Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Pros: Localisation
Cons: A nice place but increase the comfort in the room, add a tv... and a place to have lunch
Location: The beach is near
We discovered a nice place, a beautiful beach but the hotel was not so comfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Nice location, bad attitude with management

Posted Sep 21, 2015
The actual inn staff was good, but management attitude is what lacks. Check in on Friday night was basically here is your key. I had to go back down to get the wifi password which should have been given to us at check in. The rooms have very little in the way of electrical outlets, thankfully we travel with a power strip. We were informed at check in that a wedding was taken place Saturday from 3pm to 10pm so could we park either across the street or on the side lot. We came back at 10pm looking forward to a drink in the lounge only to be informed the cash register had been cashed out, after an awkward moment of starring we said fine we had our own alcohol. When we checked out we were told we were all set, no, please come back, no, hope you enjoyed your stay or even, have a nice day. We stayed in room 20 which has the kitchen exhaust fans outside the windows those went on at 7 am Saturday and 8 am on Sunday. The bathroom has no sink in it and the shower had no spot to put soap or shampoo while showering. But I have to say the room with the windows open was very quiet and the beach is nice, Portland is a 20 min drive and Freeport just over 30 min.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from P

Nice location

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Wonderful location near the beach. Clean an well-maintained. Overall a nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Higgins Beach is just a few-minute walk away!

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Lovely inn with really nice staff. Housekeeping was excellent. And it was such a pleasure to fall asleep to fresh ocean air.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

very please, quiet, clean. Close to beach.

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: comfortable accommodations in both room and public areas
Cons: This can't be improved but the slanting floors were a riot! Wheeled luggage didn't always stay put!
Location: 20-25 min. to Portland if you can find the shortcut!
My sister and I reserved twin beds with a shared bath for two nights. The first night we asked if there was room with a private bath available. There was and we were given that room for just a bit more in price. The next day we had to move, but the staff moved our luggage to the room with shared bath. Shared bath was fine, not a problem ever getting in and we saw no one else involved in our "sharing". Staff very pleasant, restaurant great for breakfast; we did not have dinner there. Cash, the resident retriever, was an added entertainment. Inn was easy to find and get into Portland. Great roads, beautiful scenery.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt lake city ut


Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Beach close by
This exceeded my expectations! I felt like I was upstairs at my grandmothers house! Only nicer! Beach is beautiful, inn is charming, sweet lab met us at the door - would return in a second!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very pleasing stay close to the beach

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: Pleasing décor and closeness to the beach
Cons: Upgrade the electrical and add more bandwidth for WiFi access.
Location: Higgins Beach is a very easy walk from the Inn. Other venues, Cape Elizabeth with Portland Head light, and Old Orchard Beach are easy drives.
Booked a room late and had to use three different rooms to accommodate my stay. Despite the inconvenience of having to pack up twice the hotel staff was very accommodating and moved our bags into the next room. As pleasing as it was, only one of the rooms was very pleasing. One room had only one outlet and it was not grounded so the extension cord I had could not be used. Another room had only one overhead light and only one outlet. The third room had two outlets, a light next to the bed and one of the outlets was grounded. It also had a medicine cabinet over the sink whereas the other two rooms did not. But despite this I would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

Family reunion.

Posted Aug 16, 2014
We had a good time but the wait staff was really freaked out about me sitting on the veranda waiting for family I hadn't seen for forty years. The hostess said "well I'll let you do it this time". Silly. Next time I will try to o book the Breakers. Not nice although the bill is well over $250 and the tip was worth a few tables.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderfully old fashioned and close to beach

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Old fashioned. Friendly service. Clean and comfortable.
Clean and comfortable. bathroom is down the hall, but I only had to wait my turn once. Plenty of free parking, free newspapers. Breakfast options are quite varied and food is good. Room rates are a bit expensive for what you get, but it's a lovely location and convenient to area attractions.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with an easy walk to the beach.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the beach, ocean waves and seagulls could be heard from the room at night and early morning.
Cons: Regular closet pole instead of just hooks for hanging clothes would have been nice, but there were hangers and I had plenty of room for my clothes.
As advertised, I shared a bathroom with other guests but it was no issue. There was a full bath and a half bath and I never had to wait. Very comfortable room and excellent bed.