Ratings based on 80 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel close to seaside

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Great room, super quiet, small kitchen, clean bathroom, heaps if space.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Needs care.

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Wotif
Location: Lots of eating and a relaxing beach.
On the day we were meant to arrive, we got a call from someone who said due to the rugby, they were too busy so let ourselves in when we got there and checkout was 10am. Now I dont mind letting ourselves in but the phone manner really told me the attendant wasn't interested in being friendly or hospitable. Now to the room, we got a spa bath unit. The room was ok size but there was only a tiny oil heater. It was made up fine and all the basics were there. The let down was the bathroom. The ventilation system was making noise but not pulling much air out so the room gets too steamy, leading to mildew. The mildew patches on the ceiling were evident and the mildew on the base of the glass on the tub surround had got to the point where it really needed an industrial clean, not just a wipe. Sorry to say but this place just doesn't seem to be run by caring owners. Also the hair dryer didn't work and they need to get an anti-slip mat in that bathroom. When you shower, the shower spray goes right on to the floor, after a ten minute shower the bathroom floor was very wet. It remained slippery for hours, would have needed several towels to sort that out. Location was the best thing the place had going for it. The person in the office wasnt the owner so I left the critique for the review so as not to spoil his day.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Ann from wellington

Great place to chill out

Posted Jun 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfy, quiet and spacious. We were upgraded to a larger room which was great. A full kitchen was in the unit and also a spa bath. We had a lovely relaxing time. A restaurant is just outside the motel and there are loads more across the road. A great place to stay to chill out. It's right by the beach and you can go on a walkway right to waikanae
5 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Clean and comfortable

Posted May 24, 2015 on Hotels
Stop over stay after ferry crossing on way to Whangaui. Place was clean and comfortable. Strange layout of hotel- most rooms seemed to be above shops but nice. Owners very accommodating putting us in a larger room since Expedia mixed up room.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Great location clean and tidy

Posted May 5, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location and spa bath and close to kapiti tour meeting point and free parking
Cons: A friendly smile from staff
Location: Great restaurants around and best is to visit kapiti Island
Reception a little intense and unfriendly however location is great.
3 out of 5
for Families
by Michelle from Houhora


Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
The room was tidy and comfortable. The promised view was disappointing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location but very poor service

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: the location
Cons: The behaviour of staff. Please be cordial and helpful to your guests and avoid yelling at them
Location: lovely beach
Our stay in Paraparaumu beach was ruined by the disappointing service from this motel. We booked through Expedia and that did not sit well with the motel staff, they weren't happy to hear that. We asked for cot sheets or a regular sheet to cover the cot for our baby as there was a cot in the closet. We were told on the day that the motel does not cater for families and that we should not have booked the motel in the first place. The behaviour of this staff member was odd, abusive and resulted in us leaving the place at night as we felt afraid. Disappointing and would not recommend to families.
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expedia and the Motel would seem to lack good comm

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: Nice and central in the Village
Cons: Comms between Expedia and the Copperfield Motel folk.
I had booked through Expedia. Checked in at Motel and was charged $20 more than what I was told by Expedia it would cost. Not sure who needs to get there act together here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hawkes Bay

Average motel

Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Was handy to where we wanted to be.
Cons: Update exterior motel photos as it was nothing like I expected from the outside. Sound reduction between units would be good too.
Location: Very close to beach and restaurants.
We stayed for 2 nights. 2 adults on first night and 3 on second night. We had booked for 2 adults at first but last minute a 3rd was able to join us. Wasn't able to put the extra on the credit card though so lucky I had cash on me. Motel was tired, and car parking was not by unit. Not so bad if you don't have much to take in, but wouldn't recommend it if you have lots of luggage. Noise is easily heard through walls also. Our unit had people upstairs on our first night. They were within normal bounds of noise, but due to no sound proofing sleep was a little ellusive until later in the night. On second night we had people staying either side of us and we could even hear when they opened a drawer! However was reasonably clean. Gentleman on the counter was sometimes lovely and sometimes abrupt.