Featured Image
Featured Image

Get an overview of this hotelRomantic Naples hotel in Historical Center, walk to Castel Nuovo


Located in Historical Center, this romantic hotel is within a 5-minute walk of Casa e Chiesa di Santa Maria Francesca delle Cinque Piaghe and Castel Nuovo. Teatro di San Carlo and Galleria Umberto are also within 10 minutes.

Hotel Features

A bar/lounge, concierge services, and a 24-hour front desk are available at this hotel. Free breakfast and free WiFi in public areas are also provided. Other amenities include tour/ticket assistance and multilingual staff.

Room Amenities

All 14 soundproofed rooms feature free WiFi and minibars. For a bit of entertainment, guests will find TVs with satellite channels, and other amenities include balconies and room service.

Hotel Amenities

Hotel Amenities

A bar/lounge is on site where guests can unwind with a drink. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access.

This romantic hotel also offers tour/ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and concierge services.

  • Number of floors - 4 
  • Number of buildings/towers - 1 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Offsite parking discounted rates available 
  • Free breakfast 
  • 24-hour front desk 
  • Total number of rooms - 14 
  • Bar/lounge 
  • Concierge services 
  • Elevator/lift 
  • Tours/ticket assistance 
  • Luggage storage 
  • Multilingual staff 
  • Year Built 1600 


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Offsite parking discounted rates available

Room Amenities

  • Shower/tub combination 
  • Free WiFi 
  • Private bathroom 
  • Free toiletries 
  • Balcony 
  • Soundproofed rooms 
  • Air conditioning 
  • Minibar 
  • Coffee/tea maker 
  • Daily housekeeping 
  • Hair dryer 
  • In-room safe 
  • Iron/ironing board (on request) 
  • Television 
  • Desk 
  • Satellite TV service 
  • In-room climate control (air conditioning) 
  • Room service (limited hours) 
  • Rollaway/extra beds (surcharge) 

Where to Eat

Guests are offered a complimentary breakfast each morning.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies


Check-in time starts at 2 PM

Special check-in instructions:


Check-out time is 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child 2 years old or younger stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for EUR 20.0 per night.


  • Pets stay free
  • 1 per room (up to 44 lb)

You need to know

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

Pets allowed (no fees)


You'll be asked to pay the following charges at the property:
  • A tax is imposed by the city: EUR 2 per person, per night, up to 10 nights. This tax does not apply to children under 18 years of age.
We have included all charges provided to us by the property. However, charges can vary, for example, based on length of stay or the room you book.

Optional extras

The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out.
  • Rollaway bed fee: EUR 20.0 per night
The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees and deposits may not include tax and are subject to change.

Hotel Name

We should mention

All guests, including children, must be present at check-in and show their government-issued photo ID card or passport. Cash transactions at this property cannot exceed EUR 2999.99, due to national regulations. For further details, please contact the property using information in the booking confirmation. One child 2 years old or younger stays free when occupying the parent or guardian's room, using existing bedding. Only registered guests are allowed in the guestrooms.

Sorry, we seem to have had an issue loading our review content. Try again?
Learn more.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
Learn more.

Lovely place in the middle of old Naples

5 out of 5
by from UK
Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Location, its interior, its staff and its breakfast.
Great hotel, in the middle of old Naples, only steps away from Toledo and easy walking distance from the historical centre. Lovely staff, fantastic breakfast, little bars and restauranta just around the corner.
Was this review helpful to you?

Fantastic hotel in a great location.

5 out of 5
by from St Augustine, Florida
Posted Nov 23, 2016
The hotel staff were wonderful, offering suggestions about the local attractions. You get the real feel of Naples walking the small streets of Quartiere Spagnoli. Will definitely stay at Il Convento on our next trip to Naples.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Maria Chiara
Thank you for your review. Your opinion is very important to us. We hope to have you back here soon
Was this review helpful to you?

Great location. Helpful staff

4 out of 5
Posted Nov 6, 2016
Had a great time in Naples. After being warned about safety, we felt very relaxed and safe. the location of the Hotel is fantastic for getting the vibe of the city and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. Good breakfasts and room comfortable with an aura of city history.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Maria Chiara
Thank you for your comment. Your opinion is very important to us. We are happy to know you enjoyed Quartieri Spagnoli: an area of the city center away from the tourist masses where you can appreciate the real Napoli We hope to have you back here soon
Was this review helpful to you?

