally paper thin. We could hear the manager scolding the kitchen staff.The nights were however relatively quiet but we could still hear the people in the next room. We only stayed a night and moved on to a family suite at the Ramada for the rest of our stay in Seoul. The rate at the Ramada was about the same as that at Hysundang.So it was definitely not value for money. The location however was fantastic. Its near Anguk station with lots of restaurants and within walking distance to the palace.
4 out of 5
by ROHANI from Yokohama

nice experience on Hanok stay

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
It was fairly easy to find. From Anguk Station, exit 3, you'll find McDonald right away. Follow the road, a minute on your right there's another road beside the small shop and you'll find it. However, I think the reception is not there. I arrived very late around 9.30 pm, and when I rang the door, a very old couple let me in but they didn't know about my reservation. Lucky I he speak Japanese so I was able to communicate with him. He called the person in charge which is his daughter, and she come right away. The room was small but clean, the bathroom is outside but clean. She showed me how to lock my room, and gave me a set of key. I can go out and come in anytime I want but the neighborhood itself wasn't that happening that I just stay there and rest. The breakfast is Korean style and it was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Very nice.traditional Korean style guest house.owner is nice and the room is clean and neat
5 out of 5
by Rachel from Singapore

Very new and clean

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
Both of us enjoyed our stay in hyosundang. We checked in the main house and was directed to another branch few steps away. They have 3 branches and ours is the one in the middle. It's very new compared to the main house and very clean too. Toilets, kitchen all v clean and new. The breakfast is bibimbab and can be made vegetarian. It's very delicious and the serving is good. The owners are very helpful and made us feel very welcomed. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely choose hyosundang if I come korea again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good location but a lot of "house rules"

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: The helper is friendly unlike the owner.
Cons: List down all your house rules and respect your guests and talk nicely to them.
Location: Near Anguk station and plenty of palace and attractions nearby
I've traveled to many places but this is my first review here because I feel the need to warn people. Just came back from a 2 nights stay in this guesthouse. Location is very strategic with many attractions nearby and Anguk station is just 5 mins walks away. Price wise is not cheap for such small room with no attached bathroom. The owner has a few guesthouses and we stayed at #25. There are 4 rooms altogether. We took the 2 3 pax room. There are 2 shared bathrooms so you may have to wait quite a bit if there are many guests at that time. Air-cond in the room and hairdryer is available too which is good for the ladies. Simple breakfast is included. Owner can't speak good English and stays somewhere else. What me and other guests are unhappy about this place is that the owner is quite rude with many house rules. He'll scold people out of a sudden though the guests don't know the rules before hand. He even scolded the helper every morning. Pretty much scared the other guests who are all ladies and children. Leave a bad taste at the end of our trip as this is our last accommodation in Seoul.
3 out of 5
by A Visit in July 2014 from Houston, TX

Convenient for Sightseeing in the Bukchon area

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels
Overall, the location of this place cannot be beat. Even though it is relatively harder to find (you have to turn right at the first small alley), it is really close to the subway station and close to lots of sights in the Bukchon area and it has good restaurants nearby. The traditional Korean home style is not the most comfortable compared with the typical hotels as you have to sleep on the floor (with blankets) and share bathrooms (only 2 available). There is no TV in the room and the room is quite tiny. However, I would say staying in such type of place is mostly for the experience--for its ambiance and close vicinity to the Bukchon area. Plus the host is very nice--when they learned that my kids were not particularly interested in Korean-style breakfast, they prepared American style breakfast (milk, juice, and toast) the next morning instead. I would recommend it for first-timers to Korea to try it out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shirley from Singapore

Seoul Hanok stay

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Hyosundang is located in a very convenient location. The subway, airport shuttle bus-stop and places of attractions are within walking distance. I w
Location: Insadong and Bukchon villaeg are nearby. The subway is nearby as well.
The hanok is comfortable and the owner is friendly.
5 out of 5
by Phua SH from Singapore

Lovely homestay

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
it was a good experience and the place is very convenient in that the bus-stop for the air-port shuttle is close-by, there are places of attractions and the Anguk subway is walking distamce.
4 out of 5
by Istanbulblue

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels