Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by William

Some good, some bad

Posted Jul 26, 2017 on Hotels
This is a mixed review and a possible caution for others. The hotel is nice, rooms large and comfortable. However, we seemed to be treated like second class which came up in a discussion with the front desk. We had 3 service issues - TV not working, I complained 3 times before it was replaced, I indicated the safe would not functioned as directed, I had to bring the topic up twice before being heard and our room was not cleaned on the second day. When I brought this topic up to the front desk - I was told that they were confused and that because we had only paid 70 Euro per night (thru Hotel.com) and there normal rate was in excess of 100 Euro that they had decided to treat us like weekly clients who get no room service. It did feel like we were being treated like second class. The big apology would be that they would clean our room tomorrow. Not much of an apology if you ask me. Top management obviously isnt communicating with the front line as to rates they are advertising rooms. The other issue is parking. They advertise free parking which is true with the following caveat. There 8-10 space parking lot is also used by their restaurant which is full every night. If you arrive back at the hotel between 6-9 pm, you will have to try and find a spot on the street which is very difficult. Beyond these issues, the hotel room was very nice. Note there is not an elevator
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017
We are truly sorry that you had mixed feelings about your stay and that you felt like being treated as second class. We can guarantee you that we treat all of our guests as first class, even guests that pay the week, month rate or any other promotional rate. As regards to the TV, we first tried to figure out whether it was a configuration issue or a problem with the Telenet CI card. It turned out there was a technical issue which we could not fix ourselves so we had to bring it in for repair and arrange a replacement TV. We fully agree with you that this problem should have been tackled much quicker as well as the issue with the safe which was being looked at immediately. Please accept our since apologies for any mixed feelings and any inconveniences caused to you during your stay at our hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Huge jaccuzzi was an unexpected bonus on the top floor. Two flights up and quite a corridor but no offer of help with suitcase wasn't great, otherwise the staff were very polite and helpful. Very spacious light room; no doors to wardrobes would look messy during a longer stay though. Skylight over the bed is a head hazard first thing in the morning. Excellent breakfast in a well-designed modern conservatory. (Unsecured) free wi-fi connected automatically and was strong enough to stream movies. Very good bar restaurant next door is a real plus.
4 out of 5
by Ellen

Hotel Boardhouse

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed before and will stay again. Friendly, helpful and welcoming
4 out of 5
by DG

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2015
The staff is very friendly and they take good care of their guests.
4 out of 5
by Anonymous from Somewhere

Comfortable Close to KULeuven Campus

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
I think that nowadays breakfast should be included. The first day i paid the 12euro for it. It was ok but not so special. Instead ended up buying breakfast at the local supermarket. 12 euro for the rest of the week. There were some problems at the rooms from my colleagues like a light not turning off at all, noisy air-conditioning, noisy fridge. The bikes service was nice, though they could need some maintenance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Leuven Accommodation / Rock Werchter 2014

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Although outside Leuven centre, it is very easily accessible by train, taxi, bus or on foot.
Cons: Reception gave us a map & directions for reaching the town centre, but hand-outs with information on bus & train times would've been helpful too.
Location: Leuven city centre has quite superb old squares with first class old pubs & restaurants. Heverlee on Sunday mornings has a busy street market.
My party of four travelled to Belgium from Aberdeen and stayed in two rooms at the Boardhouse in Leuven as our base for the 2014 Rock Werchter festival. The hotel location is in a pleasant suburb called Heverlee, which has numerous shops, cafes and pubs close by and is a five minute walk from its own railway platform, just one stop away from Leuven Central. There are also frequent buses into the town centre, which is alternatively a 30 minute walk through suburban Heverlee and the lovely university quarters into the splendid centre. We got back to Leuven most nights from the festival around midnight and either took taxis back to the residence or walked through the streets which were always quite busy and felt very safe. The lodgings themselves (which are more centrally located in Heverlee, five minutes’ walk from the hotel reception & main building) were a delight to get back to, especially on the days that were rainy. Our rooms were spacious and clean, and although we didn’t use the cooking facilities in the rooms, I did use the free washing machine and dryer in the basement – very convenient once the festival site became muddy. The hotel management and staff were really welcoming, friendly and helpful, and our entire experience in Leuven was really pleasant. The Festival was a huge success, and having the Boardhouse and Heverlee as our home from home really added to the whole experience. Book early for Rock Werchter 2015!
4 out of 5
by Deanna from Leuven

Close to KU campus

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels
Great location if you have business at the university. However, the picture posted on hotel.com (the reason I chose this location) was not actually a picute of the hotel, at least the location where my room was located. The room was great, though. The buffet was not worth the money.
2 out of 5
by Jack from UK

good location

Posted May 7, 2013 on Hotels
stayed in external guesthouse, nice little apartment style room with kitchen, located at Heverlee train stop, Breakfast at main hotel definitely worth the price
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good for a 3 star hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2012 on Hotels
Probably 15 to 20 minutes walk to the center. Parking very easy near the hotel. Great breakfast as well. Highly recommend