Spanish Quarter Real Naples

5 out of 5
Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The location as perfect. Walking distance from Teatro San Carlo.
Location: All of the markets near the hotel. It was very real world Italy.
Staff was very friendly. Assisted us with an early check in. Assisted us in obtaining transportation. Very clean.
Was this review helpful to you?

Nice quiet hotel, located close to sites

4 out of 5
Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: rooms, location
Cons: nothing
Location: The hotel is located in the Spanish Quarter which is a bustling neighbourhood with narrow lanes and lots of delicious restaurants.
Stayed here in July and had a great experience. Rooms were clean and quiet with modern amenities. Staff were friendly, and breakfast was delicious. Would definitely stay there again.
Was this review helpful to you?

Great atmosphere!

5 out of 5
by from Virginia
Posted Jun 22, 2016
My family stayed here in the mezzanine room. It was a great stay! The breakfast was very nice with varied offerings. The staff were helpful and friendly. The children loved the room and balcony overlooking the street. There are bells from the church in the morning which were a nice wake up. We saw complaints of street noise but had no trouble with that. The location is amazing - such a great place to walk around. We wished we had planned a longer stay. Would absolutely return.
Was this review helpful to you?

Good location, terrible beds

3 out of 5
by from Connecticut
Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The bed, pillows, bathrooms, breakfast
Location: Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Pantheon, Piazza Navona
Location was great which is why we chose the place to begin with, right next to the metro and a short walk from the Trevi and Spanish Steps. However, the first day we got there after giving a whole speech on the area and amenities the front desk guy informed us that there was no room for us, since they'd had other travelers unexpectedly extend their stays. His excuse sounded fishy, but exhausted from travel there was nothing we could do and were shuttled to his back up hotel, a good 15-20 min walk up hill away from everything. We got our room the next day, which was fine, except for the fact that the shower didn't work, and we used the hand attachment to shower the next three days. Plus there was a leak in the bathroom, where water from the shower would leak and render the whole floor soaking wet, even when we hadn't actually used the shower. Beds were rock hard, as were the pillows, but this seems to be standard for Italy so I guess not that big of a deal- but given the FOUR STARS everywhere on the hotel branding, you'd think they could do better. The breakfast here was the worst that we'd encountered on our 10 day trip through Italy- they literally charged for water and orange juice, which were standard at every other place we went. Overall, the reason we chose the hotel was the location, and it worked out for us. The hassle with not having a room the first night was beyond stressful, and really put us off the hotel from the get go.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2016 by Flavia
Dear Guest, we thank you for taking time to write a review, but THE HOTEL YOU'RE WRITING ABOUT IS NOT US:I suppose it's in Rome as you wrote it's near to Trevi fountain, piazza navona and pantheon... but we're in Naples. We are a 3 stars hotel (not 4 like you wrote), we don't have any back up hotel and our breakfst is always complimentary, whatever you decide to eat or drink. So, we're sorry if you didn't like your stay in Rome...but we underline your review was not for us. Kind regards Hotel Il Convento
Was this review helpful to you?

4 out of 5
Posted May 29, 2016
Location: Close a shopping area and a number of small restaurants.
Small Hotel, comfortable and clean. Stayed only two nights in transit but everything was satisfactory for our needs.
Was this review helpful to you?

Great staff, lovely clean, comfortable

5 out of 5
by from Brooklyn, NY
Posted Mar 27, 2016
The staff was very helpful in making suggestions and giving directions. The hotel is charming. Very good breakfast in quaint dining room. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful to you?

Helpful staff - a gem of a little hotel

5 out of 5
by from London
Posted Mar 12, 2016
Staff were very welcoming and helpful, answering any questions we had about getting around or places to eat. Lots of scooters and mopeds around which can travel at speed around the back streets, but that is hardly the fault of the hotel. We stayed for just three nights, visiting Pompeii and Sorrento. Easy to get to both places. Hotel is brilliantly located for shopping & access to the Metro. If I could suggest one small improvement, it would be the bread at breakfast. Pieces were very small and on two of our three days, bread ran out very quickly. Nonetheless, this is still a gem of a hotel, offering great value for money and a warm welcome. Particular thanks to Nelo and Luca who went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant and comfortable one. We wanted to visit other parts of the Amalfi coast and also Herculaneum. Alas not enough time on this occasion, but we would be more than happy to stay at Il Convento again.
Was this review helpful to you?