Ratings based on 491 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

pick up place for Take Tours

Posted Mar 4, 2017
check in ok.Continental breakfast included.Lobby has no restroom.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful location, outdated, dirty, wifi didn't work

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Extremely uncomfortable stay. Worst experience I've had. Awful wifi connection, terrible continental breakfast, worst crunchy sounding mattress, scratchy towels, smelly room, window overlooked the 405 freeway, curtains didn't darken the room, it was dirty, no nice amenities and to top it off rude staff!!! could NOT wait to check out!!! Don't stay here. Barf.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel next to freeway

Posted Feb 22, 2017
This was not a good experience. Noisy hotel next to freeway. Kept me up all night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego

A decent affordable hotel.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
This is a reasonable place to stay on a budget. Clean, and the bathroom was remodeled with basic tile. I'd stay there again if I needed to stay in the area, but it would be too basic for my wife.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surf City Half Marathon Weekend

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Not much
I chose this hotel due to its proximity to the Marathon Expo and starting point but was very disappointed with the facility. It was more like a motel than a hotel. The bed was hard and uncomfortable and the pillows were lumpy and stiff. I wouldn't call what was advertised as a "continental breakfast". Danish, cereal and plain bread is not my idea of a continental breakfast. Too much traffic noise and noise from the skating rink next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

my stay at the hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2017
Our room has cracked table and dirty futon. Sink is rusted. Electrical outlets - some work some don't.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel off the 405 fwy.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Hotel staff is friendly and helpful. The checking in time was prompt. The rooms are spacious and clean. I enjoy the no hassle of checking in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

No notice of 100$ deposit charge anywhere

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: gave us a place to sleep
Cons: they need to not charge a deposit since they have my credit card information and have me sign a disclosure for damges
Location: somewhat inconvenient location, takes 15 minutes to get to the beach if you get every green light
The hotel itself is okay for what it is, a two star hotel. My main issue was the $100 hold that they place for the deposit which was not stated anywhere, and caused an issue with my bank account due to funds not being available. Had there been any mention of this charge i could have been more prepared. The hotel room itself had a very strange odor and the windows are not able to be opened to air out the room, so we had to just deal with the smell of whatever cleaners or air fresheners they were using and it was very uncomfortable. I would not stay here again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent value for the pretty low price ...

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: clean
Cons: staff, in every aspect
Location: right next to freeway, but the freeway facing room has extra-thick double 2-pan glass window. So the noise is well controlled
right next to freeway, but the freeway facing room has extra-thick double 2-pan glass windows (regular 2-pan window facing out toward the highway, another very-thick 2-pan insulated glass, spanning the entire window area as one piece). So the noise is well controlled Clean room & convenient location. But that is all. Staff will no go extra step for anything (or at least they are very slow to react: broken elevator light stay broken 2 hours after I reported to the front desk (so the elevator is basically a black box ... for who knows how long), milk and coffee in breakfast ran out, and stay out ... never refilled (I didn't stay to find out, but most likely so) Will I spend $20 extra to go the extra mile for staff service? Probably not. So, is it good value for the price I am willing to pay? May be so.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels