Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Extraordinary hotel in medieval village

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Incredible attention to detail, and the unique setting.
Location: Situated in Cagnes sur Mer, this hotel is a great jumping off point from which to visit the entire Cote d'Azur, with great bus & train access.
Hotel was not only 5 star quality - with uniquely quality appointments and details everywhere - but its location in the buildings of a centuries old medieval village make it really a one of a kind experience. Getting in and out requires some walking uphill, but there is a local shuttle that can eliminate much of that. Truly an incredible experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent, UK

Beautiful hotel set in a medieval village.

Posted Sep 15, 2016
Pros: The location definitely. The views. The bed was so comfortable.
Cons: The hotel was not busy at all so it would have been nice to be upgraded to a nicer room. Maybe if we were not a same sex married couple......
Location: The location was perfect for us. We walked to the beach every day. We had a lovely time and would stay again but would not eat in the restaurant again
The hotel was beautiful and the views from the restaurant were amazing. We actually got the bus from Nice airport (10 mins if that) and then walked up. This is not for the faint hearted! We both run and are considered very fit but we both found it challenging! It is very steep and there are a lot of steps. We could of rang the hotel and they send a car down but we wanted to have a look at the village on the way up. The staff were nice and we were shown to our large room overlooking the village. It would have been nice to have had a room with a terrace but we were not offered/we didn't ask for an upgrade. We ate in the restaurant on the last night and all i can say was that they saw us coming (two women). The waiters asked if we wanted a glass of Champagne as an aperitif. I wish that i had asked if this was included in the 68 euro per person charge but stupidly didn't. Each glass cost 25 euros. Thankfully we didn't go for a bottle of wine as the two glasses of house red at 7 euros each was in fact from another bottle of their choosing that was in fact 14 euros on the bill. Most expensive meal ever and it definitely was not worth it. I will never get stung like that again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A beautiful hotel on a hilltop

Posted Jun 25, 2016
Pros: It is a quaint hotel in a medieval village.
Cons: Wifi was a taste unreliable in our room.
Location: Shopping, restaurants, St Paul de Vence are all nearby.
My wife and I found this small luxury hotel to be perfect for our travel in Provence. It is away from the bustling crowds at the beach perched on a hilltop. The restaurant is the best in the area. It's location is near shopping, other good restaurants and the Renoir Museum.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Secret luxury hotel in romantic hilltop setting

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Everything, especially the breakfast room with its opening ceiling
Cons: Breakfast was lovely but a bit narrow choice
Location: Just go
Lovely hilltop medieval town of Haut de Cagnes, very close to Nice Airport. Amazing windy streets closed to all but local traffic. The hotel is first class and lovely. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was delightful Bed the best comfort ever Hotel provides car shuttle up to the hotel reception from the Cemetery free car park; this is the ride of your life: you have to admire the driver's ability to whizz along tiny roads that mere mortals would scrape both car door mirrors on at the same time
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kansas ciry

Difficult to get to

Posted Oct 18, 2015
We had a difficult time getting to the hotel but once there it was charming and comfortable. The bathroom was quite small with shower that got the whole floor wet. Loved the old world character, very unique.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall.England

Unusual and unique hotel.

Posted May 18, 2015
Pros: We originally decided to stay here, after having lunch on a couple of occasions on a previous visit. The restaurant has a lovely terrace.
Cons: Can't think of anything specific, we were extremely satisfied with the whole experience.
Location: A difficult place to get to, especially if you're driving! Our taxi driver had difficulty finding us. It's best to let the hotel organise transport.
We only stayed for one night, however it was everything we hoped it would be. Extremely peaceful, in a unique position with outstanding views of the Maritime Alps and the Cote d' Azur. Lovely room, with an extremely comfortable bed. Had a really good evening meal and a good breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Much Needed Peace and Quiet on Our European Tour

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: The bed was divine! It had a bed topper and fluffy pillows that just begged us to stay in bed...which we did for quite a while.
Cons: Maybe provide a less expensive/tedious way to get to and from the hotel from the major transportation hubs.
Location: It's a nice romantic place to walk around, but no major attractions nearby unless you count the beach.
The Chateau was exactly what we needed in the middle of our honeymoon tour of Europe. It was as far from the hustle and bustle of major cities like Paris and Barcelona as we could get and we loved it. The hotel was a bit difficult to get to initially. We arrived at the Nice airport, walked to the train station, hopped a train, only to walk to a shuttle stop that took us to the top of the hill near the hotel. From there our baggage battled epic cobblestones as we got lost in the little medieval village. Yet despite all that, the trek was worth it! The room was perhaps the most comfortable room we stayed at among the six hotels we visited. To be honest, we were so tired that we slept a good portion of the two days we were there. When we woke up, we hopped the shuttle down into Cagnes Sur Mer and walked about the town and down to the beach. There wasn't much to do and see, but the small town atmosphere was a welcome respite from the big city sights and sounds. The rest of our time was spent wandering the little sleepy medieval village which had a charm all it's own. We did have dinner at the Chateau Le Cagnard restaurant and for someone who does not do fine dining, I was particularly impressed. It was our most expensive meal of our two week trip and I definitely see why. The food was delicious and surprisingly filling. I would recommend the splurge and trying it at least once on your visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scotland

nice historic hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Very different style. Staff really friendly and would drive you to the station or into town but the free shuttle bus was also very efficient.
Cons: Staff didn't know that the market car park was free and available most of the time. mini bar in room only had soft drinks.
Location: Location very scenic - try to get a sea view. Trains to Monaco and Antibes. Rest and Relaxation.
A wee bit out of the way but once you are up there very good. No bar in hotel but enough in walking distance. Restaurant in hotel was pretty expensive for dinner
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel right up on top of Haut de Cagnes

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Fabulous views, fascinating building, beautifully decorated, comfortable room, welcoming staff. You walk out of the hotel into the narrow medieval streets of Haut de Cagnes, lots of restaurants nearby, all very interesting. A bit pricey perhaps, but worth it for a special stay. And only 20 minutes max by taxi to airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hingham, Massachusetts

A Treasure Refreshed

Posted May 8, 2014
We had stayed at Le Cagnard fifteen or so years ago and were hoping it had weathered the years well, so we were delighted to find it even better. The hotel underwent a major renovation about five years ago, with emphasis on the comfort of the rooms. By chance we were given the same room as before and so were in a position to make a direct comparison: it had been OK, if a little dark, but the renovation had transformed it into a lovely, luxurious retreat above the rooftops of the medieval town.