Ratings based on 583 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orlando, FL

Copacabana during Carnaval

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: Breakfast, rooftop deck, bar and restaurant service.
Mar Palace is a great location. It is about 2 blocks from Copacabana beach. There are plenty of restaurants, bars, and shops within walking distance. The hotel is clean, cool, comfortable, and very safe. As an American I was impressed with the security of the building which requires key-cards to access the guest floors. There is plenty of access to taxis, wifi, breakfast is delicious, and the rooftop deck has a beautiful view of Christ the Redeemer. Our stay was extremely pleasant at Mar Palace Copacabana and I would recommend it to anyone planning to visit Rio.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Falls Church, VA

Leaking bathroom

Posted Mar 2, 2017
I reported a leaking in the bathroom and they showed up to fix it next day. They didn't want to change rooms. The shower wasn't very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

stay away

Posted Feb 8, 2017
good location, room, breakfast. reception staff VERY unwelcoming, not smiling, dismissive, rude. checked me into a smoking room despite request. when went down to tell the receptionist, she didn't believe me and sent me up again with a bellboy. after twice up and down (in the slow elevators), I had to wait another 40 minutes. When my guide came with me to the hotel for an hour, the bully at the reception pounded on me aggressively and said it's not allowed without payment. Nothing about this was mentioned in advance during reservation or reception or service directory. 10 minutes of arguments ensued until the manager relented.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Coatbridge, Scotland

the hotel is close to the beach 200 meters or so

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: the bar
Cons: the rooms are large enough to provide comfortable mini suites and the pool area could be improved by placing decking adjacent to the pool.
Location: only a couple of hundred meters from the beach and plenty of restaurants and cafes. Many supermarkets very close by in all directions
check in was quick but none too friendly. The room was large but very sparsley decorated and the air conditioning was like a jet engine - seriously but other than that the room was comfortable and I spent some time thinking how sensational it could be especially at the price I was paying. I enjoyed breakfast very much although it is very loud but other food choices were very poor - some inedible! Overall I am sorry to say this but this was a 5* hotel price with little more than 2* facilities. The pool area was a disaster - the bar was never manned and even when calling for service, took quite some time to respond - 3 loungers and a pool the size of a plunge pool which was too hot to use in the afternoon - think about refrigeration for the summer months. The worst experience of my life and I use Expedia every time I travel. I also had to make my own way to and from the hotel at a cost of 250 reals when I had already paid for transfers with expedia.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B C

Hotel staff at the reception is not helpful at all

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Orbitz
Big cockroach under our bed, they robbed us at the beach and I had to cancel my credit cards but was not able to make any international call from the hotel which was really disappointing as I was in total despair to block my credit cards. They even charged me for those calls that were only attempted but the calls did not go through.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Centrally located and clean hotel!

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
A really good deal! Centrally located on the main thoroughfare along Copacabana and just a street away fr the Metro and the tourist information centre. It cost so much less than other hotels which had sea views. Imho, sea view hotels were overrated. There was a daily breakfast buffet. Tho the same spread was served, there was great enough variety that you could have different breakfasts daily. Staff spoke good English. Would rec fellow travels and return myself too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex uk

Visit with disabled son to attend Paralympics

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: How helpful and friendly everyone was good food with ample portions. With a large electric wheelchair everything so accessible .
Cons: We were more than satisfied with the standard
Location: Near to the beach plenty of nightlife . Tourist attractions easily reached with excellent deals for pensioners and disabled people. Games excellent.
The hotel and staff couldn't have done more to make this stress free and most enjoyable. Sited just back from the front excellent value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Great location, great breakfast, gentil staff, decent room
4 out of 5
by Michael from NYC

Mar Palace Copa- great spot

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Hotels
Great trip to Rio for the Olympics. Only minor concern of stay was safe was broken in the room. Security of hotel is tight enough that didn't matter- although when traveling internationally would have been nice to lock up passport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Nice hotel close to beach

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Mar Palace is an excellent hotel close to everything. We stayed in a deluxe room on top floor, it was spacious, clean and comfortable. The staff were very helpful. Highly recommended.