Ratings based on 342 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Subpar Hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2017
The hotel is in a nice location, however, during my 10 day stay here we experienced a lot of problems. The beds were extremely uncomfortable, the water stopped working completely, the fan from the ceiling leaked a huge puddle in front of the bathroom. The pool is nice, but there are many tiles missing at the bottom leaving it very sharp so you must be careful. The food was very subpar as well. All around i would not stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2017
Good location, face to the sea. But it's not very new. Old television, i mean very old, 90s. It might be very fancy hotel at that time. But today seems a little too old
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs work

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: The potential to be what it once must have been.
Cons: It badly needs repairs. The pool has broken and missing tiles.
This hotel has seen better days. With a major upgrade it could be a beauty again. It has great character but is sadly neglected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Cons: The rooms would benefit from a window that can be opened in the bathrooms. Otherwise the furniture in the bathrooms starts smelling of old,putrid wood
The rooms would benefit from a window that can be opened in the bathrooms. Otherwise the furniture in the bathrooms starts smelling of old, putrid wood. Apart from this , no problem, everything else was ok.
3 out of 5
by Fleur

Amazing location, but proceed with caution...

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
Whilst the hotel is in an absolutely superb location I would honestly be wary about recommending the hotel as the management of this hotel is shocking. The main issue is that the hotel staff are completely unprepared for their technical issues which is overbooking the hotel by 30 rooms a night. This then means that upon arrival at the hotel, guests are being greeted with the sad news that they have to be taken elsewhere for a specific amount of nights. Not only this, but they are told after an hour of waiting in the lobby for no apparent reason. My "check in" service was dreadful and after 1 hour and a half of waiting we were finally told that we were going to be staying in another hotel for the evening and that a car would pick us up at noon to bring us back to our rooms. They tried to make us sign some paperwork agreeing to this and we would be compensated through the form of a free dinner (no drinks included); this was obviously not signed. After eventually being picked up at 1pm our rooms only became available at 2pm and the elusive Manager was nowhere to be seen. After 5 days we eventually found the manager and she agreed to refund our rooms for the first night which was gladly excepted. This being said, it has been 2 weeks since our holiday and I am yet to see a refund in my bank account. Whilst I say these negative things about the management, I need to make it clear that the hotel is good and in a great location, we had a lovely holiday. Just beware.
1 out of 5
by Geoffrey

Posted Jan 31, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely rubbish hotel, don't even think of staying here, sleep on the beach is a better option
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TX

For the area a nice hotel.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Hotel not as nice as it looked on Expedia, but for the price and the area it was just okay. Defiantly not geared towards Americans. Room was spotless, had deluxe room, nothing special though. Breakfast buffet was average, same food everyday and other than eggs, fruit and toast, nothing else that would be considered an American breakfast. Did not have private beach as advertised, umbrellas had to be rented,and no beach chairs. The only rooms that had ocean view were the suites that were in the front of the hotel, and for the cost of those, you could stay at the Mövenpick. Our room was spotless and nice furnishings, bed was extremely to hard. This should not be classified as a spa hotel as the spa is not even open. Food everywhere is the same menu which after a few days got very dated. The hotel was very well located to many attractions and only a tuk tuk ride away. We did end up going to Paton Beach to the mall which had a huge supermarket and got some food/drinks to have any our room. The pool is nice but not your normal pool, more of a lazy river with few chairs that by 7 in the morning had already been claimed which left no where to just lay around the pool. The music at the pool was way to loud and the same soundtrack played over and over all day into the night. The staff speaks limited English but we managed to communicate. I would have to say that in the long run, we truly wish we had spent just a little more money to stay at the Mövenpick.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AUS

Close to the beach

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We didn't have a good first experience with this hotel unfortunately - at checkin they put us in the wrong room. When we pointed this out to them it took me 10mins of talking to the manager who kept telling me that there were none of the rooms we paid for available, to finally magiacally finding one of the rooms available. Unfortunately the bathroom wasn't the best as tiles were broken etc. overall nice place but wouldn't be rushing back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 4, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

i get to room in 18.00 i come to the hotel at 15.0

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: only the iocation
Cons: everything need improved
Location: the location is good
i get no good expeience from everything in the hotel