Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Davinder

Crowded Ooty

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Ooty town and the surrounding slopes (other than tea gardens) are littered with plastic and garbage. Nightmare traffic, poor road maintenance, and surging crowds - not what you expect at a getaway hill destination. Fern Hill resort was mixed - crowded, little noisy. The facility is clean, but needs better maintenance. The plumbing needs an upgrade, the TV didn't work, the window stays were broken. The espresso machine was not working for many days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Felt like a prison. 5km from town. No pool, nothing to they arranged a pickup but the taxi was no show which caused too much stress
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chennai, India

Average Hotel Experience

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: Dining Service - Service was commendable though and a few of the waiters like Radhakrishnan, Ramesh provided excellent service.
Cons: Quality of Food needs to be improved. No running hot water in Spa. There were no BonFires for a whole week even though they promised twice a week.
Location: Nothing much to do nearby as the property is in an isolated location.
A very average stay to sum it up. Property - A very nice property far removed from the bustle of the city. Just about the only plus I must say. Rooms - Rooms are of decent size with good views. But upon checking-in I was told that the Hotel does not provide any toiletries. When I requested for Soaps, Shampoos etc., I was told to use the Shower gel instead. They finally provided me with the items after a lot of haggling. Also, special mention is to be made regarding the soiled and dirty linen/towels that they provided even after repeated complaints. Dining & Restaurant - The quality of food is below par. The breakfast buffet is barely passable and there aren't a lot of options to go A la carte even at dinner time. The dishes are inconsistent. Stayed there for a week and I ordered mutton dishes(Indian) on most of the days and at times I was served a different dish on different days even though I ordered the exact same Mutton Masala. It was also amusing to be told by different waiters that mutton was unavailable on some occasions. They would somehow oblige to check with the chef after I inform them that I did have mutton the previous day. Then there are the live counters that have people apologizing that they would try to make a dosa when you ask for one. Wonder why inexperienced chefs are preparing food that they aren't comfortable with. Service was commendable though and a few of the waiters like Radhakrishnan, Ramesh provided excellent service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I would have been happy to give a 5 star!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Its beautiful location and the courteous & helpful staff
Cons: House keeping
Location: A good idea to go to Bandipur Jungle Lodge (~50 km) and enjoy the Jungle Safari two times and the stay. If you are lucky you may see Tigers also.
An excellent property and I think it is one of the best locations in Ooty. Hotel staff are courteous. I would have been very happy to give a 5 start to this hotel. But, they need to improve in their house keeping and check the room appliances throughly before allotting it to the guest. The toilet flush went bad twice, the room heater stopped working on the first day. Yes, the staff attended to those complaints. But, on holiday, who would like to register complaints early in the morning that the flush stopped working, that too twice within a period of 4 days!? In spite of this, I liked the place very much, its location, serene beauty of wide valley that one can enjoy from the window also.
5 out of 5
by Janani

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Pavithra from Chennai

Decent stay

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
We were in Ooty for three nights and four days. Wanted to stay at the Sterling close to race course, but booked Fern Hill by mistake. But there was not much to regret. In fact it worked out great. We were able to take the cabs (arranged by Sterling) to the city as well as stay away from the pollution of Ooty at night. This place is more suited for families with kids/small children. We went during christmas 2015 and the noise of the kids kept us awake for longer than we wanted. Definitely recommend for family with kids. Not recommended for business travelers (no wifi in the room and distance from the city); not recommended for couples without kids.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
The shower mixer was really bad , either you get really hot water or really cold water . very bad ...
4 out of 5
by Rakesh from Delhi

Not value for money

Posted Jun 30, 2015 on Hotels
Cleanliness not upto mark
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangalore

Hell of a road to get to heaven

Posted Feb 23, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel but had a bad time reaching the hotel. Firstly it is hard to find the hotel then had a hard time getting to it through the worst roads in ooty. Finally when you reach the hotel, its like reaching heaven, broad roads, ample parking, lovely staff, beautiful rooms n view, good food n an overall lovely experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Highly overpriced. Bad value for Money

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything
Heater doesn't work Hot Water Geyser doesn't work No adequate parking Approach road terrible Loud buzzing sound and cranking noise in all rooms Badly designed atrium which makes it extra noisy and most important - the marketing team called within 5 mins of checking in in order to see their holiday packages. DUDE who the hell wants to take marketing/sales calls when on vacation. clearly the team was more obsessed on selling their plans over my comfort in one word - this hotel is worth if they charge 2500 not 7500!!!