Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northamptonshire, England

authentic caribbean paradise.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: staff, food, atmosphere.
Cons: showers
Location: paradise, being a small port, many ships leaving for excursions so very central for most things.
loved the whole resort, and the beach club was very no corporate style authentic Caribbean experience. i would find this very hard to beat, and would definitely visit again many times.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you got a true Caribbean experience from your stay. We do our best to ensure that our guest leave the resort happy. You are welcome anytime.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Pretty grounds but many things just not right

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We went to this resort to dive. The diving on St Lucia is just not very good. NO fish other than some small reef fish Reefs not very pretty or looking healthy. Marine Park is a little better but needs about 10 more years to recover. They are also very reluctant to take you there. It is farther so if there numbers don't work you may just go around the corner or they might not go at all. Never been at a dive resort that decides each day if they are going to provide service.But it is the best dive boat lunch I have had . Our room which had a kitchen had a great bed, good air conditioning, and a lovely porch overlooking the bay. Fantastic. But.. Look straight down and we looked at a rubble pile, sinks had no plugs, cold tap did not work, table had no glass top, multimately jet shower looked good but hardly any jets worked (but water was warm.) Constant loud music from the restaurant kept us from eating there. We found the constant visiting cruise ship excursions intolerable that is why I was not on a cruise. Our taxi also never arrived to pick us up at the airport when we arrived even thou we prearranged it thru the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
You are the first to not enjoy diving in St Lucia when this is something that persons boast about because it is truly a wonderful experience. Vacation is supposed to be vacation where you spend time relaxing and enjoying the island, not looking for things to complain about. All of things that you mentioned, did you bring it to the attention of anyone so that it can be rectified? The restaurant plays music at a volume that is comfortable for everyone. If the music was too loud for you then you just had to say so as we want all our guest to be pleased. With regards to your pick up, there must have been a miscommunication which could have been solved with a phone call.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Best beach in st Lucia

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Great location for relaxing and getting away from it all with beautiful sunsets! Hotel is older but has style and charm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Glad you enjoyed your stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

inconvenience location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: nice view
Location: only few restaurants and it is very expensive need car to go anywhere
location need 5 min boat ride and nothing nearby beach not nice
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. When on vacation, make the most of it
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The resort is very aesthetically pleasing; the staff was great!
Cons: A sense of customer service from ownership
Location: I would certainly suggest people visit the nearby public beach and for to Roots Bar!
My wife and were having quite a lovely time during our 2 day stay at Marigot Bay. The staff was very accommodating; the facilities were excellent and the food was great! However there was an incident that did cast a pall over our stay. We were walking on a dock on the hotel property when my wife slipped and badly injured her head falling off of the dock. The area was very poorly lit and there was no railing there. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. What was very disappointing was what happened after her injury. We had to take a taxi to a hospital in Tapion, and the owner of Marigot Bay has assured us that when we were finished at the hospital, there would be a ferry available for us and he provided a number for us a call so security to let us in. Neither occurred! The number provided was false, and we were left stranded outside of the resort for over an hour. Our taxi driver even called the owner directly, but he had little regard at the time and the next day. There was no explanation or apology provided until I personally had to go out of my way to confront him
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. It seems like you had a good stay and I do apologize for this infortunate situation however our manager and rooms manager personally went to you and your wife and apologized. They also asked on numerous occasions if there is anything that they can do for you and you said you were ok. Even on check out you said you did not want anything. Also the number which was provided to you was not false because we give the number to all our guest staying out late and they had no issues. Empathy was shown for your situation and we do not appreciate another version being told.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Simple hotel in the most fabulous location

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Beautiful beach location. The hotel room was fine and the veranda perfect! It is not a 5 star shine new hotel it very clean and comfortable. We stayed in a Grand Studio. The restaurant serves a good. Real fast with lots of fruit and we'll prepared breakfast dishes. The Fresh fish at dinner was excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for wonderful review. Our goal is that we aim to please and we are happy that you had a great experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Trinidad, west indies

Quiet getaway on the beach

Posted Feb 21, 2017
This resort was really relaxing, not alot of people and was fantastic for me. It's a little far away from the airport aND you have to take a ferry to get to the hotel but it's free. The beach was nice and quiet and the views were fantastic. There was a few restaurants near by just a ferry ride away and the hotel restaurant was nice as well. If you are looking for a getaway from everyone it's perfect !
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thanks for sharing your experience with us. Vacation is all about relaxing and we are happy you got to do just that. Hope to see you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roxboro, NC

Laid back atmosphere away from it all!

Posted Feb 11, 2017
This is an older resort which in my view lends to its appeal. Think shabby chic and a place that Earnest Hemingway would have stayed to perform his writings. The room had brown tile floors with the same on a very large balcony overlooking Marigot Bay. The ceilings are wood tongue and groove and painted white like the walls. There is a large and beautiful four-poster mahogany bed and the mattress was pretty comfortable. Basic tiled bathroom and shower. Basic kitchen amenities but no microwave or stove/oven. There is a hotplate to heat or cook food with. There are no frills but that is the charm. Everything worked well except that one morning there was no water. It was out for the whole facility though and was fixed quickly. The pool is small but located so that it's near the bar/restaurant. Pretty good food. Great drinks and bartenders with 2 different happy hours daily for 2/1 drinks. Nice private beach and snorkel area. Pretty nice public beach area. Free ferry to the harbor/road side for resort or restaurant guests. I have read not so great reviews of this place before but can't really understand why. I think some people have unrealistic expectations as we could find nothing bad about the facilities. Just a really wonderful resort and laid back atmosphere!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest review. We really appreciate when our clients share their experience for what is was an not to degrade the hotel. Really happy that you had a good time and we do hope to see you again some day.
4 out of 5
by Eva

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

Heaven on Earth

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Orbitz
From thr moment I stepped on the resort the staff were amazing and friendly!!! The resort is clean, easy to get around, and has the most breathtaking views of the bay, mountain, and ocean. I honestly felt like I was in a peaceful oasis. I highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for rest and relaxation with some island flare and flavor!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by reservations, Hotel Management
We are so very happy that you had a great stay and do hope to see you again so that you can take in the ambiance of the place once more.