Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Basic and inexpensive 10 minutes from downtown

Posted Jun 8, 2017
Pros: Quiet, very nice for the price and location
Location: There are a lot of cool things to do and see in the downtown Sacramento area
There aren't many places with high ratings, and under $100 per night, within 30 minutes of downtown Sacramento. Most of what we saw when researching the area, seemed pretty sketchy. To us, the main determining factor is the reviews, especially the most recent ones, and this place seemed to pass muster. When we first rolled in, the place looked a little rough around the edges, but upon closer examination, everything was clean and orderly. Face it, any place that's inexpensive these days is going to attract it's fair share of residents/guests who are down on their luck, for lack of a better term. You are never going to get away from being exposed to that. There are things we look for that tell us whether the establishment/management/staff has control of the situation. Keeping the grounds clean of trash and debris. Good landscaping and exterior structural maintenance. Not allowing people to loiter about. Limiting the amount of traffic coming and going to residents' units. Not permitting loud or noisy activities. Clean and decently maintained units. During our one night stay at America's Best Value Inn Sacramento/ Elk Grove, all of the above practices seemed to be in force.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for 1-2 nights stay.

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Lots of parking. Friendly staff. Close to freeway entrance. Pillow too soft. No ironing board and coffee maker and box of Kleenex.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't waste you Time!!

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: When I left in the morning!!
Cons: Tear it down and start over!!
Location: Nothing but a Denny's
The worst Hotel I've ever stayed at!! I requested a non-smoking room, but all rooms have ash trays and matches in them! The room smelled like smoke, I tried to go to sleep because it was too late to get another room! At 1am I hear load screams and someone banging on a door across the way. People smoking weed in their rooms, then when I finally fell asleep the room next to mine sounded like they were filming a Porno Movie!! Terrible!!
4 out of 5
by Amanda

Nice place for the money

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Noticed the bedding had what seemed to be paint (as it matched the walls). Aside from that, the staff was really friendly. Checking in and out was a breeze.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove Ca

Hotel ok

Posted May 19, 2017
Hotel ok, staff very nice room clean. Bed not the most comfortable. But the area not good, really bad area. Would not venture out after dark! Ice machine very nasty would not get ice out of it!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

world's okayest inn

Posted May 16, 2017 on Hotels
this play is okay. nothing amazing or bad.
5 out of 5
by Daniel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Tanisha

Poor

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
The worst experience ever. It's not a kid friendly place. It was more of a "HOE-TEL", than a HOTEL..NEVER AGAIN
5 out of 5
by Michael

Country getaway in the city

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
It was very humble pie laid back with quaint breakfast cold juice muffins fruit coffee hot chocolate ,along with outside gated pool and it was very clean air-conditioning unit in the room was in need of service I almost asked for refund because of it but with everything else being 5star service I did not complain but it was hard for my wife and I to sleep do to the noise from it if your looking for a updated tech savey place this is not it if your looking for a intamet spot that feels like a countryside getaway do not pass this place up this is the one for you its like chicken soup for the country motel soul laundry facility on site vending machines ice machine and close to Denny's gas station and easy freeway access overall I give this place a soft 4stars the best 3star stay money can buy I will be staying there again but I will ask to hear the air conditioning... Lol
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NW Oregon

Disappointing

Posted May 9, 2017
Cons: see above
Location: It seems that there must be a drug problem in the neighborhood. The city of Folsom isn't terribly far away and I found it worth the trip to see it
Check in felt like I was being vetted, including a long list of do's and don'ts. Breakfast was a packaged muffin, banana, and a choice of apple or orange juice. The television was malfunctioning. The bedding wasn't changed in the 3 days I stayed. At 3 AM I was awoken by a loud rhythmic hammering sound. At $90/night it was the most expensive, and least rewarding stay of my 10 day long trip.