Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Amazing sea views but one small disappointment

Posted Oct 13, 2017
Pros: The views were incredible - dinner at sunset was beautiful
Cons: We were advised breakfast was at 7:30 but by 8am it wasn't ready yet
Location: Nice views
This hotel was for the most part incredible. The staff were very friendly and greeted us on arrival with a welcome drink of a refreshing glass of orange juice. We'd been driving for a while so it was very much appreciated. Our room was amazing with a mind blowing spa, and had an amazing front porch where we could sit and watch the sun set. We could also walk down to the beach which was great & had an amazing view. We hit the pool for a swim and cool down, unfortunately it was a windy day so we didn't stay long but the bartender at the pool bar was very pleasant & skilled. Dinner was fabulous and I highly recommend the food. The only downside was we needed to head off at 8am the following day to get to our next location, and although breakfast was supposed to be served at 7:30, by 8am no hot food had come out at all so we didn't have a good size breakfast & had to stop for something to eat on the way. Other than this we enjoyed our stay at the hotel and if we had more time in this region we would have stayed a few nights.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brantford,Ontario Canada

VERY DISAPPOINTING !

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Keep their aggrement.
Location: In the middle of no where
On arrival we were charged an extra 450 euros due to a booking error . I had called the hotel and Expedia to make them aware of the booking error. Expedia had made notes on their booking and hotel staff had notes on the reservation too. We were to pay an additional fee that I was fully aware of and the fee was agreed to be 200 euros. Instead when we arrived it was an additional amount of 450 euros. There was no compromise on their part, no upgrade and no trying to please the customer. When asked to talk to the manager we were told we would need to make an appointment. When they offered to make an appointment, the manager was only available 3 hours later. Very unprofessional. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING!
4 out of 5
by Andreas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Fantastic escape.

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Second stay. Nice modern clean rooms in a small complex. Excellent pool, lovely attached beach, good restaurant and attentive staff. very tranquil and great place to recharge your batteries. Beautiful views of the Ionian sea and Zakynthos and Kefalonia in the distance. Perfect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

3 days at Mare Dei

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
The problem with this hotel is the service. slow and failing at times. location is excellent, the rooms are big and the food good
4 out of 5
by Maria

Posted Jun 12, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed my stay a lot.I wish I knew that "free Wifi" was of very limited time use.The TV connections was very bad for English speaking channels.
5 out of 5
by Ioannis from Cupertino, CA

Hidden gem with gorgeous views and private beach

Posted Sep 21, 2015 on Hotels
This was my first time at this hotel, but it definitely won't be the last. This is an absolute gem of a boutique hotel; all the rooms are suites with sea view (remember, this is the Ionian Sea, not an ocean, so we can't call it ocean view), the beautiful pool is a very short walk away, and the wonderful private beach only a few meters further away. The rooms are super modern, super clean, and super comfortable, the huge balconies offer gorgeous views of the sea and amazing sunsets, and the kitchen whips up wonderful specialties made with fresh local ingredients. This hidden gem, tucked away in a remote spot, is perfect for a relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outstanding

Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is located a bit out of the way on the coast of the Ionian sea near Pyrgos - as you drive down the increasingly rural roads, you wonder if there is really a hotel at the end, but in fact, there is, and it is a beautiful modern facility, with great service. We stayed one night on the way from Nafplio to Kefalonia and it made a great stopover. Room was modern and clean and the restaurant was also very good. The beach is beautifully set among the rocks and not at all crowded. Keep in mind that the nearest town is a bit of a drive, so I would not plan on walking from the hotel to any restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely hotel right next to fabulous quiet beach

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Fantastic quiet and small hotel in remote location. Beautiful quiet beach - possible to get an umbrella at any time of day. Lovely shallow water and nice sand, great for children. The hotel also has a fabulous good sized pool, jacuzzi and children's pool, which were also very quiet - an absolute pleasure to spend the whole day between there and the beach. The breakfast buffet was very good with a large selection and there is a nice restaurant as well as a bar by the pool. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The suites were a really good size, very nicely furnished and kept spotlessly clean. We cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will be returning there ourselves.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel on a hill

Posted Jul 24, 2015 on Hotels
Had a delightful stay here for two nights. The property is on a hill with a lovely view. The pool is clean, but in need of a bit of work and landscaping. The beach was clean and had plenty of chairs. The room was also clean and extremely quiet. The restaurant was great. Ancient Olympia was only 30 minutes away.