Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kathmandu

Good value

Posted Apr 26, 2017
We enjoyed our stay a lot and the location was good.The staff were very friendly and did all they could to help.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler

Fabulous garden right in the centre of Thamel

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The garden
Location: Great central location if you want to be in the heart of Thamel.
This is in most ways a decent hotel - we had an economy and, on a later stay, a standard room and they were fine for the price. The thing that makes this place stand out is the lovely garden. Although it is so central - one minute walk from the heart of Thamel, it is really quiet and peaceful. It's also a fantastic place if you've got children with you. There's a huge trampoline and a swimming pool with a slide (this wasn't operational when we were there in Feb but would be great for the hot weather). My nine-year-old loved Kathmandu but also found it stressful and a bit overwhelming, and being able to go back to the garden and play on the trampoline was brilliant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Stay, Once Again!

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
This is the second time that I've spent some extended time at the Acme Guest Housebountiful and, once again, a fantastic stay! I spent several weeks in November 2015 during the fuel crisis and even with things a bit muddled after the April earthquake, everything was excellent. When I planned my return trip with a volunteer group, I had no hesitation in booking multiple rooms and days. The staff is friendly, ( they even remembered me a year later! ) the rooms and property pristine, bountiful and abundant breakfasts and let's not forget the free yoga classes! My entire group was delighted and I'll be back with more groups in the future!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Muscat

It is disaster

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: Nothing
It was one of the worst place I have ever stayed. Every thing was dirty and the was load noes most of the night that i could not sleep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not an enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient location. But room was stuffy and infested with mosquitoes. Music from nearby night club also made it difficult to sleep till wee hours at night.
2 out of 5
by Bradley from Austin Texas

Needs TLC

Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
Well the staff was awesome the room which I paid for ac didn't work so we checked about 6 others the acs are old wouldn't cool and power outage common in Nepal but most places use a back up gen hard to charge phones ect the plumbing needs help I stood in shower with gross water that wouldn't drain beds and sheets were old but clean just needs a little tlc I would go elsewhere can get cheaper and better all around I've been traveling for the last 3 months in Asia so I've seen it all also leaving at night isn't recommend unless your into the drug scene
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2016 by Acme Guest House, Hotel Management
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your good suggestion. We offer you to move other room with the facilities of 24 hours power backup system for A/C, TV and power outage during load shedding period as well but you refused to do it because of your ill son. We have fixed plumbing and drain system.
3 out of 5
by Chris from Australia


Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
The room was ok. We stayed at this place because it had heating but the aircon didn't reach above 16c. When we asked about it they said they would fix it tomorrow(after we left). They also forgot to pick my husband up from the airport. There are much nicer places than this for the same price.
4 out of 5
by Shakindra from Aurangabad - INDIA

Nice Hotel to stay

Posted Dec 6, 2015 on Hotels
It was very nice. Hotel staff is very co-operative & provides good service.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Islamabad

Location is very good, attractive for tourists

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Hot water, location, swimming pool, although due to earthquake its not working.
Cons: Little more cleanliness.
Location: Market
Good experience, Nice hotel with attractive market location.
5 out of 5
by james from highland,mi


Posted Nov 20, 2015 on Hotels
very nice staff,very clean hotel