Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Wonderful oasis of calm in a fantastic city

Posted May 23, 2017
Pros: The hotel is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and the staff of friendly and very helpful
Cons: Nothing, a perfect stay
Location: The hotel is a stones from from the promenade of bars and restaurants overlooking the harbour, wander into the city though for the best food.
I can't rate this hotel highly enough, it is situated in a fantastic location within easy reach of the restaurants, beach and bars of the city, but once inside the walls it is like a little haven of calm and tranquility. Our patio looked out over the courtyard which is beautifully maintained and features a plunge pool, it was a little chilly in May and had the sun from about 10am until 4pm. It provides a lovely focus for the courtyard and we did made the use of it to cool off from time to time. The hotel is family run and all the staff, but Julie in particular bent over backwards to help make it a special trip, she was kind enough to provide us with information about parking before we arrived, information on the places to visit and even phone her father to check the weather for us on the other side of the island! The breakfast was simple but delicious, a good selection of greek yoghurt, cereals, bread an toasts, cold meats and cheeses together with freshly squeezed orange juice and delicious coffee. Our room was on two levels, sofa, TV and a small kitchen (fridge, sink and oven) downstairs with the bed and bathroom upstairs. The hotel has been rescued and renovated by the current owners and our room was done to a very nice standard with some lovely features. There are shutters which make it easy to sleep and an air con unit, which we did not use. Overall I can't fault anything about the stay, we will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

Lovely staff and rooms in excellent location

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and excellent location
Location: Lots to see in the area, close to a beach and lots of restaurants.
The room we had was spacious and stylish. Good bathroom. Large TV
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Beautiful hotel in the centre of old town Rethymno

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Pros: I liked the privacy, rooms, location, staff, and breakfast.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location is great. Hotel is in old town Rethymno with lots of tavernas, shops and historic monuments.
We stayed with kids in this lovely boutique hotel for 5 nights and we were not disappointed. Hotel is small, but at the same time very private. Rooms are on two levels and bathroom was very clean. Staff was very hospitable and we felt like home. We got the fresh squeezed orange juice every morning for breakfast and there were lot of variety of home made food to choose from. Every morning we got something different from Greek cuisine. Since hotel is in the beautiful old town there is no traffic and cars, we could walk right out of the hotel into the tiny streets of Rethymno. Every morning we could hear (not loud) church bell which was very romantic. We'll come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from leicester

Great location and staff

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Staff, building and breakfasts
Cons: Not much
Location: Very central so great for the old town but also convenient for beach
Lovely building and great staff. What more could you want?
5 out of 5
by Mick n Gail from UK

Hidden Gem

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
We have just returned from the Mythos Suites in Rethymnon and would say that everything about it is superb. The location is great - just a couple of hundred yards from all the great tavernas and shops etc. The hotel is small and friendly - the service and staff were superb. Our room was a junior suite on 2 levels which was great - but I think all the rooms looked great. If we come back to this area we wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Mythos Suites.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jaymul from Edinburgh, United Kingdom

Excellent location, stunning service

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful boutique hotel in a superb location just a very short walk away from Rethymno waterfront but without quite being in the bustle of the old town. Everything in very convenient walking distance. The small pool is a lovely amenity and the friendly service is superb - staff really went out of their way to make us feel at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Caroline from Vancouver, Canada

Beautiful Oasis in the City

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: The beautiful room beside the pool, the breakfast, the staff, the location! Perfection !
Cons: They seem to have it perfected :)
Location: The location is off a fairly busy shopping street and about 1 or 2 blocks from the main waterfront street that has all of the restaurants.
This hotel far exceeds its exceptional reviews! We arrived in the afternoon to be greater by a smiling, friendly, well spoken man (named Andy) who took us to our room ( # 5 or # 6) which is located in the courtyard by the pool. Our room was beautiful! We had a cute patio set where we enjoyed having coffee in the morning, or wine at night. The room was the best equipped room we came across on our European adventure - beautifully decorated, boasting a kitchenette, couch, and dining table. The complementary breakfast in the morning was amazing and the fresh pressed orange juice was a real treat. The location, although tough to find ( no fault of the hotel at all, who offered directions which I declined shortly after booking) is lovely! Located off a busy shopping street, the hotel is truly a hidden gem. I will return to Rethymnon just to stay here again, and plan on spending more than four nights. Thanks Andy for making our stay fantastic!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

hotel Mythos Rethmynon

Posted May 17, 2011 on Hotels
we stayed in the Mythos suites for 2 nights and absolutely loved it ,our junior suite was on 2 floors and had the feeling of being in a cottage. outside the terraces and the rest of the building are stunning. Its an oasis of calm and beauty. The hospitality of the owners is so genuine and thoughtful, they spent time and care over everything and yes I would whole heartedly recommend it and would definitely like to return , A wonderful experience!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels