Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Time

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Atmosphere, style of decorations, accommodations, arcade, bikes, pool, bar, games....Fun place for sure!
Cons: Refrigerators & irons in rooms. More food choices. Beds weren't all that comfortable
This is a fun loving, updated hotel. I was there for a conference and everyone who stayed there in our group loved it. Most of the hotel staff was very pleasant and helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Dirty and smelled bad

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Pros: location near ASU
Cons: have a restaurant, or some type of food option. Have ice machines. Get cable channels. carpet the rooms and add a couch or better chair.
Location: ASU and restaurants are nearby
We left within a few hours and went to the Hampton Inn. First, there is no food. Just a bar, which doubles as the front desk. Wanted ice, but they don't have ice machines. Went to the bar/front desk to ask for a bucket of ice but was told they were out of buckets and offered a plastic bag filled with ice. The room was sparse. A double bed and a hardback chair. The elevator was broken and the entire hotel smelled moldy. The last straw was when we turned on the TV and there are no cable channels. Just the basic networks. I can't believe anyone would stay here.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with a fun hip vibe,

Posted Sep 25, 2016
From the time you walk in the lobby, the employees greet you with a smile and introduce to the absolutely fun hotel experience that you receive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern hip hotel

Posted Sep 24, 2016
As you check in they give you a free complimentary Moxy cocktail. There are free arcade games along with billiards and ping pong. The room is extremely unique and modern with a memory foam mattress. The only downside is the tv has 16 channels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No breakfast!!!

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Disappointed in not having breakfast in the morning. I missed this on my printout. Also in order to check in we had to go to the bar. Definitely not for me. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable but would not go back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Modern and fun hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Great energy, great environment, would stay here again and definately recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Il


Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Gameroom
Cons: Cleanliness
Upon walking in we realized the hotel was very unique and were excited. However, having the bartender also be the front desk attendant seemed to not be the wisest choice. When we finally got to our room we noticed a stain on the bathroom wall and was unsure whether it was blood or makeup. The room had a very cold feeling to it and although we could put up with the scratchy sheets and random scraps on the ground, the icing on the cake was house keeping walking in on us changing at nine a.m. without knocking.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Trendy / Hip Hotel

Posted Sep 5, 2016
This hotel was located right in the middle of ASU, but it was not loud or anything. It was a very different hotel, in a good way, the room was very trendy with a loft type feel to it. When you walk into the hotel, you may not know where the check in desk is, because it's a bar around it too. Unless I missed it, there should be some sign or identifiers letting guest know that's where to check in. Otherwise, it was a nice hotel, free parking and about 6 miles or 12-15 minutes from the airport when we drove it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego,CA

Trying to be trendy

Posted Aug 24, 2016
We had an issue and had to move rooms at 3am. To be fair the staff addressed the issues and did work to resolve them. Beyond that issue there were problems with the speaker systems outside which made for another early morning wake up. I was not a fan of running around finding extra towels or pillows. The concept is neat but this isn't a 4 1/2 star hotel. Beds comfortable, welcome drink nice, staff nice, neat lobby concept, location good for ASU. I left with mixed feelings about staying here again. Pack lightly no place to really put stuff or luggage. Would love to have known about the bike borrow before we checked out! That would have been helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Modern Hotel near ASU Tempe Campus

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Pros: VERY close to campus!!! Lobby bar/check-in desk is a fun twist on the norm. Free video games/pinball in the lobby. Cool room with a nice bathroom.
Cons: Elevator: HOT and slow! TV: great, except very few channels available (but you can link your mobile device)
Location: ASU campus is across the street (Barrett dorms; Vista del Sol). Jerry's liquor. Vine tavern. Whataburger. Short drive to Mill Road, ASU stadium, etc.
I spent two nights at moxy while I was in Tempe to help my son move into his new dorm. The hotel lobby is very cool, especially if you're into the "urban chic" or "hipster" style of design. It's very casual. If you're looking to get pampered at a hotel, moxy is not for you.