Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel stay

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
Had a bad experience as my confirm booking which was paid but when I went to check in there was no room available and they told me that the hotel was full.They told me to wait for 30 minutes to sort it out.After that they manage to get me a smoking room which was not what I had requested. Since there was no smoking room I had no choice to take the smoking room but I had a uncomfortable night in that room even though the hotel tried to help by putting a diffuser .They managed to get me a non smoking room the next day. The staff at the counter was plesent and courteous while attending to me.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This hotel should improve their service

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
We think that the receptionists do not really understand with the payment methods. We argued with them about the payment using credit card. First, they insisted to open our credit cards with deposits and they would return our money back to the card (how come?). We wanted to pay directly and had our credit cards sealed, or, they might open and deposit but then close it when we check out and we pay. We argued for some times. Finally they agreed to receive our payment (sealed) and we deposited some money. Second, they refused to give us receipts with a reason that we booked through booking.com. It's quite strange. We had paid when we checked in. Again, we argued and we showed the print out of our payments. After the debates, they agreed to give us the receipts.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very convenient to Railroad station.

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staffs, very good location and nice swimming pool but the gym's equipments are old and rusty. Over all still worthy for the price.definitely will come back
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel around city centre

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Staffs are exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room is huge but one thing turned me off... there are cigarette butts in the lift trashcan when the room level is supposed to be non-smoking area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Medan is quite dead at night.

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: The new rooms
Cons: Hotel is bad in check-in and check-out
Location: Not much to rate Medan.
Need to check your travelling priority. If wanted sight seeing you need to plan for mountain view and Medan is far from that as it more of clubs and pubs. Sight seeing is a minimal as can be done in a day.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Yoesi, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Warmest greeting from Grand Mercure Maha CIpta Medan. Thank you for taking the time wrote a review based on your experience during your previous stay. However, I am disappointed about your check in and check out experience. Your feedback is our value to improve the quality of service, me and my team apologize for the inconvenient occurred in your previous stay. I will appreciate if you could give me specific feedback during your stayed trough email at gm@grandmercure-angkasa-medan.com. I hope you can give me opportunity to make better impression for our hotel. We looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Sincerely, Yoesi Bagus Taruna General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Big place with big attitude and poort service.

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
When I arrived, at first they could not find my booking even though I booked it a week earlier. They had to verify with Expedia / hotel.com to find my booking. Then after a long wait, she come back to me and said that my booked "Deluxe Room, 1 King Bed" was not available and they could only provide me a room with two twin beds. How can a room be not available when I booked one week in advance and how did it actually get booked if it was not available? I said that it was not acceptable and I had no use of twin bed. So, the female reception goes again for checking and comes up with the news that they were giving me and upgraded room without extra charge but when I came to the room, I found out that it was actually a downgrade because there was no bathtubs in the bathroom. So I came downstairs and I challenged the reception about the upgrade with less amenities and she could not answer. I told her that I was accepting it for the night but I wanted a transfer to my originally booked room the next day and she said that there was no availability the next day. Still I wanted her to report me the next day but she never called me. So, I have a very strong feeling that they over book their rooms when they get a higher price. Secondly, the security is prejudiced. There is a scanner at the entrance and every time I came back from outside, I had to go through it but I saw many locals did not have to go through it. There is no descent restaurant apart from a KFC.Housekeeping was excellent
4 out of 5
by Muhammad

Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
the hotel is good, very comfort and nice food
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely renovated hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016 on Hotels
Value for money hotel with excellent facilities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel, green grounds and environment

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
Was not 5 star as claimed. Towels were not changed and was discoloured to over washing. Slippery bathroom floor and no bathroom towel, it was placed outside the bathroom door. Bathtub poor, water was discoloured and rusty to non use. Sink water was poor in bathroom. Phone keeps ringing from the bathroom rather than from the bedside table. Room was nice but bathroom needs upgrading. Staff are helpful and pleasant. One of them was sick at the reception and was so obvious she was having a nose drip with her constant breathing in of the nasal drip. Lobby area is nice and the hotel was nice enough to give a morning breakfast free though it was first bluntly said 'no'. Lift shuts too fast.