Ratings based on 191 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Cons: la synchronisation entre le départ de l'hotel et l'enregistrement de nos bagages a l'aéroport..2h d'attente inutile a l'aéroport
tres bel établissement confortable un accueil de qualité et des prestations digne de son classement... un peu loin de toute vie locale..
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Un excellent séjour

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Nous avons passé 8 jours merveilleux à l'hotel Sands Suites Resort & SPA. Un grand merci à toute l'équipe pour leurs attentions et la qualité de leur service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very nice hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The restaurant and the quality of the food. Very attentive service from the staff. We enjoyed the quiet peaceful atmosphere of the hotel.
Location: Located at the end of the beach strip, it is slightly isolated which is perfect if you are like us and want peace and quiet. You can rent a bike.
Enjoyed very much that upon receiving my booking, I was assigned a guest relation agent who was available to help with any problems. I very much enjoyed that the check in was done in our room and enjoyed the sparkling wine. The food at the restaurant was superb. The entertainment was elegant... not too loud like in some other establishments in Mauritius. The welcoming gifts were very tasteful. We enjoyed the refined touch of an evening aperitif that was delivered to our room each evening. The stay was sprinkled with a variety of little complimentary touches that defined the establishment. The one little problem was ironed out thanks to the intervention of Melissa my guest relation agent.It is the perfect place for rest & relaxation in a classy environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2016 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Dear Mr./s G, Thank you for your highly motivating comments and also for selecting Sands Suites Resort & Spa for your stay in Mauritius. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay among us particularly the quality of the food , the peaceful yet friendly atmosphere and the little complimentary touches offered. We hope that these sweet moments will stay for long in your memories and our staff will be delighted to welcome you back to Sands in the future. Kind regards, Patrick, Resort Manager
4 out of 5
by Johanna from Finland

Quality time in a resort

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice resort which really tries it's best. We had full board, got a bit bored with short list of lunch options. Breakfast and dinners were great. Note, that drinks are not included and they are pricey. I loved that they even baked gluten free bread and pancakes for me, superb! Unfortunately not all the personnel were 100% aware how strict the diet is when it is sickness, not the trend diet. One of the cooks boiled pasta in the same water with the normal pasta... and that is a big no-no. We were also wondering how freely birds could eat your breakfast and drink your coffee. There could be done more to prevent this. The room was spacious and appeared clean. Still there were tiny bugs in the bathroom and a gekko living behind our tv. Something to improve was sound proofing. You could easily be disturbed by the neighbours and we needed to change the room because of a rooster who lived in a house next door. It kept crowing all night long and even ear plugs didn't help. The surroundings were ok, but in order to see sunset you need to walk around the beach corner. Hotel beach were also quite windy and there were no places to hide from it. There is not much to see in Flic-en-Flac, just a beach. You need a car or a taxi to get anywhere and they are expensive. Hotel arranges some water activities which are nice. There is also small fitness room and spa. Sauna and jacuzzi were free of charge which was nice since it wasn't that warm there in the winter time!
4 out of 5
by Gerard from Dublin

Great but...

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful location, excellent hotel, good staff. The premises is modern and the location is very beautiful. But the quality of food included full board is disappointing - canteen quality. Drinks pricing silly expensive including €3 for bottle of water with meals.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Delhi, India

Great Experience Overall

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Great Location by the beach.
Cons: Would appreciate if the hotel offers at least a complimentary bottle of water per table during buffet dinner.
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and were pleased with overall quality. The upkeep of the hotel, rooms is good and the room size was very good. Though all rooms are sea view, but in a few rooms, the view is partial blocked by the palm trees. The buffet was a choice of different menu on all days(06 Nights).
5 out of 5
by marie from Châtres

Hotel presque parfait

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
C'était un séjour assez bref (4 jours) mais l'accueil était vraiment génial. Nous sommes arrivées a 8h de l'aéroport et on nous a libéré une chambre dès 10h du matin. Le personnel est super accueillant, souriant et agréable. A part le fait que l'hôtel est situé au bout d'une rue et donc il faut marcher un peu avant d'arriver à la station de bus (15 min) franchement tout était parfait. Petit bémol pour le buffet mauricien du mercredi qui n'était pas aussi bien que ce à quoi je m'attendais mais c'est un petit détail par rapport au reste.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2016 by Patrick, Hotel Management
Bonjour Mme/Mlle Marie, Nous sommes ravis de lire que vous avez aimé votre séjour parmi nous au Sands. Nos clients peuvent avoir leur chambres des l'arrivée même s'ils arrivent tôt le matin mais cela dépend bien évidemment de la disponibilité des chambres. Nous sommes sincèrement désolés que le buffet du mercredi ne vos ait pas plu. Cependant nos chefs auraient eu beaucoup de plaisir de vous concocter un plat a votre gout. Nous espérons avoir le privilège de vous accueillir de nouveau au Sands si vous décidez de revenir visiter l'ile Maurice. Très Cordialement, Patrick, Resort Manager
5 out of 5
by Paul from Chiangmai

Nice Get Away

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was of the best standard. While all of the staff were very efficient one or two of them needed to show a little warmth and smile. While the hotel is faultless the location meant an expensive taxi journey to get anywhere or to get day to day necessities. It woulds have been helpful if the hotel had supplied a some form of transport to get to the local town which was 5k away.
5 out of 5
by jean-jacques from velizy

séjour inoubliable

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
séjour inoubliable...tout était parfait :hôtel, plage,service, repas et surtout l amabilité de tous les mauriciens
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2016 on Hotels