Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle Australia

Great location right on the beach

Posted Jun 23, 2017
The location on the beach and close to numerous restaurants and bars made this hotel worth staying in. The room we stayed in was very outdated and in need of a renovation. I believe some of the rooms were better than our ocean view room which was in the main building. Service was very average.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Chanayut P., Hotel Management
Thank you for your suggestion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location on the beach and easy to walk to sho

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Great location and great staff.. hotel is a little dated but serves well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful property

Posted Feb 22, 2017 on Orbitz
This resort is situated on a stunning piece of property, however the rooms are terrible. Our room was extremely dark and smelled so bad of septic. It was so bad we couldn't even stay in there. We asked to move rooms, they offered me two others that were equally as bad. We purchased scented candles and incense to mask the smell. Only worked for 10 minutes. It's too bad as the location is perfect and the property is stunning with it's beautiful gardens, pool and beach. I would only recommend this place if you never ever want to be in your room!
3 out of 5
by John

Showing its Age unfortunately

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
This was once a great property but unfortunately not any more. It is old and getting older. Most of the staff don't want to be there. The beds and pillows are rock hard. The location is spectacular, right on a beautiful beach. It is sad as this was once a real beauty. Worse wi fi I've had ever.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Beautiful paradise

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: The friendly staff, the fabulous location and the absolutely spectacular hotel layout making the most of the pool and beach
Cons: If I had to find something I would say that the lighting was dark in the rooms, I mean really WHO CARES about that anyway, it was enough to see
Location: You are right on the beach and yet it is about a three minute walk into the heart of town, this meant that at night all you could hear was the waves
We had the most amazing honeymoon at the beautiful Aloha resort. You know how when you go on holidays you walk along the beach and secretly wish that you were staying at other places that look more grand ? Well, we sat at the aloha poolside AND beachside lounge chairs watching everyone else say that about where we were staying. The location is just beautiful. The pool is lovely and relaxing with lounge chairs around it then from the lounge chairs you are actually on the beach also! We had local thai people walking along offering to sell us things yet without being pushy or right in our faces as we weren't actually on the sand. The cocktails at the resort were affordable and nice and they had a great massage service which was also equal in price to some of the dirty looking places that you walk past in the main street. The staff were so friendly and would literally do anything that you asked of them. We had stayed here 5 years earlier and were really pleased to see some of the same staff, when we mentioned it they were absolutely overwhelmed that we remembered them. They helped us with any request that we had while we stayed there and as we left we had the house keepers throwing their arms around us saying goodbye and all of the restaurant staff standing at the door waving us off. We felt like absolute celebrities. I can't wait to return and look forward to our next wonderful holiday on the beautiful island of Koh Samui
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad smell and old rooms

Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms need renovation. We had to complain few times about bad smell coming into our room everitime fan was switched on in a bathroom. Beach and swimming pool amazing which compensated us all bad experience in a room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Excellent location on lamia beach

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: Connecting family rooms with double bed plus single per room, and location close to shops and grandfather rocks
Cons: Hotel is a little tired but good value and it is continually being updated and staff were excellent at dealing with queries and prompt to make repairs
Location: 15 min stroke along beach to grandfather rocks, chewang beach 20-30taxi ride away, we took a trip there and the beach was crowded and dirty.
We booked as it was on the beach but close to night market and shops, plus with teenagers we wanted breakfast, the location along lamai beach was excellent, next to life guard and jet skis etc but still quiet I'd say the best area along lamia beach. There were always a few available sun loungers even though some people put towels out early. The massage service at the beach was competively priced and great, they really took pride in setting up a pleasant atmosphere daily.we booked a tour and our return ferry/ bus with their guide and she was very helpful and again the price was competitive to other agents on the street but service much better. Our plan had been to move to chewang or fishermans village but we ended up extending our time at Aloha resort as chewang beach was dirty and the town smelly in comparison and the kids didn't want to leave the beach and pool. Pool area is also very clean and well maintained. We didn't use the beach cafe as there was so much choice close by at competitive prices. It would have been nice to have tea and coffe facilities in the room but the 7/11 is just across the street or you can order room service. It was a plus to receive free daily water in the fridge and fresh beach towels. I think if the central lounge area was used for coffee or had a competitive bar we would have enjoyed lounging there after dinner especially as our teenagers often wanted o go back to their room, if that area was used the hotel would have felt a little more lively.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but a few room issues

Posted Aug 11, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location on the beach with pool, easy to find food and shopping outside, good breakfast, friendly staff.
Cons: The bed sheets and rooms smelled musty, the air conditioning was inefficient, hard beds, shower and bath didn't work the best.
Location: The beach area is amazing, the street outside of the hotel has a huge variety of restaurants, bars, and shops. Many different tours are also offered.
My wife and I stayed here for three nights on a trip to Koh Samui. The hotel has one of the best spots on Lamai Beach with both a pool and excellent beach access. It's easy to walk out and down the street for great Thai food, shopping experiences, and lots of other fun. We came to relax and enjoy the ocean and food but the hotel also offers tours through an agency desk near the front lobby. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel breakfast in the morning has a great selection of different types of western and Thai foods. Our only issues for the stay were related to the room as the sheets had a musty smell as did the room itself. The air conditioning had a cooling effect but never totally cooled the room down sufficiently. The bed was also very hard and uncomfortable so that made for some not so pleasant nights of sleeping. Other reviews have mentioned the Wi-Fi is quite unreliable and this is true but lack of Wi-Fi isn't always a bad thing in a beautiful place like this.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Terrible Service

Posted Aug 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Adjacent to the beach and walking distance to the shops and restaurants
Cons: The hotel needs major upgrade of the facility and customer service, specially, manager. Ripped and worn out towels were placed in the room.
Location: The hotel is very close to shops and restaurants.
The hotel manager was very rude and not accommodating. The room was full of mosquitoes. When I showed her the mosquito bites on my legs and requested for a room change, she refused to honor my requested. She did not even offer to spray the room.
4 out of 5
by Ann from Exeter

Aloha hotel taxi service.

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Everything good until last day when we booked a taxi to airport we were charged 500 bht. We were put in a bus with 6 other people who were on a tour and their fares were included. Our luggage was in an open truck driven by the gardener. Luckily it had stopped raining. I constantly told the porter who drove us we had booked a private taxi to no avail. I think this was a scam to get 500 bht.