Ratings based on 75 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2016
We thoroughly enjoyed our family holiday. Kids liked spending time at kids club while adults relaxed. A great family oriented resort.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful gardens, miserable restaurant staff.

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: The gardens
Cons: The staff: miserable. Probably overworked.
Location: If you turn left out of the hotel and drive towards Le Morne you will probably have the most beautiful 20 minutes of scenery of any road in the world.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable, although the twin beds requested for my, er, twins were not supplied and they had to make do with a double. The staff mostly just look miserable. The wine waiter couldn't open a bottle of wine properly, and just destroyed the cork in front of me. The Chinese food stand told us that he could only send noodles to the room for room service rather than just prepare them and hand them to us. It's not really what you hope for and a bill for a buffet dinner of £180 for 4 people with a single (small measures only) glass of wine meant that we ate out for the rest of our stay. Special mention has to go top the head gardener and his staff: the grounds are immaculate, imaginative, and certainly the stand-out feature of the resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 3, 2016 by PieterV, Hotel Management
Dear Barnaby We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at Mercado and thank you for bringing this to our attention. We will be definitely revisiting training with our Head Sommelier and team, all trained and accredited sommeliers, and apologies that the cork on this occasion was a challenging one. We will also be following up with the culinary team at the Asian Section and we are sorry if there was a breakdown in communication as they were trying to convey that it would take some time as the noodles were not on the menu that evening and would have it delivered to the table not the room, our apologies for this miscommunication. Lastly we usually do receive very favourable feedback on the disposition of the team, we are again sorry that this fell short of the mark for your experience. Best wishes Pieter van der Hoeven General Manager
3 out of 5
by Hossamaldin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing new year stay

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: Hotel itself was clean as it only opened last year. It has good facilities
Location: Isolated area, one other resort next to it. But over Christmas and New year all the other resorts are closed to visitors.
Went on a family holiday over the new year. Despite contacting concierge and front desk 2 months in advance to pre-book restaurants and excursions was told that this was not necessary. Then upon arrival in hotel promptly told that all the restaurants in the hotel were booked up so we were stuck eating in the buffet everyday, and we are vegetarian. Also unable to do any of the activities that I wanted to such as walking with the lions because it was all booked up. Mauritians are very laidback and unfortunately this filters through to the hotel. Not really up to speed with customer service and promptness.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lübeck

Das am besten gelegene Ressort in Bel Ombre

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Die traumhaft schöne Lage
Cons: Die Zimmer könnten mal wieder einen Anstrich vertragen, aber sonst alles gut
Location: Bel Ombre - der Süden der Insel bietet sehr viel
Bel Ombre ist sicherlich eine der schönsten Ecke von Mauritius. Wir haben uns alle benachbarten Ressorts angeschaut und haben übereinstimmend festgestellt, dass das Outtrigger am schönsten liegt. Empfehlenswert die Beachfront Junior Suite, die zum einen so schön gelegen ist und zum anderen Eintritt in den Plantation Club gewährt, der echt super schön ruhig und etwas abgelegen zum Relaxen einlädt. Grandioses Feuerwerk zu Sylvester, wenn auch das Menü etwas teuer war....
5 out of 5
by RIKA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ansku

Rentoa ja mukavaa lomailua

Posted Jan 2, 2016 on Ebookers
Olimme Mauitiuksella ensimmäistä kertaa. Ihana paikka. Hotelli oli hieno. Emme tajunneet, että sieltä pääsee vain taksilla tutustumaan muihin paikkoihin. Luulimme, että voimme käydä syömässä iltaisin muuallakin ja ostoksilla ihan itse. Mutta siihen tarvittiin aina taksi. Oma vika kun emme olleet tarpeeksi tarkaan tutustuneet kohteeseen. Ruoka ja juoat olivat kalliita. Kalliimpaa kun suomessa. Illallisen söimme hotellin Mercado ravintolassa ja ruoka oli todella hyvää ja monipuolista samoin aamiainen. Päivällä söimme rantaravintoloissa ja ne olivat kyllä todella kalliita. Hienoa, että hintaan kuului vesihiihto, polkuvene ja muuta aktiviteettia. Meri oili ihana. Snorklailimme paljon. Kävimme Shamarellin vesiputouksella ja 7 värin kallioilla. Teimme retken saareen Ile aux Cerfs. Se oli hieno paikka ja saimme saarella lounaan: grillattua hummeria, tonnikalaa ja kanaa. Maukasta! Teimme yhtenä päivänä shoppailukierroksen taksilla. Taksi vei tietenkin kalliimpiin paikkoihin. Samalla reisulla käytyyn Hindu tempelissä. Kävimme hotellin spassa tyttärieni kanssa. He ottivat manikyyrin, kynsilakat lähtivär seuraavana päivänä? Johtui ehkä uimisesta. Itse otin pedikyyrin. Oli ihan ok. Kaikenkaikkiaan matka oli ihana.Hotelli oli yleellinen ja hieno. Huoneessamme tosin oli joku eläin, joka öisin vipelsi sängyn alla. Emme nähneet sitä, mutta kuulimme pientä kipsutusta.Herätti välillä öisin. Aulan henkilökunta, joilta tilasimme taksit, olivat erityisen ystävällisiä. Aurinkoa, merta, hiekkaa, hyvää ruokaa ja ystävällisiä ihmisiä. Voin suositella lämpimästi.Kallis mutta ihana.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Fint Hotel med nära till stranden!

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Allt är utmärkt hotellet samt professionella personaler som är hjälpsamma på alla fronter. Maten är utmärkt fresh mycket exotiska frukter samt buffet på morgonen av olika slag asiatiskt eller Continental frukost. Det finns inte som jag kan säga om det saknar nåt kanske min plånbok😉
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from munchen, bayern

Wunderschöne anlage katastrophaler zimmerservice

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Im zimmer würde kein einziges mal der Sand gereinigt, ekelhaft dreckig unter den Betten, dessen Lacken teils löchrig waren. Kaffeemaschine würde erst nach vielfacher bitte gereinigt.Und vieles mehr... Preis Leistung des Abendessens unglaublich: 50Euro p.P. Für ein gutes aber nicht adäquates 2 Wochen lang ähnliches essen. Um neun gab es kaum noch etwas am dessertbuffet. .
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2015 by Pieter V, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent visit with us. We noted that you had concerns in regarding to housekeeping and the dessert buffet. We are sorry this was not brought to our attention during your visit so that we could have taken corrective action. Rest assured that we are reviewing both these matters and thank you for bringing them to our attention now. Regarding the pricing we are constantly bench-marking our offers against the rest of the island in terms of value and quality. We did note that you enjoyed the setting and hope that perhaps in the future you will return to see the improvements that have been put in place. With our best wishes Pieter van der Hoeven General Manager