Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Warm friendly place in paradise

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly, close to beach, facilities.
Cons: Price, a little expensive to stay more than a couple of days. Maybe a sliding scale where the longer you stay the cheaper it gets.
Location: The lagoon of course and a must see/do is the cultural show and dinner in town, just fantastic!
Stayed five days here after spending five days at a five star villa on Aitutaki. They were both comparable to each other but I think Sea Change Villa's probably edged out the Small Luxury Hotels member on Aitutaki. Sea Change is self catering but there are plenty of good places to eat nearby and Chistina at reception was fantastic organizing bookings, rental cars etc. We stayed in Villa #5 and it was just a short walk across the road to the beach and stunning lagoon where we swam every morning. The Villa also had its own spotless private pool where we relaxed with a cool off at the end of the day. Stand up paddle boards and kayaks are provided for use free of charge along with snorkel gear. There is also a communal laundry and a portable barbecue that you can take to your villa if you just want to have an easy meal around your own pool. On the down side, being on the main island ring road it does get a little noisy during the day with traffic passing if you leave your front doors open but hey, the rest of it definitely makes up for that. Wi Fi is expensive but the whole island is expensive for that having only one provider. All up, a lovely spot to stay and I hope to be back sooner rather than later.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

One of the best in Rarotonga!

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Large, spacious, own private pool, daily room service and helpful, knowledgeable staff.
Location: Good snorkelling. Car rental will bring a car to your door. Many restaurants with complimentary pickup. Local supermarket close by.
One of the best villas to stay in Rarotonga. They definitely undersold what they had to offer on the website. Airport pickup included bubbly, orange juice, water and cold flannels and a good driver that informed us about the island. The villa had food in the fridge ready for us. They also had snorkel gear including aqua socks, kayaks, paddleboards, dvd's, private pool, beach towels, free local calls and laundry facilities with free washing powder. The beach was just across the road and had good snorkelling and awesome views. We would definitely recommend this villa to everyone.
5 out of 5
by Eileen from Los Angeles

Best Stay Ever!!

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
Hands down, this was one of the best hotel experiences we have ever had!! Everything was just perfect, starting from the clean, spacious, and extremely well-equipped villa, the countless freebies (bikes, snorkeling gear, reef shoes, paddle boats, kayaks, music CDs, DVDs, washer, dryer, etc.), to the super amazing staff. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel truly welcome!! On top of all this, we got a complimentary early check-in, a well-stocked refrigerator including bread, butter, eggs, jam, milk, orange juice, beer, and even a bottle of wine (no charge whatsoever). They even gave us a complimentary rental car on our last day -- because our flight only left at midnight and they could not offer us a late check-out as other guests were arriving. Unbelievable!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Wonderful place to to stay

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing needs improving
Location: Perfectly located near good swimming and snorkeling spots, quiet yet convenient location
Couldn't have stayed at a nicer place on the island, staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend Sea change villas to anyone heading to the Cook Islands
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Australia - NSW - Sydney

Posted Mar 17, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Very well kept Villa, professionally run, stone throw from the beach
Location: Good views
Facilities: State of the art; Value: Amazing; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless;
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2014
We're delighted you enjoyed your time at Sea Change! We hope to see you again soon!
5 out of 5
by su from new zealand

Very stylish comfortable villa

Posted Nov 18, 2013
We had more than we needed here, heaps of room, very nice place. Aside from the very persistant rooster waking us early we loved it here. Would have been only improved if there was a bar onsite!
5 out of 5
by sergeyvzn

perfect place to relax and wonderful hosts

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on RatesToGo
me and my partner have just spent a week at Seachange and we loved the place! It's right on the beach, near a picture-perfect lagoon with good snorkelling. Our villa (we stayed in a 2 bedroom lagoon view villa) was really spacious and well appointed (maybe a little more things in the bathroom would make it even better, like cotton buds and little vanity sets etc). But the main asset of the place are the wonderful hosts, Craig and Beverly who go out of their way to make sure your stay memorable. On the last day my partner got taken ill and they let us stay in the room until it was time to go to the airport and Craig took us their in the car himself. They were very friendly and knowledgeable about the island. Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fastastic Villas, Fantastic Island.

Posted May 25, 2013
Location: Great Location. Recommend a scooter or car hire to have the flexability to get around the whole island and to restaurants.
Fantastic Villas, Best on the island. Great location. John. Nina and the team were really lovely and helpful. Had such a relaxing time and Cook islands is probably the best South Pacific Island we have been to. Loved it and will be back without a doubt.
5 out of 5
by Steve from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Fantastic Sea Change Villas!

Posted Mar 6, 2013
Pros: The villa and the view are fantastic!
Cons: Nothing
Location: The view is fantastic and very exclusive.
The location is second to none. The facilities are fantastic and the staff are very friendly and efficient. The welcome pickup was so quick we were on our way in minutes with champagne in less time than it takes to get into a car! The view from villa 2 (of 3) is superb. Brilliant and well done!
4 out of 5
by AA

Highly recommended secluded location

Posted Jan 28, 2013 on Hotels
Rather than criticize the hotel I'd like to generally explain that it seems like hotels on small tropical islands simply don't have the upkeep standards of those in more populated areas. What does that mean? Mostly that things aren't perfect. We really enjoyed the hotel and there are probably none or few others on Rarotonga as nice as the Sea Changes. The location was good, the people were nice, and the overall experience is one that we would happily re-live. Expect that places like this may have things in the rooms that need to be fixed, or simply don't work. Stuff on the island is not luxury. It is a small, rather poor place and they do the best they can. Rental cars are in poor condition, and little is what I would describe as 5 star luxury. While things might be rough around the edges, the island is great. Lovely beaches, relaxing winds, and warm weather. Food is good and nothing is too expensive. Though stuff closes quite early. Going back to the Sea Changes I want to point out a few nitpicks. Some lights in the room did not work. The in-room safe was useless and have instructions that did not apply to it. Some of the ocean gear there for the guests was in less than good condition, but that was really it for complaints. Those who are used to European or American luxury will find it to be charming, relaxing, but rustic. Those who want a low-key romantic getaway and have no problems with some "character" will love the Sea Changes and the island.